We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lampang Wiengthong Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lampang Wiengthong Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lampang Wiengthong Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   138/109 Phaholyothin Road,Suandok, Lampang 52100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Lampang
Somerset
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

En route to Bangkok from chiang Rai, I needed somewhere to rest, this place popped up on my search, and judging by the trip around the town it was probably the better choice.

This place is well dated, and in it's hay day was probably something else to be seen, sadly today it is just a stop off for travellers and the whole place is in a time warp basking on its glory days of the 1950's.

I was comfortable enough, and had a meal in the restaurant which was very nice, and not over priced. There was free water provided in the room and a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities.

If you need a place to stay when travelling through Thailand then this place is OK, go with an open mind and think It's just for the night and you should be ok.

Room Tip: ask for a deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    16
    13
    4
See reviews for
1
10
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This hotel was probably quite nice when it was built, but such a description could not be afforded it now. It's tired, dog-eared around the edges, and is in desperate need of refurbishment. Exposed wiring in the rooms, stained carpets and dingy dirty bathrooms are it's current offering.
The staff too are in need of a makeover. The reception staff in particular appear uninterested, and at not time appear to put the guest first. Whilst staying on the 10th floor my wife called the reception to ask if they could send up a wifi voucher to our room. We were told that they would not be able to do this, as there was nobody available to bring the voucher to us. Yet when I made the journey down to the reception 2 minutes later I found 5 members of the reception staff sitting watching the tv.

The breakfast food is awful, the wifi 'speed' appalling and hotel offers very little value for money.

The only positive that I can say for it is that it's better than the Wienglakor Hotel across the street.

In summary: awful, avoid if you can.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baltimore, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

This hotel is a little out of city center, but the province is so small it didn't take long to get anywhere. It's close to night flea market which offer varieties of Thai gift ideas. It also very close to TESCO LOTUS & BIG C for those who needs to have western style market. There are several inner city traveling methods, Including the infamous Lampang's " Horse and carriage ride". FUN and cheap!...Make sure you bargain with several carriage owners for the best price. We received approx. 30% off our quoted fare.

The hotel: Room is small, need updating but clean. The staffs barely speak English, but it was expected since it's out of Bangkok region. They are not overly friendly and without much of a smile, but they did their job. The hotel breakfast was average at best.

Best part of Lampang: GREAT FOOD (very spicy), and its the HUB for Thai wooden style furniture.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

I stayed here with my brother and his wife. They had their wedding reception at the hotel. The rooms were OK, at one wall outlet the wires were exposed. When I blew dry my hair with an adapter, the circuit went out. But the hotel rooms were clean and the help was always nice. The restaurant was OK, the spring rolls were very good. A breakfast buffet was included and it was good.

Now for the reception. The reception was wonderful. I use to work as a catering manager and they did a great job. Service was exceptional during the wedding. They had a lot of help working our function. When I asked for a fork, they had put out chopsticks, they accomodated me with a smile. The menu was personalized just for them. There were fresh flowers and a lovely sign with their names and the date of the wedding. I am talking a big sign. It was for 50 people and everything was around $800.00.

There are horse and buggies to take you around the city. The elephant conservation camp isn't too far away and on the way back you can stop at a market with all kinds of things to buy. There are many good restaurants witin a short ride from the hotel. There isn't much to do but it was an enjoyable stop for a couple of days. It is a good place if you just want to take it easy and relax.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

This is typical of many 3 star hotels we stayed in - We got a lot better price walk in then over the internet - rooms are a stanard layout but are clean - the bathroom was a little tired but again clean - Restaurant for evening meal and breakfast was standard fare - All OK but nothing to get excited about - For the price it is a good value stop over at 1900 Bht - Not sure that Lampang has much to recommend it that would make you want to stay around - Leave early next mroning to make sure you catch the elephant show on the was to Chiang Mai

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

We stayed here in January 2008. The hotel is tired and old, staff are not very motivated, rooms are dusty and fixtures/fittings desparately need attention in bathroom. Very unmemorable stay. Lampang is dull. Nothing interesting to see or do. Go and see elephant conservation centre which is far more interesting (out of town).

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Hotel is sad and old, Lampang is not interesting
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lampang Wiengthong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lampang Wiengthong Hotel

Address: 138/109 Phaholyothin Road,Suandok, Lampang 52100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Lampang Province > Lampang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Lampang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lampang Wiengthong Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Lampang Wiengthong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lampang Wiengthong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.