We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery, fun times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Cruises Sailing

Island Cruises Sailing
6/10 Moo 2, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
+66 77 457 002
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Go Sailing! Day Cruises, Yacht Charters and Join In Cruises to Ang Thong National Park, Dinghy Sailing, Rental and Courses, Hobie Catamaran, Laser... get wet and thrilled without freezing your butt off.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, fun times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I booked a sunset cruise with as a surprise for my husband and we had a fantastic time. The skipper Alf is really laid back and has a real passion for sailing. We enjoyed his stories of sailing around the world and felt we were in good hands.

We sailed with a beautiful view onto Koh Tao, took a dip in the water and enjoyed a stunning sunset while drinking a few beers. It was serene but also great fun. I'd recommend it to anyone!

Thanks Alf... see you next time we're in Thailand!

Top tip: there is a sound system on the boat so bring a playlist on your phone so you can plug it in and enjoy some tunes!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Tao, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A day I'll always remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A small group of friends and I booked a day sailing with Island Cruises as a surprise for my boyfriends birthday. Our trip was back in May and I have been meaning to write a review for some time now. What an amazing day and experience! The whole day ran very smoothly, was relaxing, fun and very enjoyable. With Koh Tao as our beautiful back drop we spent the day sailing, swimming, eating and finishing with some sunset drinks. Alf and his partner were wonderful hosts and made the day that much more enjoyable. The price is very, very reasonable with other sailing trips I have looked into far exceeding my budget. This was one of those days that I will always remember, the perfect way to see the island. Thanks guys!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Learn to sail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Sascha runs a 5-day sailing course for sailors of all levels. His standard course is taught on the 40-ft "Ocean Hiker" in Hin Wong Bay and covers all topics related to crewing serious sailing vessels, e.g., setting out, navigation, wind mechanics, knots, map reading, etc. He will also tailor a course if you're merely interested in recreational sailing on skiffs and the like, which he'll do on a modest catboat off Sairee. My advice is to decide what you want to get out of the course, and tell Sascha. He's very accommodating and patient, not to mention an interesting fellow with extraordinary maritime and life experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
“We enjoyed it very much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We did the 4 day sailing trip and enjoyed it very much. We had a nice alternation between sailing, relaxing and special activities like snorkeling between thousands of colourful fish, visiting deserted beaches or hiking upstream on a river.

Both Alf and Joy were perfect company, and tried to fulfil all our wishes. Especially the cooking of Joy needs mentioning. Each day she prepared the most delicious diners. She also managed to take all our culinary preferences in to account.

We were pleasantly surprised by the boat. Even though it is a bit older it is kept in reasonable condition and we really loved the size of the cabin. Compared to the sizes of the cabins on our previous sailing trips the cabin was really spacious.

The snorkeling was very fun. There are so many beautiful fish to see in Koh Tao. We really loved the guided tour Alf gave us. He pointed out many marvels of the under water world. Another time he fed the fish whilst we were snorkeling such that we were swimming between all the fish and could see the fish from very close.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ang Thong Sailing for 4 Days...Just Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent 4 days sailing the Ang Thong maritime park with Island Cruises and it was pure bliss. Here are some highlights:
- Having a private boat to go around the park freely and visit some off the beaten track places.
- Alf and Joy, who were perfect hosts and did everything to make us happy. (And also tolerated my bad steering of the boat :)).
- The cooking by Joy...from complete breakfasts filled with fruits, cereals, yoghurts, etc. to freshly captured squid for dinner...everything was just yummy!
- Swimming at night with bioluminescence...with some great music playing in the background.
- Being on a dinghy and finding 3 little sharks 50cm. away from us. :)
- Tons of great snorkelling...with different species from those we had seen in Koh Tao.
- Spending a morning on a desert beach with a total feeling of paradise...priceless.

All in all, we highly recommend this trip to anyone considering it. It was totally different from anything we did in Thailand and totally worth it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Cruises Sailing also viewed

Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Island Cruises Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Cruises Sailing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.