We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Tao View Cliff Resort

Save Saved
You added Koh Tao View Cliff Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koh Tao View Cliff Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 / 2 Moo 2, Ko Tao 84280 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 46 hotels in Ko Tao
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived on koh tao we accommodation organised at another hotel but when we got there they had sold the room so a mad dash ensued trying to organise somewhere to stay. We ended up here and all four of us were less than happy with our stay. My main gripe would be the cost, we paid somewhere in the region of €40 per night to stay here and it was truly awful. The only redeeming feature was the view. I think if this hotel had of been €20 a night I wouldn't be complaining but as it wasn't it was bad from something as simple as walking up the steps which are poorly built and too large to walk comfortably to the flimsy doors, broken aircon, horrible shower and low door frames which resulted in me hurting my head repeatedly it was an awful place to stay. We left as soon as we could find alternative accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    4
    7
    6
See reviews for
4
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

In your overpriced room you have no wifi, so you have to walk all the way down to the reception everyday!
It is so quiet you can sleep all day, but the beds are too hard. You can try to watch television, if it is working.
No possibilities to get food in the hotel and it's a pretty long end walk to the first good restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Seafront bungalow @1200 Baht is reasonable because the view was priceless. The tiny cove felt like a private beach. The bed was not too comfortable, and the towels smelled like they were soaked in petroleum. Luckily, you take a cold shower and dry by air within 5 minutes. You can get a bungallow like this for half the price, but for us the location was worth it. If we weren't staying at the very edge of the water, I probably would not have chosen it based on the room itself. Quite shabby.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eu
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you dont like bedbugs that feast on you all night long please stay away! We stayed in one of their overpriced bungalows. Everything was dirty and service horrible! You can find much better for the same price around the area

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at view cliff in search of cheap accommodation for four nights. After asking in a few places and being told that everywhere wa fully booked we were saved by view cliff when they offered us 3 twin rooms for 700baht each a night. Although this was more than our budget (we wanted 500baht rooms) the lady in reception said cheaper rooms could come available the next day and we were more than welcome to move to one of those, we just had to come and check early the next morning. The 700 baht room was lovely -clean, spacious and it even had a fridge and tv. It didn't have air con though although this could be added for a price. The next morning we woke early and went to reception where the lady said she would have three 500 baht bungalows to accommodate the six of us. This was a massive bonus and we moved straight in. These bungalows were very basic but just what we needed for a fun cheap stay. They got cleaned every day and we were given fresh towels.
The location I think is great. A little bit further down from the main area means that you are not disturbed by the noise but can still be in the main area after a very short 5 min walk. The beach at this end is also prettier in my opinion.
Would definitely recommend for a place to stay on a budget. The staff at reception were very friendly and also offered free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in a fan bungalow for 500 bht per night. It is a 10 minute walk from Mae Haad and 2 miniutes from the start of Sairee beach. The bungalow was pleasant enough (cleaned daily) with a comfortable double bed, fan, private bathroom with cold water shower, clean towels and in a quite location just back from the road. I have read some of the other reviews making comment about rude staff but I can say that I found the current staff very nice and friendly. If you want somewhere just to crash for a couple of nights then this is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at view cliff for a few days in mid December.
room was fairly basic, but the bed was comfy, AC was cold and the shower was hot.
fresh towels and bottles of water everyday, and the owner Tony was awesome.
its far enough out of sairee that you don't have to deal with the noise, but an easy walk.
looked at about 10 other places, and none of them compared for what you got for the money (1000 B for AC, hot shower and ocean view from private deck)
would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koh Tao View Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao View Cliff Resort

Address: 3 / 2 Moo 2, Ko Tao 84280 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 46 hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Koh Tao View Cliff Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Koh Tao View Cliff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Tao View Cliff Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.