We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded paradise and amazing snorkelling!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of View Rock Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
View Rock Resort
Hin Wong Bay, Ko Tao 84140, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 46 hotels in Ko Tao
Bradford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Secluded paradise and amazing snorkelling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We had read the review in Lonely Planet and wanted somewhere secluded after the madness of Bangkok. We were greeted on arrival by the owners in a pick up truck and taken across to the resort. There is no other way of getting there, the road to the resort is pure 4x4 territory, take a scooter at your peril!

The resort is a must for people looking for that peace and quiet and if you want some DIY adventures snorkels and fins can be hired for 200thb per day. Kayaks can also be hired! The fish and coral in the bay is amazing!

The huts themselves are also good value for money (Ko Tah is one of the more expensive islands) but they are basic. There are more expensive options but we stayed in the cheapest hut at 300tbh per night. They are all perched on the side of a cliff and have amazing views out to sea.

The restaurant (which you have to eat at as there is nothing else there) has an amazing selection of food and drink. I could have stayed there for the rest of my life to be honest.

The resort is very relaxing in general and has sun loungers and free wifi. We only stayed 2 nights but regretted leaving. Ko Tao in general is amazing. We regretted leaving for Ko Samui as it has been spoilt by tourism.

Chris and Amy x

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

This is our second time to the resort in our travels and we have only been here a few weeks. We are already trying to incorporate another stop here after visiting some other islands.
The owners are so friendly and helpful, always with the biggest smiles and great advice about anything you could ask.
The staff is incredibly attentive and the huge menu is filled with the most delicious food!
The laid back atmosphere and breathtaking views can really suck you in! Best not to book your next stop until after you have arrived here because you might wind up extending your stay!
The ocean breeze keeps the mosquitoes away and your body temperature down.
Highly recommend this place to the laid back traveller looking for a nice place to get away for a few days, weeks, or months!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. It was our favourite place in Thailand. Staff picked us up from the ferry and took us over to their resort. We initially stayed in town and wondered why we had come to Thailand as we were overun by tourists on noisy motorbikes. However over at View Rock we were the only people there... we had the most amazing view out over the water. Bungalow was clean and we liked immensly. Staff were so helpful and friendly. It was so quiet and peaceful. We went snorkelling and saw great fish...can hire snorkles there.. we enjoyed the food too... at good price. If your after a place to party then this is not for you - but we loved it, the peace and quiet and beutiful surrounds of nature were just what we wanted. HIGHLY recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We knew there was no beach, that this place would be remote and simple, but we didn't expect quite so many fish! Each day a HUGE shoal of thousands of fish came into the bay and were a joy to see! As soon as you enter the water from the rocks or pontoon, you are surrounded by fish; not so many corals but lots of fish. We had the large family bungalow apartment which had a huge veranda (you could take a mattress out there and sleep out in the open under a mozzie net). Great view too. Very simple accommodation but ok. Friendly staff. Exciting journey in from the ferry port (which has a horrible, busy town with no character at all) along a very steep road. But the driver was very careful (unlike some of the tourists on motorbikes we saw) and we felt very safe. Food ok. Peace and quiet was great. Only downside was the daily tour groups arriving for a set lunch which disturbed the peace for a couple of hours and then left again.

Room Tip: The large bungalow apartment sleeps 4 in two double beds - but there is a strange empty second room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

After being 6 months in Bangkok with my best friend, we took this one-week trip to Koh Tao. As students we didn't had that much money left for this vacation so we booked View Rock Resort: looked good and remoted, and after several luxurious hotels we've been before, this was exactly what we were looking for. When we arrived (after a very bumpy but extremely fun ride in the back of the owner's truck) our baggage was carried by the staff all the way down the rocks! After a chat with the very friendly owners of view rock resort, we entered our cabin, and it looked so romantic with the white musquito net and cute pillows (too bad I didn't bring my boyfriend here). However at night there might be some ants coming trough the wooden floor but hey isn't that adventure? Also we had a couple of visits by a lizzard and a squirrel but they won't harm you. Everything looks clean and comfy and did I mention the view from your cabin?? It's magnificent!! When the sun goes down, we noticed there are thousands of glowing plankton particles lighting up in the dark ocean, very spectacular and again, romantic.
At day you can enjoy breakfast, some drinks, and the sun. Don't expect very good food though, and be sure to bring something to do (the resort has it's own library which is nice) It's good to be there for like 3 days but If you tend to stay longer like we did, this resort might be too boring for such a long time. You will miss the beach that isn't there, and the people around you. If you're lucky, there might be 4 others checked in at the most. Unless you like loneliness..
We stayed at the resort for the whole week, but after going to the other (busy) side of the island the last day with some guys we met, we regretted the fact that we didn't pick a resort at the other side of the island for the last 3 days, where it was more crowded, the food was great (even on the crowded side of the island there are quiet beaches!!) and the sea was more approachable. (My foot was cut open while climbing the stairs to get out of the sea the second day at the resort, imaging climbing up and down all these steep rocks with one bad foot. the staff took good care cleaning the wound, but they didn't had anything to stitch it and now one year later you can still see the scar)
I would recommend staying there for 2 days, and then head off to the other side of the island for some fun (sairee beach). Also, the beach at where the boats are arriving (Mae Haad!) is a very very nice and quiet beach, and you won't get bothered by the longtail boats as you would expect.

View Rock Resort is perfect for you if: you are backpacking, like adventure, like being very very remoted, are romantic, care for nice friendly staff, are staying there for 2-3 days at the most, like great snorkling or diving, cold showers and pet friends coming into your cabin.
You should avoid View Rock Resort if: you're bad at foot, have children with you, enjoy good food and wines, you plan to stay more than 3 days, you like crowded areas, appreciate a beach, get bored really quick, don't like insects.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

As other reviewers have said, you have to know what you are getting into when coming to View Rock: it is very, very isolated, and it is unlikely that you'll leave the hotel while checked in there. But why would you want to leave? The rooms are comfortable with amazing views of the ocean; the food is very good (though a little pricey); the snorkeling in Hin Wong Bay is awesome. We stayed there for 4 relaxing days in January and wish we could have stayed more. There's no beach on the bay, but the sun deck next to the ocean is great and you can jump off the dock into the fish.

One bit of advice: Bring some snacks and liquor from the mainland, so you don't have to pay the high prices at the hotel or at the overpriced 7/11 near the pier.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town, south africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

3 of the best days of our trip, good friends, good food, great staff, just great everything.

Thanks Ting, Nao and staff.

From Michael and Liza in Cape Town, South Africa.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to View Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Rock Resort

Address: Hin Wong Bay, Ko Tao 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Tao
Also Known As:
View Rock Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage View Rock Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added View Rock Resort to your Saves list