We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on Koh Tao” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charm Churee Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Charm Churee Villa to your Saves list
Charm Churee Villa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 / 1 Moo 2 Jansom Bay, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best place on Koh Tao”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

While staying on Koh Tao we visited a number of hotels as we had planned on spending my 30th birthday at a posh resort. In the end we stayed at the Charm Churee. Granted the hotel isn't five star and its rooms could do with a bit of updating. However, the staff, food and location more than make up for this. When compared to other more expensive hotels on Koh Tao Charm Churee is a class above for its atmosphere and beach.
We had a panoramic room. We booked a dexlue room on agoda and were upgraded for free when we arrived. The room had an amazing balcony over looking Mae Haad beach. Whilst I say the acommodation needs upgrading, it was clean and provided more facilities than we needed included dressing gowns, fully stocked fridge and sunbeds on balcolny.
The shower was cold at times, however, this is due to the fact it is solar powered and we didn't see much sun for the days were there.
Jamsom Bay is among the best swimming and snokerlling beaches on Koh Tao. The water is clear and is safe for kids.
The hotel's restaurant is quaint and the quality of the food high, while prices are reasonable.
If we ever return to Koh Tao we will stay here again and would firmly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    232
    107
    40
    42
See reviews for
115
354
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

For such a remote and small island, i didn't expect for a resort to have a full in room amenities. I'm a bathroom lover so the bathroom is the first thing i look when go into any room. I was impressed with the toiletries, bidet and men's urinal in a deluxe room! The water was soooooo hot! i was later told that they used gas. The room was quite spacious with 2 balconies as the staff explained. One with screen and another without. I prefer the one with screen because the bugs can't bug me. My girlfriend preferred the one outdoor because she could sunbathe on the sun lounger there, but there was very little sun during our stay, unfortunately. The furniture was a bit worn out and very simple. The bedroom was basic but filled with everything we need. The cd player, hair dryer, umbrellas- which is much needed for it always rained, mini bar, teapot, rope, slippers, even sandals! But there was no alarm clock. However, I found everything I need for the beach vacation. All in all, the room was very thoughtful throughout! The bay, which is a small cove was nice and private. There was very few people there, we almost felt like it's our own. There are rocks everywhere big and small. It's a bit getting in the way but then I imagine one can practice rock climbing there. The bar Elvis was nice and basic in terms of construction. The food was fine. But too spicy for me. I heard that the cook is Thai and she's quite well known amongst Thai guests. My friend recommend the pork and shrimp with shrimp paste and chili. It was very good indeed but too spicy for me. The western food was fair. During the whole period of our stay, the weather was not nice at all even though it's high season which was quite disappointing. Always rain and cloudy so a lot of sea related activities were canceled. Instead we went to spa. We could never had a better experience! The masseuses were very professional and they know what they are doing. It was so relaxing especially the pavilion on the rock but it's always full so we always get the one on the beach. The dinner setting was very romantic. But the whole time we had to sit in the pavilion further away from the sea because the sea was rough which made the table and the triangle pillows damp all the time. The bbq seafod was great! The service was rather slow but very friendly staff. All in all, everything was almost perfect but there was no sun. We will definitely come back here again in summer! We fell in love with it already!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Everything was perfect. We got the cheapest room they had....about 3,000 baht/night and it was divine! I could only imagine what the more expensive rooms were like! The staff were super helpful and friendly. The private beach-Jansom Bay-was also perfect.

It's a 15 minute walk to Mae Haad, where there are a lot of places to eat/drink...it's a bit expensive at the Charm Churee restaurant...although the buffet breakfast is free. It's also a quick taxi ride to Sariee Beach and Chalok Ban Bay. Charm Churee is close enough to the hustle and bustle, but very secluded and private. I would definitely recommend this place! Just a tip...there are a few stairs and steep roads.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Me and my wife recently travelled to kho Tao (18/07-25/07/09) and we stayed at this great hotel. We highly recommend this place for its suberb location and the exceptional beach. The lack of low tide, makes the beach ideal to swim at every time of year. The hotel is situated in the jungle, with paths leading everywhere. It is clean with spacious rooms and very good room service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Charm Churee Villa was an excellent place for our holiday in Thailand in the second half of June. Wheather was perfect and we had discounts because of low season. We were traveling 4 people and stayed in Charm Churee for 3 nights. We took 2 superior rooms and we were lucky to get the rooms in the beach (number 35D and 23), which looked too good to be true. Rooms are not big, but enough space for 2 people, plus we had private balconies were we enjoyed to relax (private balcony meant our private beach beds). We also tried Charm Churee Spa, which was really of a very good quality. It was like in a dream to have a massage on the rocks with sea view in an open air. But need to reserve if you really want to get massage on the rock, because most people like that place. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant, as we really liked Whitening in the town. To summarise, it was Excellent and I am thinking of coming back there some day

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

If you want Thai rustic then this place could be for you. Living in Thailand and having travelled round the country extensively, I was very disappointed with this resort. The rooms are very basic, no TV, no real view of the sea. No swimming pool, food was poor.

On the positive staff were very friendly but think 900THB for a room would be a more realistice proce for the basic superior. I have stayed in much nicer places on Samet, Samui and Krabi for the same price and much better facilities.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benruji, Manager at Charm Churee Villa, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Dear sir,

Thank you for your time and effort reviewing us. We highly appreciated it. I'm sure that you have travelled extensively and you are worldly.

In such case, you might notice that Koh Tao is one of the farthest islands in Thailand where everything is more expensive than major destinations that you have mentioned.

You might already know that a bottle of water that costs 7 Baht in 711 elsewhere costs 12 Baht here because of the transportation, the oil price, wages and the list goes on.

And you may already know that we are one of the most eco-friendly resorts in Thailand, if you care about the environement. And that takes a lot of effort, not to mention financial expenses to make things right.

It is quite easy to use your ruler to measure other people's measurement. But please be just, and responsble for what you have written.

To be fair, we would like to for you to please recommend us where you can get a 900 Baht per night with better facilities.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Stayed for 4 days at the end of a three week honeymoon trekking around Thailand. Easily the best place we stayed and probably the best place I have ever stayed. As it was our honeymoon we plumped for one of the larger huts overlooking the beach with separate bathroom block and large living area and balcony with loungers. The shower room was amazing with panoramic views of the ocean and beach. The four poster bed was adorned with rose petals in the shape of a heart when we arrived, a nice touch, and the bedroom also had panoramic views of the ocean. The private beach was clean with plenty of loungers and umbrellas. We had a great time snorkeling, kayaking and generally relaxing. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we would have no hesitation going back if we are ever in Ko Tao again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charm Churee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm Churee Villa

Address: 30 / 1 Moo 2 Jansom Bay, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Tao
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Tao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charm Churee Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 2002, Charm Churee Villa plans to develop our resort to be the best for our guests. Charm Churee Villa is located on a 300-Rai (120 acres or 48 hectares) seaside piece of well preserved jungle, facing west. With more than 1,500 meters shoreline, the estate consists of 4 beaches. Pak Bung (which means Morning Glory) Bay is the most northern beach (about 10 minutes walk from the main pier) consists of sand, gravels and rocks, it is about 80 meters in length. The next beach southward is Jansom Bay, which is another 5 minutes walk from Pak Bung Bay (named means Moon-Like) is around 160 meters wide consists mostly of sand, huge rocks, corals and colorful fish. Perfect for snorkeling. Neptune is the next one down south; about 20 minutes walk from Jansom Bay. Neptune, one of the best kept little secret coves in Koh Tao, consists of mostly rocks is perfect for private sun bathing with small sandy beach. It's approximately 80 meters in length. Last but not least, is a twin: Sai Nuan beach I and II. It's mostly sandy beaches with a set of big rocks between them. Sai Nuan I is a sandy beach with the width of 240 meters and Sai Nuan II is a little smaller. This shoreline estate is not only known for the well kept jungle land, but also its pristine underwater world. Along the 1,500 meters coast consists of several famous snorkeling and scuba diving sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Charm Churee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charm Churee Villa Hotel Koh Tao
Charm Churee Hotel
Charm Churee Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charm Churee Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.