We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got the Crabs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Charm Churee Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Charm Churee Villa to your Saves list
Charm Churee Villa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 / 1 Moo 2 Jansom Bay, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
4.0 of 5 stars 670 Reviews
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Got the Crabs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Idyllic location? Yes! Service minded & clean? No! Me and my girlfriend got severe stomach problems after bad sea food at Charm Churee Villa and even before that we were not satisfied paying 150+ Euro for a lot of walking on dirt roads and being far from other restaurants and opportunities for food and dining. View was lovely, but it would have been just as lovely in budget hut which they have in resort next door or 10 minute walk to Saithong Resort which by the way had great food.

Charm is charmless and severely overpriced !!! Don't got - you will regret it!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    220
    95
    35
    40
See reviews for
107
329
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here after a few nights splurging at another resort and perhaps that is the reason we were a bit disappointed in Charm Churee Village. There was no pool (which of course we knew), but the quality of the beach and beach facilities such as loungers etc. did not make up for lack of the pool. The beach should have been cleaned more often by the resort's staff as there seemed to be quite a lot of debris floating in, which is not their fault, but nevertheless you then put more people on it since it's your main draw.

The cottage itself was idyllic at first look, but when you looked closer you could see it was basically a poorly constructed bamboo/sheet wood construction letting out lots of air conditioning and in lots of creepy crawlies (thank god for the mosquito net).

Being a guy I liked it better than my wife, so I would probably give the cottage a 3 1/2 star while hers was a 2 star - and I think that's pretty common, that women feel they need more security and protecting from insects and general cleanliness.

Most of the staff were nice and helpful but the reception staff was always a bit on the sweet and sour side. Sweet when you checked in and sour if you had any complaints.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Charm Churee resort is hidden away on the south west corner of the island, the pictures on their website are all that and more. The staff were kind and very helpful and the rooms were spacious and great. Only a 5 minute walk to Jansom Bay where you can truly kick back and get right into relaxation mode. The snorkelling in Jansom Bay is amazing and the restaurant by the sea is what dreams are made of. We'll definitely be staying there again on our next Koh Tao visit.

Room Tip: The rooms along the beach with the private pools look great, definitely going to get one of those on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

We booked this resort in advance, as the end to what has been an amazing holiday in Thailand. For the price, and based on the reviews, our expectations were high.

What we found when we arrived was a dated (initially poorly decorated) resort which feels incredibly tired and poorly run. Rubbish (branches etc) litter the side of the pathways, and water pipes/electrical cables are on show all over the place. This has been such a disappointment, especially when the new resort next door looks about a thousand times better! We have thought about cutting our losses here and moving, but since it's only for two night we've decided to unfortunately stick it out.

I can't advise people strongly enough not to stay here - there are MUCH nicer places on the island.

The only positives were that the room was very clean, and the beach the resort has access to is pretty.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We had dreamt of a beach front paradise and had thought to have booked accordingly, but instead we got a patched up cottage high up a hillside. Granted, it had a nice view but it was a struggle to get down to the beach and management was all but caring about the situation despite we could should the document from the online agent we had used. Management had "upgraded" us and could not nothing. Learn something about customer service please!

Besides, breakfast was awful and the cottage had a musty smell to it. Not even 3 star.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights - and had the most amazing time, I highly recommend it. The staff where all so accommodating - we will be definitely be visiting again! You won't find accommodation in a better location if you want privacy and a view that will literally take your breathe away!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

seeing clear blue sea and sky from the mountians behide. it's amazing scene u've never met. i admired the service and privacy here, informally personels, good service.
The most of all is beakfast and dinning restaurant, u can see panarama view in front of you. Take a deep breath and touch the sky by taste the happy meal in the same time. So relax!

Room Tip: It's very beautiful if the room is near to Chansom bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charm Churee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm Churee Villa

Address: 30 / 1 Moo 2 Jansom Bay, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Tao
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Tao
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charm Churee Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 2002, Charm Churee Villa plans to develop our resort to be the best for our guests. Charm Churee Villa is located on a 300-Rai (120 acres or 48 hectares) seaside piece of well preserved jungle, facing west. With more than 1,500 meters shoreline, the estate consists of 4 beaches. Pak Bung (which means Morning Glory) Bay is the most northern beach (about 10 minutes walk from the main pier) consists of sand, gravels and rocks, it is about 80 meters in length. The next beach southward is Jansom Bay, which is another 5 minutes walk from Pak Bung Bay (named means Moon-Like) is around 160 meters wide consists mostly of sand, huge rocks, corals and colorful fish. Perfect for snorkeling. Neptune is the next one down south; about 20 minutes walk from Jansom Bay. Neptune, one of the best kept little secret coves in Koh Tao, consists of mostly rocks is perfect for private sun bathing with small sandy beach. It's approximately 80 meters in length. Last but not least, is a twin: Sai Nuan beach I and II. It's mostly sandy beaches with a set of big rocks between them. Sai Nuan I is a sandy beach with the width of 240 meters and Sai Nuan II is a little smaller. This shoreline estate is not only known for the well kept jungle land, but also its pristine underwater world. Along the 1,500 meters coast consists of several famous snorkeling and scuba diving sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Charm Churee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charm Churee Villa Hotel Koh Tao
Charm Churee Hotel
Charm Churee Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charm Churee Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.