We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true paradise getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charm Churee Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Charm Churee Villa to your Saves list
Charm Churee Villa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 / 1 Moo 2 Jansom Bay, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A true paradise getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I've been to Koh Tao 8 times and stayed at Charm Churee 7 of those times. If you are looking for 5 star comfort you won't find it here. However, if you are looking for true natural paradise. I would suggest looking into Charm Churee. We love our yearly trips to Koh Tao and plan on going back again next year. We'll be booking our rooms at Charm Churee.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    220
    95
    35
    40
See reviews for
107
329
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My wife and I have been to Charm Churee 4 times, we are still here in fact.
This used to be the best hotel in the world in my opinion, I have traveled all over the world extensively for 13 years, and this really did use to be the best place on earth.

Don't get me wrong the views and the beach are still absolutely amazing!
However for the price you expect so so so much more.
We have been told it is under new management, we are in a beach front villa this time, the rooms are in need of a touch up, the food is now plain and boring, this used to be amazing.

I'm not being picky but I returned back here after 4 years, I have sent over 40 friend to this resort, and I will now stop, Staff have become lazy, still friendly, but lazy.

Way over priced for what you get (Now).
If you have money and just want the perfect calm place, not interested in food or service then please still come here.

This place needs an overhaul, someone is making a fortune and not putting anything back into the place- Such a shame, this will be our last trip here, nothing will change my mind on this- Bring back the old management!!!

Kiwi living in abroad :-/

Room Tip: Room 44 or Room 20, room 44 is for sunset and Rm 20 would be the best beach room you could take.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had a wonderful experience staying in charm churee.We stayed in room 54 which I would highly recommend. Good locationhe staff were so friendly. Always had a smile on their face. Nothing was too much trouble. It has it's own private beach which is picture postcard. Having a Meal in the restaurant is a must. The food is excellent and the views are spectacular. As I live in Koh samui I will be returning later in the year with my husband. I cannot wait!

Room Tip: Beachside villas are also very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

were on the island for two days tao. The hotel is decent. bay in which it is quite narrow (50-70 m), very close to each other are building, both within and on the beach. normal entrance to the sea, sand, granular. superior room is huge, with a huge private balcony overlooking the sea without tv! clean. groomed grounds, the breakfast buffet. normal range of dishes. to the city for about 15 minutes on foot. Sairee Beach walk half

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here for our son's wedding and had a beach view cottage (22 and 23) One small double room downstairs with separate outside shower and sitting room, upstairs: open balcony with seating, four poster bed with mosquito net and another balcony, separate loo, open bathroom and shower and another outside shower on different levels. Cleaning of the rooms was a bit spasmodic but they came as soon as we rang reception. It is a VERY steep descent to the beach but once down there is a friendly bar and spa and the bay is crystal clear.
Breakfast buffet was good (located half way up the hill, and the wedding dinner on the beach superb. Cottages are located all over the hillside with appropriate views. Only a 15 minute walk to Mae Haad where the boats come in if you want to eat out in the evening, taxis were easy to get.

Room Tip: Recommend beach view cottage 22 and 23 (chosen from tripadvisor reviews!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I decided to upgrade to a Sunset Cottage as the Deluxe Room was dark and with no view. The pictures in their website was clearly taken when the hotel was newer

I think it's way overpriced for the condition it's in, this place need renovation, and fast. Despite this the place is quite nice, as it's immersed in nature, Jansom bay is also nice, and plenty of fishes can be seen just snorkeling.

The diving center within the hotel is a little more expensive than elsewhere, but equipment is nice and they have a nice and comfortable steel boat, compared to those old wood boats all the others diving centers have.
Being a smaller center you can enjoy diving in smaller groups which is a very good thing and well worth the 200ish bath price difference to other places. Divemasters are also very nice people, and I will recommend to try a beach dive from Jansom bay, it's not deep but real nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Positives

- beautiful little bay with crystal clear waters and good snorkelling;

- the dive centre staff were very helpful and went out of their way to plan a day trip for us;

- the setting for breakfast was a lovely spot to look out over the water;

- the main restaurant in the evening looked stunning though the food was slightly overpriced for what it is (including the crepe suzette which can only be described as a pancake sitting in warmed up orange juice(!));

- the waiting staff were polite and very well meaning, but could really benefit from proper training if the hotel wants to be seen as a 3/4 star resort;

- the location is great; far enough away from the town so that you feel secluded but close enough to walk in the evenings (about 10 minutes), though the 'party' area of the island is quite a bit further away;

Negatives

- we tried booking via email and despite us accepting an offer of a room, we arrived to find our booking did not exist; however, they did offer us an upgraded room at the same rate though, to be honest, is way too pricey for what it is (especially in comparison to other hotels in Thailand);

- a lack of advertisement of the trips offered by the dive centre around the hotel by the hotel itself meant that we could not go on the speed boat trip as we were the only ones who wanted to go (minimum of 4 people was required);

- despite the Do Not Disturb sign being on the cleaning staff came into our room on 2 out of 4 days (and in one instance entered our balcony from another room to peer into the window when my wife was sleeping on the sofa and barged their way into the room when she went to see what they were doing).

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charm Churee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm Churee Villa

Address: 30 / 1 Moo 2 Jansom Bay, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Tao
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Tao
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charm Churee Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 2002, Charm Churee Villa plans to develop our resort to be the best for our guests. Charm Churee Villa is located on a 300-Rai (120 acres or 48 hectares) seaside piece of well preserved jungle, facing west. With more than 1,500 meters shoreline, the estate consists of 4 beaches. Pak Bung (which means Morning Glory) Bay is the most northern beach (about 10 minutes walk from the main pier) consists of sand, gravels and rocks, it is about 80 meters in length. The next beach southward is Jansom Bay, which is another 5 minutes walk from Pak Bung Bay (named means Moon-Like) is around 160 meters wide consists mostly of sand, huge rocks, corals and colorful fish. Perfect for snorkeling. Neptune is the next one down south; about 20 minutes walk from Jansom Bay. Neptune, one of the best kept little secret coves in Koh Tao, consists of mostly rocks is perfect for private sun bathing with small sandy beach. It's approximately 80 meters in length. Last but not least, is a twin: Sai Nuan beach I and II. It's mostly sandy beaches with a set of big rocks between them. Sai Nuan I is a sandy beach with the width of 240 meters and Sai Nuan II is a little smaller. This shoreline estate is not only known for the well kept jungle land, but also its pristine underwater world. Along the 1,500 meters coast consists of several famous snorkeling and scuba diving sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Charm Churee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charm Churee Villa Hotel Koh Tao
Charm Churee Hotel
Charm Churee Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charm Churee Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.