We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thipwimarn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thipwimarn Resort to your Saves list
Thipwimarn Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16/7 Haad Sairee, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Thipwimarn Resort is the most beautiful and peaceful hotel for a honeymoon on Koh Tao. Unlike all the dive resorts it's quiet and private. The only noise you'll get out here are the waves hitting the little bay down the steps and the natural wildlife that lives among Thipwimarn's flower-filled gardens.

I would recommend a stay at Thipwimarn for any couple who wants a relaxing time away. They have a great spa, beautiful views, easy access to a private beach and the best sunsets on the island. It's a true gem. I want to be there now!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    34
    28
    23
    22
See reviews for
9
93
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Very friendly staff
Very good villas, beautiful garden and sea view
Great food

Not directly at the beach but just a very short walking distance. The atmosphere and view at Thipwimarn is amazing!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

We planned to stay in luxurious places in Koh Tao for the 1st three nights but I was really dissappointed with Thipwimarn. We spent 4000 baht the equivalent to £80 and I don't feel that it was worth it. We stayed in the superior room and it was really small. If you struggle getting up and down stairs then beware as the steps are steep and there's plenty of them. We only stayed for one night but a couple we met booked to stay for over a week. They wanted to leave after a couple of days and the hotel said they would charge them a fee even though the hotel wasn't busy!? Another couple there were on their honeymoon and thoroughly dissappointed too. There are still works going on next to the hotel so you can hear drills and it's really noisy by the pool.

The beach that the hotel has is tiny and not worth the walk down the many steps. When we got down there we thought it was round the corner, there was nothing there and we walked up the stairs of the neighbouring resort that's being built. I WAS THEN BITTEN BY A DOG!!! So off to the doctors, rabies jabs and I wasn't even allowed to go in the water after it was dressed. When the hotel is busy the food is ok but when it's quiet there is a limited option of choice.

My advice is look elsewhere if you want luxury and value for money ....

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

The last email that we received prior to our arrival, from the booking agency that Thipwimarn uses via it’s website, assured us that the management of the resort would pospone construction until after our stay.
We arrived at night and were placed in a room approx. 5 m from the site. At 7.45 the next morning the first worker arrived. By 9 am the site was in full swing.
We felt that management was already aware of our feelings towards the construction and chose not to take it up with the staff because (a) they couldn’t stop it and (b) we were staying there for 5 nights and didn’t want any hostility from them.
The management of Thipwimarn feel that the sounds of drop saws, hammers and concrete mixers does not constitute as a “noise disturbance” and does not interfere in what would otherwise be a beautiful and peaceful resort.
We asked to be moved to another room not only to get some distance from the noise but the room that we were in (which was delux) was 75% bed. We moved to a Romance Suite which was much better but an additional 3000 THB per night, so it should be. Needless to say, if we were going pay this amount per night we would have stayed elsewhere.

The service at this resort is at very best, poor. The staff, who are very nice people, are inexperienced, untrained, unmanaged and possibly overworked.

Language differences makes it difficult for both the staff and the guests. From an emergency prospective this can be unsafe. When my husband tripped over one of the many rocks that protrude the paths and pool decking, I asked the receptionist for a first aid kit and she handed me batteries.
The pool is small and is no longer infinity. The trees around the pool have grown and block the view of the ocean.
Many of the other reviews have mentioned the stairs. Take notice of this. Unless you consider yourself to be fit - don’t stay here!
I cant recommend this resort. Thankfully it wasn’t our honeymoon or our splurge.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

The first thing that strikes you when you get to the resort is the uphill location. Traveling from the ferry terminal on a lorry can be quite an experience, be prepared for a bumpy ride!

The reception staff and drivers are all warm and accommodating,if you are a dog lover, you would love the adorable 7 dogs there (don't worry, they are clean, friendly and hardly bark, they won't bother you if you don't approach them)

There are plenty of steps for you to climb around this hilly resort but the breath taking view is worth it. I tried the boutique and romance suite, the view may be better at the romance suite but looking at the price, I would stick to the boutique suite for its oh-so comfortable bed. The free wi-fi is good too but don't forget to ask for the password from the reception, not sure if its available at all rooms.

The amenities are good and the rooms are clean and well kept. The infinity pool is gorgeous but what I like best is the quiet and relaxing ambiance of the place, if you are tired of the loud thumping music of the island with the many loud beer louts with bad tribal tattoos in bermudas and their sun burnt bleach blonde girlfriends hanging around.

Its not cheap but worth the price if you want to be kept well away from loud beer swigging college grads that occupy most of the island.

Be sure to enjoy their breakfast, not for the food but for the awesome view over looking the cliff.

I tip rather generously there as I find the staff very accommodating and warm. The location may be a little out of the way so you may have to call the hotel to come pick you up from the main town area and each ride is 50THBT per person. The hotel service is cheaper than the ones offered in town (don't bother bargaining with the local taxi drivers cos they all charge one fee). Just remember that its 150THBT per person after midnite for the ride back from town. The hotel's taxi service ends at 8.30pm.

Didn't try their spa services but do book in advance.

Overall, the view would keep me coming back for more.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights.

The rooms we were given first were terrible, so small, the entrance door had no lock. Then they moved us in a big suite which we shared with our friend. That was excellent.

The restaurant service was very poor.

The view was very nice but you need to climb a lot of stairs from the rooms to the reception. With the heat and the humidity was unbearable.
However almost all hotels in Koh Tao are built in the same way. Stairs everywhere you go.

The hotel does not provide atmosphere to make you want to stay, no music at the restaurant.
The service in general was very poor
There is no beach to swim.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Our stay at Thipwimarn was our "splurge" for New Years and our final destination after an 11-day holiday throughThailand. We were impressed with the stunning views of the resort. Everything was waterview and the grounds were scenic and well maintained. We stayed in a Superior Room and were impressed with the room and the beautiful view. However, aside from the scenery, the hotel was a huge disappointment. Although we stayed at some remote locations throughout our trip, we never encountered as huge communication difficulties as we did at Thipwarmin. Eating at the restaurant was always an experience because the staff could not describe to us anything on the menu or answer any questions. Everything we asked for led to confusion and miscommunication from selecting an ice cream flavor for the banana split (apparantly it doesn't come with ice cream?) to a Jack Daniels on the rocks (try one piece of ice floating). We ordered dessert with one server only to be approached by another twenty minutes later to take our order...who then couldn't seem to understand when we had explained to him that we had already ordered. The entire restaurant seemed hopelessly disorganized likely due to the extreme communication difficulties. There was only one young girl at the front desk who spoke English well enough and she was brought in as our translator frequently--not something you would expect at a "luxury" resort. The staff was young and overworked (we saw the same servers for breakfast as we did for dinner). Service for the "compulsary" New Years Gala dinner was poor, slow and overpriced and mired in confusion. We were convinced that the same staff serving our meals was also running down to the beach to light off the fireworks for New Years. A wake-up call for one morning never took place, we called the spa to find out they were all booked for our entire stay...only to ask the front desk to recommend another spa in which they suddenly had openings for two people for 2 hour spa treatments that day. The New Years Gala dinner was compulsary for some and not for others. A lot of things about the resort made us very confused and we were not the only ones hugely frustrated and disappointed. Our room had no hot water which was what we had paid for but surprising considering such basic amentities were offered for free at all the budget accomodations we had stayed at before. Overall this resort had the feel of a place newly opened and inexperienced... although I don't believe that's the case. Aside from the gorgeous scenery, there is little positive things I can say about this resort. For this price, I would not stay here again. The scenery alone was not enough to win me over.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thipwimarn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thipwimarn Resort

Address: 16/7 Haad Sairee, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thipwimarn Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located in north Sairee, Koh Tao, where all of our suites have a spectacular view of Sairee beach and Nang Yuan Island.Perfect for your dream holiday. Surrounded by nature, overlooking the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Thailand, our suites are peaceful, luxurious and romantic. From everywhere on the resort a spectacular sunset can be seen, a different scene every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thipwimarn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thipwimarn Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Thipwimarn Hotel
Koh Tao Thipwimarn Ko

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thipwimarn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.