We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as relaxing as we hoped but dinner was lovely.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thipwimarn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thipwimarn Resort to your Saves list
Thipwimarn Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16/7 Haad Sairee, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not as relaxing as we hoped but dinner was lovely.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night before staying back on the main strip. Much further away from anywhere but if you are looking for a night away from any bustle of shops and bars you will get this. Stayed in a bungalow which was nice however the air conditioning was incredibly loud so we struggled to sleep so that took away the relaxing stay we hoped for. Dinner was lovely, we shared a few starters and had 3 mains to share which we're all fantastic. I can particularly recommend the Massaman curry it was the best we had in Thailand.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    34
    28
    23
    22
See reviews for
9
93
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Got booked out to this hotel as out 1st choice was full. It's a little bit off the beaten track. Pool are very nice only a handful if beds. Rooms are small individual bungalows. Lighting was very dull in the rooms we lost power a few times during the night. (This happens a lot). Air con kept me awake most of the night as it was very loud. (Room 3) the one saving grace for this place for us was dinner. The food was very good service was poor though young boys serving more interested in playing on their mobile phones! But the food saves this place! If this place had more management presence it would be a little gem!!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed 2 nights here. 1 time the Boutique and 1 time the pool villa. This resort is maintained very bad. Light bulbs are broken. No water pressure. Pool water very dirty and staff very unfriendly. They hardly understand and speak any english. At the pool villa we had even no warm water and this was definitely the most expensive house in the resort. No value for money. Breakfast OK but expect nothing special. Very steep mountain. A lot of frogs make sure can't sleep. Scenery is beautiful. I also stayed at the neighbour respet called Arminjirah. This one is much much better.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have slept in here one night. It is high located, quite far from the best beaches.
The atmospher is amazing, polite staff, brakfast on the terrace simply perfect and the room very nice even if.. the shower was broken, only cold water and I would have prefered dark tent to do not wake up at 7 am! Moreover, lots of cute frogs.. but they make awful sounds at night.
Infinity pool is pleasant but the resort does not have the beach.. I personally prefer to wake up on the sea than see it from the top but if you are looking for relax and quiet Thipwimarn is perfect.
All of that is very expensive, too much for Thailand and for what they offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is great, private bungalows, very romantic, great breakfast, friendly staff. The owner has thought of everything and the romantic bungalow is fantastic. our room had fresh fruit, oil burners to give a sweet aroma, the bungalows are very private, the room is well furnished and the decore very romantic, the beach down the bottom is very small, be careful of broken glass if you want to swim there, but better to swim elsewhere

Room Tip: the romantic bungalow is perfect for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was my first visit to Koh Tao and my mistake is that I didnt book before hand and so I just arrived there and the rooms were over priced for what I got back . The steps up and down to the rooms were extremly unplaseant ( I'm a free diving instructor and quiet fit and even with that it was un pleasant ) . The room service food wasnt up to my expectations . There is no one in Reception after 10 PM . The lights and power in my bedroom were gone middle of the night with no possibility to get in contact with any one . The pool is very small anb not clean . came across a couple of coacroaches in the room ..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a few days and our disappointment started with not being met at the ferry. The rooms are not bad (the boutique) but that is where any pleasantness ends. There are endless steps to get up and down the hill. The pool is tiny and pretty dirty. The restaurant has a bizarre arrangement of some seating on the floor on a platform overlooking the sea and whilst the view is lovely, it is not easy for some folk to sit with their legs folded up whilst eating. The seating arrangements in the other part of the restaurant are simply lacking in elegance, quality and space. The breakfasts were average and pretty basic and whilst they included tea and coffee, we were only offered green tea and when we requested an alternative, they told us that any other tea would cost extra (I requested a brand of locally available and very common tea). In principal, this is fine but in practice it simply came across as the hotel being rigid and tight-fisted. The coffee was dreadful - silty and thick as mud! The trek down the hill to the sea is downright dangerous and poorly maintained and the tiny patch of grainy sand is laden with broken glass and rubbish. The food was ok for some dishes in the hotel and we were fortunate enough to persuade their kitchen to cook a fish we had caught ourselves and they did a lovely job of that. We chose not to eat in the restaurant after the first night when we were offered wine that had gone off and were simply told that the was no more wine - only after inquiring why no drink had turned up at all after the initial drink was sent back for being off. The lack of spoken English by the staff was a hindrance in explaining ourselves and despite being able to speak a little Thai, it was very difficult to communicate with all but a couple of staff. They were very sweet but obviously untrained and with limited English (and Thai I think). A major irritation at the hotel were the extreme number of mosquitoes in the main lobby area (which is tiny and cramped) and with the current amount of dengue cases in Thailand, very worrying. There was a repellent in the room which proved to be useless (I had forgotten to take my own). Mosquito coil containers were in the rooms but contained no coils to burn. Transport to and from the hotel was only available via the local taxi mafia who charge ten times the prices on the mainland to travel anywhere on the island. The hotel actually has a mini van which if they had a service mentality at all, could offer a couple of shuttle times a day for visitors wishing to explore the main town areas. We walked home one night from a visit to a restaurant in Sairee and the hills are not for the feint of heart! There was free wifi and Internet in the lobby and restaurant, which was helpful. The toilets in the lobby/restaurant were out of toilet paper the whole time were there and when we came in after 10pm one evening, they were in total darkness. The steps down to the rooms were very poorly lit, uneven and the torch provided for the room had flat batteries. We would not recommend the hotel (or the island) to anyone, and will not be going back any time soon.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thipwimarn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thipwimarn Resort

Address: 16/7 Haad Sairee, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thipwimarn Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located in north Sairee, Koh Tao, where all of our suites have a spectacular view of Sairee beach and Nang Yuan Island.Perfect for your dream holiday. Surrounded by nature, overlooking the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Thailand, our suites are peaceful, luxurious and romantic. From everywhere on the resort a spectacular sunset can be seen, a different scene every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thipwimarn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thipwimarn Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Thipwimarn Hotel
Koh Tao Thipwimarn Ko

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thipwimarn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.