We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our Highlights...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ban's Diving Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ban's Diving Resort to your Saves list
Ban's Diving Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sai Ree Beach, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Erfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“One of our Highlights...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

After we had a look into the diving resort we decided to stay and do our open water course at ban's. It was the best decision we could make. The three of us had an awesome dive instructor (Atip) and enjoyed every second of our stay. He was very funny but also very professional. Every dive was fantastic. Straight after the open water we did the advanced open water course as well. We loved it. Would always came here again and actually hope to do so in the future! Thanks to all of the ban's team and many thanks to Atip!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    228
    107
    65
    50
See reviews for
45
265
154
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The hotel itself was quite average and overpriced. The cheapest we could get it for online was 3000BHT per night. The walk in rate was 30% cheaper but even with this discount, I still felt that it was well overpriced.
The diving company is meant to be the biggest in the world so you have I decide if that's that's the kind of diving you want. Having said that, the operation is well run and the instructors are great, with the exception of the boat masters who spent most of the time barking orders at the customers.
I was a little disappointed that none of the dive briefings included anything on conservation (don't touch or step on the reef, no matter how "dead" it looks, as this will destroy it for future generations, etc) although I did see my instructor picking up rubbish in the sea.
Finally, the hotel charges 3% credit card surcharge for all payments, which is completely unreasonable in my mind. They are not a small family run Thai restaurant. They certify thousands of divers each year and run a massive resort. Their bank cannot be charging them anything close to 3% and even if they were, this is a cost of running a business! IMO, it's simply money grabbing!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights after switching hotels from a cheaper bungalow up North. We were given a deluxe garden view room, which was across the main road and up a fairly steep hill from the main hotel area, which we actually preferred since it was quieter and more private feeling. The pools did not seem to be available for swimming as they are constantly being used for the divers, but we weren't interested in using the pools as we were diving at a separate resort anyway. Similarly, we walked on the beach once or twice and enjoyed what beach they did have, though it was always busy with a 'younger' crowd of drinking backpackers.

Our room had a tv with only a few channels and a Thai-style-hard bed. The bathroom was really pretty and very clean, but the nice shower ended up soaking our floor every day. I also noticed the bottom of the shower curtain was a little moldy. The maids came regularly and kept the room clean, and we used the safe in the room every day which was a nice little perk. They also kept our room stocked with bottled water when they came by. We also had a nice little patio to sit out on.

The location is pretty ideal. It is on Sairee beach, which is fairly close (walking distance) to the main town by the Lompraya pier. If you don't want to walk to town, Ban's has it's own little walking street with lots of different restaurants and some shops.

We had free breakfast vouchers with our room and so we ate at their little breakfast restaurant across the street from our room. The food was decent, but choices were limited. I think every day buffet was: eggs made by choice (but beware all semi-hard eggs are very runny), muffins sometimes, pad thai, fried rice, fruit, granola, coffee, orange juice (it's like Tang), toast, and little mini sandwiches. I would've liked a little more variety, like some kind of meat, pastries, etc., but it did the job for the few days we were there.

Overall we really liked the place but we were happy we chose a separate dive shop as Ban's is ridiculously overcrowded (I think there were 14 people diving in the pool one day). It's not luxury, but it has a/c and it's clean, so I think it was worth the money on Koh Tao.

Room Tip: If you're looking for an area closer to the main part, choose one of the rooms close to the offi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Hotel mainly caters for divers looking to take the PADI course but also a lot of back packers / holiday makers stay here as there's lots of rooms available. Pools were in use by divers most of the day but it's only a couple of meters from the beach so you can enjoy the white sands & sea of Sairee Beach. We stayed over the road in the quieter part and up the hill a bit, great views from our balcony. Rooms were spacious and clean, myself and my girlfriend really enjoyed our 4 night stay at the tail end of our 2 week holiday. We'd recommend this hotel to people who are looking to stay in decent accommodation near to all the bars/shops and beach at a resonance price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here on our first night to the island. The rooms were beautiful and had nice decks. The grounds are very nice and well maintained. The two pools were being used for diver training so it was not meant to be for your average Joe to sit around and swim. The ocean beach is across the little walk/road. There is no private beach as such and no lounge chairs, umbrellas or shade. On the bright side there are a lot of restaurants and shopping around. Staff was ok. This is a very hilly resort, so use your own judgement.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Ban's Diving Resort is a fantastic place to learn to dive. I booked the diving course before I got there and got the accommodation for free. The rooms are small but clean and are only a short distance from the beach and learner pools.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Ban's is reasonably good at churning through an enormous amount of diving students very quickly. The emphasis is on cheap PADI with backpacker bar fun, so if you're 20, it's gold. You can start any day in any language and the classes are taught well, but there's no hiding that you are one of thousands each year. The beginners pools are revolting with virtually no visibility. The equipment is safe but a little dodgy-looking at times. We went out on 4 dives with roughly 30-40 other dive students on our boat, which had a definitive rush-hour feel. When I saw all the human fins and the hung-over students I hoped the sea life had made an escape to a more private shelter, which I guess was the case at the shallower sites we visited.

The teachers are lovely though (Taina is fantastic!) and added a personal touch to the dive machine resort. The rooms are low-end backpacker. Mine was one of few that didn't have a toilet, and the communal one never once had toilet paper but was reasonably clean. Bring ear plugs, where my room was situated I may as well have slept in the karaoke.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ban's Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban's Diving Resort

Address: Sai Ree Beach, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Tao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban's Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ban's Technical Diving is operated out of Ban's Diving, Koh Tao, Thailand. Ban's Technical Diving is an award winning DSAT, BSAC, ANDI Technical Instructor Diving Facility. The only Tech Center on Koh Tao (and one of few in the world) that offers DSAT Technical Diving Intructor Courses. Deep Wreck Diving, Cave Expeditions.-Nitrox, Deep, Wreck, Gas Blender, Compressor Operator, Rebreather, Equipment, Emergency Oxygen, Technical Decompression Diving, Cave, Cavern......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ban's Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban`s Diving Hotel Koh Tao
Bans Diving Hotel
Bans Diving Ko Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ban's Diving Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.