We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great villa - small drawbacks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khirana Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Khirana Villas
Save
You added Khirana Villas to your Saves list
Chalok, Baan Kao Beach, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great villa - small drawbacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

The Koh Tao Beach villas are set on Chalock Bann Koh beach at the south of the (small) island. This is good as the bay is small and has very few sunbathers. There is a hotel at one end of the beach, Koh Tao Resort, but you don't notice it. The best part of the location is that you feel part of a small village. The villa is situated by the Khirana Beach Resort but this is really a bar with a pool and they don’t have rooms.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa but they locked off the second bedroom as there were just two of us. It took me a few hours to get used to the ‘Balinese’ style as you are completely open. The villa is raised from the beach about 5 feet with the pool in front. Then you have the open-plan living room with TV, fridge and safe. The lockable bedroom is off that followed by the bathroom.
In the sitting room the furniture is new, clean and comfortable but you will adjust to being in a goldfish bowl after a few hours. Someone has spent a great deal of trouble on the interior design and it feels elegant as well as relevant.

The main think to bear in mind is that the bedroom has no separate ceiling so any flying things can wiz over from the sitting room in an instant. The sleeping arrangements were one of the things that began to get to us. Sleeping under a mosquito net sounds like fun and is for a short while but the nightly palaver of Deet spray, mosi-coils and nets began to lose its appeal. The beds are comfortable and, as a pervious review said, the sheets aren’t changed that frequently.

The bathroom is alfresco and while showering open to the sky is fun the lavatory rules require that you pop your paper into a bin or use the hand spray provided. This may sound like too much information but valuable to be aware of.

Also the sound in the villa travels, so if the other villa is occupied, bedroom gymnastics or bathroom functions are audible.

One of the greatest things about the villas is the location. Across the road is an air-conditioned coffee bar called Koppee which does great smoothing and has reasonable Wi-Fi. The nearest bar is called the Rasta Tattoo Bar, part of the Rasta Tattoo Saloon next door. Great drinks, great people, great music. Lots of cheap restaurants within a short walk.

Plenty of local dive shops. Big Bubble is a bit snooty but the New Haven Drive School will rent mask/snorkel etc. Bear in mind that the bay is VERY shallow – thigh deep for 200m so better to snorkel in other bays. The bay is very warm but not a great swimming experience.

In summary:

Good points: The tiny pool is fantastic, being on the beach is great and the location is fantastic

Bad points: Open bedroom/mosquitoes, inadequate shower. shallow sea

We were looking for some flashpacking to combine beach life with a bit of luxury and the Beach Villas fitted the bill perfectly.

  • Liked — Private pool, location, chilled lifestyle
  • Disliked — Mosquitos, shower
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Koh Samui, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

My friend and I stayed at the Khirana Beach for a couple of days this month and could not believe how wonderful it was. The villa is beautifully designed using natural materials such as bamboo and is decorated with plants so you feel you are living in amongst the tropical beauty outside. The view is stupendous right out over the beach, the rocks, and the azure blue ocean. My friend has difficulties walking and many of the resorts on Koh Tao are out of the question for her but this place was fine and with the addition of our own pool it was fantastic for us. We live in Koh Samui and are used to seeing many resorts in Thailand and must say that this one compared really well to many that we have stayed at. The staff were lovely and also very kind, we cannot praise it enough. One word of advice put the mosquito net down before you go out and you will not have a problem in the evenings when you go to bed. The villa is designed to be in a Thai style and this is how local people would deal with mosquitoes, so get in the habit. If you are looking to stay somewhere which will give you a special experience which is comfortable and spacious and romantic this is the place for you.

  • Liked — The design of the villa
  • Disliked — The flukey electric power in Koh Tao
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2007

We have just returned home after 3 weeks in Thailand.
This is an annual trip for us so we have had plenty of varied experiences with accomodation.

We stayed in the Beach Villas for just 3 nights and really enjoyed our time there. It seems that many of the issues raised in the earlier review have since been fixed. We stayed in the one bedroom villa which is very spacious. It's important to mention that we stayed there during a dry season so the weather was perfect each day.

The villa is balinese style and very open to the elements and geckos. The TV and DVD player did not get much use as the view staight over the plunge pool kept us enthrawled until dark came, which is when we wandered to one of the many bars and restaurants nearby. I recommend the Buddha View Bar with BBQ!

Eventually when we got home the mosquito netting worked fine, no bites for us.

The room was cleaned each day, beds made, towels changed, and the service was definately friendly. This is not a resort though, it's two very nice Villas for rent. You stock your own minibar and find your own breakfast, there are many good choices for this at whatever time you rise.

Our transfers were reliable, on time, and helpful.

For Koh Tao standards I rate this very high and worth the money if you want to splash out. This leads to the only tricky point which is that they look so good from the beach, many people do look in with a 'wow' look on their face. We soon got used to it. At first i thought the owners could build a little fench infront of the plunge pool, but this would ruin the best part which is the view.

We loved it.
Rogan and Mandy.
Australia.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2006

We have just returned from a stay at the Khirana Beach Villas.

We paid 5720 baht per night, which i knew to be expensive but it was our treat at the end of our holiday in thailand. we had already stayed in bangkok, koh samui and koh phangan and had stayed in cheap accommodation so that we could blow out on our last 5 nights in koh tao. We looked forward to it throughout our holiday and to say that we were disappointed would be an understatement. Firstly, they double booked us so we couldn't stay there for the first night we arrived on koh tao but they did book us into another (cheaper) hotel. This was nice and we did appreciate that they had done this for us, however, they also told us that we would get a night free to compensate so the balance between the hotel we stayed in and the beach villa was, apparently,ready for us on arrival. Hmm.

On arrival, they tried to charge us another 2800 baht and refused point blank to give us anything back. We had a stressful check in which involved me having to print off every email and receipt for the villa that i had. It got to the point that the man on reception/ manager/ owner (not sure of his role) told us to go to our room and he would sort it.....which he never did.

We went to our room and our first impression was that it was fairly true to the website, but then the bad bits started to show. The place didn't seem clean, it always had a musty smell about it - i had to hold my breath when we went into the other bedroom, where i was keeping my clothes. The reason my clothes were there was because the wardrobe in the open air bathroom smelt even worse - it smelt like wet rotting straw/ wood! They also kept the towels in an equally smelly set of drawers in the wardrobe. I can't believe for a second that any towels that we had had been washed before they were put in there - I ended up washing my beach towel and using that instead so as not to stink on getting out of the shower! We had our towels changed once (only because we put them on the floor of the shower to force them to change them, and the new towels they gave us were even worse) and I don't think that our sheets were changed at all. The place is open air and riddled with wildlife because of this and the pond in the living area. All fine, except that they do not put anything in the room to deter mosquitos and the mosquito net over the bed is covered in large, gaping holes.

I suffer terrible allergic reactions when I get bitten, so I am very very careful to avoid getting bitten in the first place. We had already been in Thailand, living in cheap accommodation for 10 days and I had one bite. In the 4 nights we stayed in the villa i got bitten (and my husband was the same) over 25 times - an absolute disaster. I didn't sleep well on any night as I was so conscious of mosquitos under the net with us! We had to buy candles, mozzie coils etc etc etc to at least attempt to get rid of them but it was so bad that even when we had wanted to stay in and have drinks there on a couple of evenings, the bite threat was so bad that we were forced to go out!

A cleaner came in most days and made the bed (but like I said earlier, didn't change the sheets) but just left the rest of the place. There were dirty footprints on the floor, our shower mat was literally brown with dirt from sitting on an outside floor during one of the daily thunder storms and it was not changed once! It was cleaner for us to walk on the dirty floor! We also noticed that villa next door had not been cleaned since the guests left (they left the day we arrived!).

Another example of this is when we were taken to the room, we were shown our bathroom and as we went in the wind blew enough huge dry, crumbling leaves from the roof into the bathroom to cover the shower and all of the exposed area. Obviously, this was not the fault of the owner, however, he was with us when this happened and he did not send a cleaner round or even give us a brush to sweep them up ourselves! Great service!

It implies on the websites that you can get room service and it definitely leads you to believe that you are going to stay in the equivalent of a 5 star balinese hotel. We didn't even have a phone in our room so I'm not sure how exactly you could order room service even if you had wanted to survive the wildlife for the evening!

The only good thing about the place was the pool (which still seemed dirty most of the time). We spent about 1 hour in the villa a day (other than sleeping) when we would have a dip in the pool and then quickly shower and get out of the place.

I would not reccommend that anyone stays there - there are much nicer places to stay for a third of the cost - the Koh Tao Resort further along the same beach is so much nicer, the service is great, rooms are clean and the restaurant and bar are great (the food was delicious) and there are also some lovely bungalows nestled in the rocks at sharks bay (next bay along) which is a great snorkelling bay.

The photos that have been posted by someone say that they are of the beach villa. Well, the first one is, which shows the lady sitting by the pool but I am unsure why the next picture was put there as this is the pool at the Koh Tao Resort (not Khirana beach villas!).

Overall, it was a huge disappointment and really marred our experience of Koh Tao and the final days of our otherwise fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2006

This place looks truly beautiful. The pool that merges into the sea was perfect and the open plan design of the villa looks cool, although it took a couple of nights to get used to sleeping without doors or windows.

The downside is the fact that there isn't much privacy, unless you go to bed, and people do tend to walk past and peer in. there also wasn't a safe so we ended up taking all our valuables out with us. This place is a bit expensive and the appearance exeeds the experience. There are better, cheaper places to stay.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khirana Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khirana Villas

Address: Chalok, Baan Kao Beach, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Number of rooms: 276
Also Known As:
Khirana Villas Hotel Koh Tao
Khirana Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khirana Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.