We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a "rip off"..Anankhira is undergoing renovation and This is Thailand!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Tao Anankhira

Save Saved
You added Koh Tao Anankhira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Koh Tao Anankhira
15/3 Moo 1, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 46 hotels in Ko Tao
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NOT a "rip off"..Anankhira is undergoing renovation and This is Thailand!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Anankhira has been undergoing extensive renovation as well as the construction of a 2 bedroom mini villa with pool. Unfortunately in Thailand sometimes things are not done as quickly nor the 'right' way first time out.
I love Anankhira. Stunning beauty, Views to die for. Gorgeous lodgings, and very helpful staff.
I'd say just give them a bit of time to get minor things sorted. As I live in Thailand perhaps it's easier for me to understand some of the "This is Thailand" concept and be a bit forgiving when I know the owners are on the right track and working with diligence to make Anankhira all that it can be.
Janet Madison
Koh Samui
Thailand

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Thanks for your review just to let everyone know that the renovations are now complete hurrah!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    27
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
66
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

This is a great place to stay. It's very clean and the staff are very friendly. On the first night my friend and I decided not eat at the villa because we thought it would be expensive so we went to a place on the beach which was nice but not cheap! The second night we were so tired that we decided to order from the villa kitchen. The food was absolutely great and fresh and very good value for money. Basically they'll cook anything you want, even fresh fish if you let them know in the morning. The villa was spacious and well equipped.I would definitely go back here.

I had read some reviews on Trip Advisor before I booked and was a bit confused that some people seem to be renting a not very nice house!! I don't knoe if there are two Anankira's but my advice would be to make sure when you book that you are booking a villa near sairree beach in a small complex.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
HI Harry,
Thanks very much for your lovely comments. Please come back again soon.
Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

It is my pleasure to say that the other reviews on tripadvisor are completely correct (well most). Anankhira is a truly special place - a mix of modern comforts and eco nature charm. My partner and I just loved being close to nature while enjoying the private pool and the other mod cons. The small restaurant was just what was needed so we didn't need to leave the villa much during our stay. Staff was invincible but things got done.

Truly a fantastic retreat!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thanks for your review. We have lots of Honeymoon couples who stay with us and they all comment on what a special and romantic place it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We travel a lot and have been at Koh Tao Anankhira. We liked it a lot. We can only recommend this special place to other people. You have to stay there to sense it.
Marianne, Denmark

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thanks for your review which was two years ago and Anankhira is now even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

WOW! This place is amazing. Off the beaten path but within 10 min walking distance to Sairee Village, we found this place to be absolute heaven! Arik & LouLou, the people who run the place, are beyond lovely.

The rooms are breathtaking. Roomy, airy (open air living room and open bathroom- dont worry, its all quite private). AC in the bedroom at night. Extremely tastefully decorated. Pool was perfect. View was lovely. A complete gem. Had a nice little party there, no complaints from the staff.

So wonderful I could just scream.

Going back again in June with the boyfriend..... my new favorite place!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thanks for such a fantastic review and it is great to see you again at our beautiful resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Valley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Loved the location and style of the place if you are lucky to be in Villa 1. I think if you are in the other 2 then your privacy is hampered as you can see into the other villa rooms as you go down the stairs.
Tip - bring a torch! coming home at night after a few drinks always made the climb interesting.
There are lots of critters and bugs about but that is Koa Tao and comes with having the villas in such a quiet and unique spot.
Personally I loved the plunge pool...one thing I would say is you are not really able to chill out in the living room due to the mozzies waiting in the rafters! But as I said, you should expect that, so apply the spray, eat lots of garlic, drink lots of tonic or stay in the plunge pool.
All in all, we really like the place. I have to say, the service was great up until we forgot to tip one of the ladies who serviced the rooms occasionally (ran out of money tipping everyone else!!) The temper tantrum we got was horrific and sadly typified what a walking wallet of Bahts some Thai people really regard us as.
We would recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
If you returned to Anankhira now - 2 years after your review - I think you would find some massive improvements.
We employ an eco pest company and there are a lot less insects etc and you would find it hard to spot a mosquito!
The staff would not expect a tip for cleaning your room and they certainly would not throw a tantrum if they didn't get one. The number of reviews where are staff are highly praised are testimony to this.
We now provide a torch in the room and even a mobile phone.
Do come back and see the improvements for yourself you'll now definitely think this is a top place without any reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

We spent 8 nights on Koh Tao island and stayed in 4 different places. For the overall experience Anankhira was # 1.

A beautiful, peaceful property located within (longish) walking distance of Sairee beach and town. 3 villas, each with their own pool, means leaving the actual villa to go into town is a hard decision!

The villas are a perfect place to unwind and relax but are close enough to town to sample the many restaurants and nightlife if that is what you want. An outdoor living room with TV, DVD, hammock and couch (and view!) is perfect for a beach location and the air con bedroom provides the creature comforts too.

Eric & Loulou, the French couple who manage the property, cannot do enough to make your stay exactly what you want it to be. Thank you so much!

  • Liked — private pool, outdoor living area, view, cleanliness, service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koh Tao Anankhira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Anankhira

Address: 15/3 Moo 1, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in Balinese-inspired architecture, Anankhira Villa Resort is a short stroll from Sairee Beach. We are an intimate resort with four villas – one two bed and three one bed. Each villa has its own private plunge pool and a stunning sea view. All our bedrooms are ensuite and air-conditioned and also have a fan and a fridge. Every villa also has an outdoor sitting area with TV and lots of DVD’s. We have free Wi-FiThe resort is an 8-minute drive from Mae Haad Pier. We provide a free shuttle service to and from the pier. Free private parking is available on-site.We can provide Thai cuisine and Burmese specialties in your villa or in our bijou dining area. Our price includes all taxes and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Koh Tao Anankhira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Anankhira Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Anankhira Ko

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Tao Anankhira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.