We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE MOST AMAZING PLACE I'VE EVER BEEN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Tao Anankhira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Koh Tao Anankhira to your Saves list
Koh Tao Anankhira
15/3 Moo 1, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
4.5 of 5 stars 127 Reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“THE MOST AMAZING PLACE I'VE EVER BEEN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I don't think I've ever been so sad to leave a resort... Waking up every morning to those views; the exquisite meals; the privacy; the peace and tranquility; the friendly staff; everything organised for you; oh, and that pool...! My muddled syntax doesn't befit how utterly mesmerizing this place is. An enormous thank you to Kit and the team for making my stay with my wife the most perfect imaginable.

We were greeted warmly as soon as we arrived, led into our spectacular room, which they had specially made up romantically with rose petals strewn on the bed... And then- well, just bliss. Kit- the staff manager, organised everything we wanted- she had a great wealth of knowledge about the island and we owe her thanks for many a fine dining experience.

We actually came here for a chill-out after the full-moon party on Phangan and it was just what the doctor ordered- food delivered on demand to your room; satellite TV... Basically all those home comforts you miss when you're abroad- but the plus is that you're submerged in this breathtaking environment- in fact, I really enjoyed the proximity to nature and the open-plan thing worked really well for me: would never usually go for it, myself!

If you're wondering whether to book- just DO, can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Laelia which was beautiful- but the others look good too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review - we’re really pleased when our guests enjoy their stay with us. And thank you for the mention of our staff who work hard to ensure that our guests have a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    28
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
11
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Fabulous place stay in equally fabulous Saree beach. We stayed in a two bed luxurious villa with with stunning sea and sunset views, private swimming pool and separate lounge area - so much more relaxing than a hotel room! Staff were friendly and unobtrusive. High standard of cleanliness, and fittings and fixtures all high quality, sheets and towels all crisp and white. This boutique resort is in a great location, far enough away from the center for peace and quiet, but easy walking distance to the gorgeous beach, and about 10 -15 mins walk into the cool Saree nightlife. We found some great restaurants and some lively bars with some surprisingly good live music. Staying at Anankhira gives you a real feel for the natural beauty of Koh Tao. It's small personal resort with some nice little touches. A breath of fresh air compared to cookie cutter hotels.Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thanks ever so much for your review; we’re always pleased when people enjoy their stay with us. Ever so sorry about the mosquitoes- but, as you mentioned, with all the sprays, nets and coils, usually they can be kept at bay! Please do come back again some day if ever you have the chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

we were really pleased with the hotel. when we arrived on the boat they picked us up straight away and brought us up the hills to the hotel. the manager was charming and helpful. the room was very beautiful and relaxing all white. air condition unit worked very well indeed we never felt warm at night!! the manager explained to us that this hotel was designed by a talented thai architect and the private villas are built into hillside around rocks - very lovely indeed! breakfast was fresh fresh fresh! and very tasty. whenever we needed the staff they were always around and did things quickly and quietly. my husband and i could not believe how good the price was for the service received and qualitiy of the room. if you come to this wonderful island of koh tao, stay here!!!!!! we will stay here again on our next trip

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so glad you loved the style and look of Anankhira. The architect is a dear friend and a lot of love went in to creating this special place. Do come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just stay there for 2 days......i could stay there forever. Stunning house, private pool and Great staff, just call, and they arrange everything. Easy booking, and very fair price, i can only say good things about this pearl.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your kind words- we are very happy that you had such a wonderful time. Please do come back whenever you wish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a find! We were met promptly at the port on arrival and taken the short distance to the enclave of villas. Our villa presented us with fabulous views of the bay and a perfect outside area for enjoying the heat...including a small pool and outside relaxing area. When we wanted to escape the heat the comfortable bedroom was a cool retreat. A short walk to the beach opened up the island to us with boats available for hire to take us to nearby snorkelling beaches , and restaurants situated directly on the beach available for lunch. The management team at Anankhira were first rate and added to the enjoyment by organising an adhoc barbeque for my friends and us, including other guests staying at the villas. I look forward to staying at Anankhira in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We’re really pleased that everything was just to your liking at Anankhira! Thanks for your review and remember that you’re always welcome to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We arrived in Ko Tao, and our ride to the villa was not there. We cabbed it to the villa for 200 baht.
Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and shown to our villa, this is where things started going downhill.
For anyone travelling to Koh Tao for the first time, you have to understand that the septic system on the island does not allow for toilet paper to be flushed down the toilet and water pressure is very low.
Back to the villa: a bedroom, an outdoor living area and a semi outdoor bathroom, just as advertised on the website. We were giving a cell phone to use to contact the manager; we later found out that the number programmed in the phone did not work. when we turned on the AC in the bedroom the smell was horrible, since we couldn’t call the manager and no one on the premise spoke english I emailed the manager and to this day I am still waiting for a response.
The menu says the kitchen is open until 20:30, when I went to order at 20:00, I was told that it was too late and i have to let them know in advance. the next day we ordered lunch at 13:00 and was told that they didn’t have the ingredients to make one of the items we wanted. Either you can or you can't but don’t have the menu say something and offer something else.
I had to wash the AC filter, burn incense in the room so that we could sleep without any smells.
For the price of the villa we did not have hot water to shower with. My diving colleagues staying at much cheaper places had hot water.
The people in the office were very accommodating when we were to leave 1 day sooner, they offered to give us 50% off the extra night to be paid by the manager on site.
We had an early ferry off the island (9:00), I informed the manager that we would leave at 8:00 and would like transportation. When I arrived at 7:30 to settle the bill the manager was angry that i had woken her up since we agreed that we were leaving only at 8:00. I guess we were to settled up at 8:00 and leave after that was done. We settled up but the manager did not mention the 50% off as agreed upon. I later had to contact the very nice office people to resolve that.
Now the transportation: I asked the drive to make a 700 m detour to pick up something (yes 700m i was looking at the odometer) and he was not happy. Grumbling on his cell phone for the entire trip. at no time where we told the cost of the trip but given the other reviews on trip advisor i was expecting a surprise and we got one. Driver asked for 400 baht... twice as much as the initial ride up. When i told him he was dreaming he quickly dropped to 200. Either the hotel charges a rate that is advertised and everyone agrees to it or it doesn’t.
Horrible experience in customer service, never again.
on this trip we stayed at 8 different hotels from Chiang Mai to Lombok, this was by far the worse hotel of the trip

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our resort. We are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We would have welcomed the opportunity to have discussed your concerns during your stay with us as our resort manager was onsite and our English office manager was easily contactable by email and is also resident in Koh Tao. Any difficulties you had could have been referred to either party and would have been addressed immediately.

We would now like to take the opportunity to address the points that you have raised in your review as follows:

• The resort manager’s mobile number, programmed into our complimentary mobile phones, is correct, however, mobile phone networks and internet connection can be intermittent on the island due to the weather and small island infrastructure.
• Our air conditioning units are regularly serviced and we have maintenance staff on site to resolve any issues promptly. For health and safety reasons we do ask that guests do not attempt to repair any unit themselves.
• As we are a small resort and offer a simple menu available at the times specified. on the menu. We do request that guests pre-order our speciality dishes and unfortunately we were not able to provide this to you at such short notice. As a result of your comments we will endeavour to make this even clearer so as to avoid disappointment. So thank you for your feedback.
• Our water heaters are regularly maintained. We can have occasional issues when either the water pressure is low and you need to run the water for longer to achieve the desired temperature or the heater needs to sometimes be reset after an electricity outage (common on the island). We do mention this in our guest book, but will make this clearer to our guests following your comments.
• We were very surprised on your negative feedback on our resort manager which was based on the one episode that you mention, as she is well known for her approachability, calmness and helpfulness to which many reviews on this site bear testimony. We have however discussed this incidence with her and can only surmise that there was a misunderstanding of some kind.
• Some of the other things you have raised are unfortunately outside of our control and are an island ‘feature’ - the septic system, the taxis. We acknowledge that the use of public taxis can occasionally be an issue and we will shortly be buying our own courtesy car to remedy the situation. This will mean that a member of staff will be able to collect and return people to the pier and also take them to other locations on the island.

As you stated, you received a courtesy refund as you had to leave early due to the fact that you had incorrectly calculated the time you needed to make your connections. This was refunded directly to you via Paypal on the day that you left. We were under no obligation to do this as we very clearly state that customers must ensure that their travel arrangements are feasible prior to booking.

We welcome constructive feedback and you were sent a customer survey form a week after your stay, as we do with all our guests, which greatly assists with our quality control,.This unfortunately was never returned to us.

Please accept out apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay, we would have welcomed the opportunity to rectify any problems you may have faced. I trust you had a good journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent 5 nights here and really enjoyed our visit. Our complimentary taxi was waiting for us at the pier and whisked us away to our own private retreat - the Miltonia Villa. Kit was waiting for us when we arrived and gave us a brief tour of the property and our villa, leaving us a cell phone with her number just in case we needed anything.

Our villa was simple and open with a lovely view of the sea. Whilst we enjoyed the open living area we were happy to have our air-conditioned bedroom to retreat to when the heat became too much! We had no problems with insects or curious creatures during our stay - saw lots of lizards, squirrels and birds but they didn't bother us at all.

The staff were fantastic and looked after us well. The housekeeping staff did a fabulous job of keeping our villa tidy and well stocked whilst managing to never to be seen by us (they had a gift of knowing when we were out, however briefly, and working their magic on our room!). The cooks provided us with delicious breakfast each morning (although we often didn't get what we ordered, the food was all good) and the meals we had delivered to our villa were amazing - so tasty and cheaply priced. The grounds staff were also excellent, tending to our pool daily and keeping the grounds tidy.

The manager Kit took good care of us, arranging a private snorkel tour (we would recommend booking your own tour though, as the private longboat was rather expensive, you do not get a private guide, just a driver and ours spoke limited English. Also, when the weather is rough the boat cannot access a lot of the island. Keep away from the lunch and take your own would be my recommendation. Despite this, we still had a good time and were able to get a fair bit of snorkelling in). When we woke up and saw that the weather was bad we tried messaging Kit on our cell phone to arrange to have our trip delayed until the next day, however we got no reply. Maybe calling would have been better, however it was early. Kit also arranged our ferry tickets back to Koh Samui.

Overall we loved our stay and would recommend Anankhira as a great choice for couples and families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thanks ever so much for your review- we are really pleased that you had a nice time with us. Sorry about the problem with the mobile and boat journey- sometimes the weather can have a bad effect on the signal. Do please come again if you are ever on Koh Tao, we would be really pleased to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Tao Anankhira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Anankhira

Address: 15/3 Moo 1, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in Balinese-inspired architecture, Anankhira Villa Resort is a short stroll from Sairee Beach. We are an intimate resort with four villas – one two bed and three one bed. Each villa has its own private plunge pool and a stunning sea view. All our bedrooms are ensuite and air-conditioned and also have a fan and a fridge. Every villa also has an outdoor sitting area with TV and lots of DVD’s. We have free Wi-FiThe resort is an 8-minute drive from Mae Haad Pier. We provide a free shuttle service to and from the pier. Free private parking is available on-site.We can provide Thai cuisine and Burmese specialties in your villa or in our bijou dining area. Our price includes all taxes and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Koh Tao Anankhira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Anankhira Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Anankhira Ko

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Tao Anankhira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.