We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Tao Anankhira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Koh Tao Anankhira to your Saves list
Koh Tao Anankhira
15/3 Moo 1, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
4.5 of 5 stars 127 Reviews
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Utterly Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The resort is gorgeous; the villas gave that perfect amount of privacy and luxury, whilst remaining close to the environment and surroundings; the location was idyllic; Kit and the staff were so delightful I can not put it in words; overall, with seamless, top quality service in this stunning setting, my holiday was just perfect!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
So glad that you had a fab time at Anankhira. Do come back and see it again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    28
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
11
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Anankhira is one of the most unique places we have stayed. However, our first reaction was a tad unsure... being on our honeymoon we did want a bit of luxury, and whilst it had it's own private pool, and the view was spectacular, the place was a bit of... shamozzle...

The fact that the living room was outdoor/indoor, and the bathroom was private but open to the elements, had seemed like a tropical treat when I booked it, but upon arriving it was a bit impractical. It was a particularly interesting when it poured down rain for 3 days straight! It was an unusual experience sitting in our living room with 3 grown lizards as our guests, watching TV whilst the rain hammered down around us, moving things around to avoid getting wet! We ordered a lot of meals in given it was too wet to walk to town. The food was tasty simple thai food, at affordable prices, but they often had run out of what we wanted.

The best part by far was our private pool which we spent hours in come rain or shine. The worst part was the electricity in our room kept going out so we would have to call to get it fixed. But the fix was only temporary. Whilst the staff were friendly and polite, they never cleaned our room or replaced our soggy towels. The place could do with a bit of "spring clean" generally.

However by the end of our stay it did feel a bit like home...lighting the mosquito coils, eating a curry and watching the sunsets. I imagine if you were a real outdoors person you would LOVE this place! City slickers beware.

Room Tip: The Laelia room where we stayed was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I can see from your review that you stayed in Laelia Villa which has a Balinese style ensuite - basically it's outside. The pictures on the website do show this and I know it's not everyone's cup of tea, although we do get some returning guests who actually prefer this Villa. Other villas have an indoor bathroom.

I think maybe from what you say we need to make clear the situation with the electricity which is a problem for the entire island. When the weather is poor the government supply can often be cut off, this happens all over the island. It is a problem because you never quite sure when it might happen! Whilst we do have a generator it takes a little while for it cut in.

Also I can see that you felt that the towels weren't replaced often enough. I think this is something that maybe we need to be clearer about. We have an environmental policy whereby we only clean the towels and linen when the client requests it. It may see odd, being on an island, but freshwater is in limited supply.

So, thank you for your review, it has helped us to improve our customer service by ensuring that the two points you raised are made clear.

I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgenstock, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

we were there end of November for 3 nights, knowing it's raining season on this side of the Gulf and sure enough, it rained for 2 days. Despite the rain we enjoyed Koh Dao and the Anakhira Resort. The location is quiet, 10 minutes walk to town and about 40 minutes walk to the port. we ate in twice because of the rain, the food in the hotel was simple but good and very reasonable priced. Breakfast was also simple but good, we had the pancakes the first day and fruit plate and cereals for the next 2 days. The rooms is fantastic - rustic but very tastefully done, very comfortable with hot water cooker for tea and coffee, mini bar, flat screen TV with enough channels and DVD players with more then enough disc in the room. The Burmese staff are friendly, helpful and discreet.
The resort is built around rock formations with lots of steps but we had no problems going up and down the steps but with small children or people with health problems it may not be the best.
All in all, we enjoyed the stay very much and would highly recommend the resort for people who want a relaxing, quiet, comfortable stay on Koh Dao in a very natural surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we are really pleased they had a good time. You are quite right when you say that the resort is not real suitable for people who would have difficulty with the steps. Although the reception can be accessed by bike or taxi via the small road to the side of the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

What an amazing place! Not the cheapest hotel but you get what you pay for in life.............and this was excellent.

Location is good- well out the way of the noises so sleep is very easy and with a scooter only 3 minutes away from any where. Granted the slope to the hotel is steep but there are steps to access the rooms.

Kitt and all the staff were very helpful from check in to check out. Breakfast menu is small, easy and healthy and food was good in the evening.

You may need to ask the staff to make your beds on a morning as I'm not sure if it's respect for privacy or just the norm. But either way not a massive problem.

There is a mosquito net over the bed (we had) and mosquito candles supplied. Genuinely didn't get bitten whilst asleep, it was every where else on the island, so pack loads of jungle formula repellent and light at least 2 candles before bed.

Plunge pool was a brilliant luxury to have! No problems with colouring or chlorine, just a small leak which drained the pool very slowly but by lunch it was refilled by the efficient maintenance guys.

Booked 4 nights but decided to stay an extra 2 nights and blow off going back to ko samui! That says enough about this place really.

Couldn't say enough positive comments so if you are considering a stay then you will not be disappointed!!!!!!


(One last note is that if you really feel strongly about insects and small wildlife then stay at home! Anywhere in Thailand is subjected to some sort of wildlife in one way or another and this island is no exception. Small infrequent visits from Geckos running around the walls is perfectly acceptable considering the location. They help keep the rooms clearer of Mosquitos.)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Owner at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thanks for such a lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. Please come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Big thanks to Kit and all the staff for making our holiday perfect.

The villas are lovely and the view on a night over sairee beach are fantastic.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and the Prices are so good.

We will definitely be back to see you all again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Manager at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here in May for a couple days. Koh Tao has some amazing beaches and is well worth the visit. But for the amount we paid for our villa you would be better off staying somewhere else. We wanted to stay in nicer places at the end of our trip around Thailand so we had decided to spend some extra in Koh Samui and Koh Tao on our hotels. We read through all the reviews and decided to try this place anyways in hopes that it would really be as lovely as some people have said. We really should have paid attention to the other poorer reviews and realised people were being honest versus being nit picky. The villa is roomy and the bed is comfortable but the cleanliness is not as clean as it should be as there was quite a bit of dust about. We had to wipe down the tv each evening just to see the screen. This dust could be from the nearby construction or the dirt road. Also, the nearby buildings can see straight into the villa we were staying in so there was no privacy (which was a disappointment as we were looking forward to having some privacy). The linens were a little musty which you can sometimes get in tropical places and some were also somewhat worn. The mosquito net needed a good clean as well. The bathroom and closet smelled a bit funny...if they could get more air into these then they probably would be fresher. And in the bathroom the mats need a change as they were a little slimy from staying damp. There are wires nearby the edge of the pool which could be a hazard. To be honest we hardly used the pool because the beaches are so lovely. The staff are really nice and very helpful but unfortunately the room is just not as nice as you would expect for what you are paying. It needs to be done up a little more and some of the "loose ends" finished (i.e. wires hanging down or sticking out in places as well as some of the painting finished). I really wish this place was more like the good reviews versus the negative but unfortunately at this price we were not impressed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Manager at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I have noted your comments and taken action on all of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have pre-booked Anankhira for 3 nights for middle of our trip. A great decision, although have enjoyed another short stay right on the beach, the quality of this resort was a relief. Starting from a warm personal welcome to gorgeous settings, tastefully designed and well kept villa and friendly helpful staff. Not that we required many additional treats, however any questions or requests we had were fulfilled. One little thing, breakfast options are very limited, which is only an issue as getting to your nearest restaurant or another resort is more than just a walk out of your hut. I would like to see a change in that, but otherwise, i highly recommend this sweet place. Thanks again, Helga

Room Tip: We stayed at Miltonia room which was lovely, really didint need anything different or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneChard, Manager at Koh Tao Anankhira, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thanks you for your kind review. I have noted your comment on the breakfast and this is something that we aim to improve upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Tao Anankhira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Anankhira

Address: 15/3 Moo 1, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in Balinese-inspired architecture, Anankhira Villa Resort is a short stroll from Sairee Beach. We are an intimate resort with four villas – one two bed and three one bed. Each villa has its own private plunge pool and a stunning sea view. All our bedrooms are ensuite and air-conditioned and also have a fan and a fridge. Every villa also has an outdoor sitting area with TV and lots of DVD’s. We have free Wi-FiThe resort is an 8-minute drive from Mae Haad Pier. We provide a free shuttle service to and from the pier. Free private parking is available on-site.We can provide Thai cuisine and Burmese specialties in your villa or in our bijou dining area. Our price includes all taxes and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Koh Tao Anankhira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Anankhira Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Anankhira Ko

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Tao Anankhira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.