We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cotttages combiined with open-water diving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort to your Saves list
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15/4 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cozy cotttages combiined with open-water diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

Our intent on Koh Tao was to go diving and have a luxury beach holiday which we could afford. By booking a diving course, we got a 45% reduction on cottage room rates. And we loved our little cottage away from the pool & beach (since both were a short walking distance, we didn't see the need to pay more for a beach view), although some would say the cottages were too cramped together. But once inside, I felt cozy.
We were not disappointed. The quality of instruction was top, diving was excellent & fun, and at 2800 Baht a night, we enjoyed our comfy queen-sized bed and blended-with-nature bathroom.
The "Happy Snapper "restaurant offered a good mix of western and Thai cuisine at fair prices. The breakfest buffet gave you all you could want.
Being on the west side, we watched the sun set every evening. The short 5-minute walk into town (Sairee) was a bit dangerous since lighting on the road was practically non-existant, but we had our flashlights with us.
Highly recommended for those who want luxury, but not at too high a price. There was a free transfer from the pier.

  • Liked — Private cottage
  • Disliked — Cottages too cramped, sometirator (away from accomodations) was as loud as a mes people got lost and went to the wrong room. Genestarting airplane.
  • Tips/Secrets — Go diving to save on costs.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    74
    55
    52
    51
See reviews for
33
109
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2006

Myself and my husband stayed here for 5 nights in September. We are 49 and 50 and we signed up for the Open Water Dive Course. I can't say enough about this place in admiration, the whole experience was fantastic. Our dive instructor Vic is one of the best instructors in the dive centre I reckon, he is a great teacher and extremely patient. I nearly gave up and with his encouragement and the encouragement of all the dive instructors I gave it another go and succeeded. The boat and equipment is very good, the dive shop itself is very well run and very professional. We stayed in one of the superior cottages and found it so peaceful and pleasant. Yeh, it's not 5 star but you are so much next to nature and it's clean and inviting. We had a little balcony ouside which the hotel's dog "Freddie" used to visit - she's gorgeous! The restaurant on the beach is where we had breakfast every morning and was good. The staff were friendly and helpful and all in all they couldn't do enough for us. We discovered that the terracotta bowl at the foot of the steps which is filled with water is to rinse your feet of sand before you go inside your room. One day we came back to find a beautifully prepared plate of fresh fruit, compliments of the hotel. If you are looking for a real holiday, away from the haggling, genuine fake designer goods and hustle and bustle go to Koh Tao. The Tong Tai restaurant is good, food delicious and cheap. Make sure you are in Ko Samui ferry port before 12 pm as that is the last ferry departure to Koh Tao, we missed it on our first day and had to stay one night in Ko Samui which was as described above, a highly overrated resort, overrun with everything you dread!!

  • Liked — The peaceful nature, location, friendliness.
  • Disliked — Having to leave!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Check your ferry times.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2006

Stayed 5 nights in pirates poolside cottage. I think Quaint best describes these cottages which are fairly small, basic but clean. The Ensuite bathrooms, accessed down a few steep steps are ok but the bath is a wooden barrel and the showers are weak. The beachfront restaurant is fine with friendly staff, reception staff pleasant although we were charged 300tb (£5) for a hand towel which got stained.
The beach is lovely, soft white sands, and plenty of eateries. Especially recommend the Suethip for a good cheap meal (under £10 for 4 people including appetisers and drinks) and the Thipimarn for a more exclusive setting high up on the cliffs.
The dive school is excellent. Our Australian dive master Paul was friendly, efficient and great with the kids. We all earned our PADI open water qualifications in 3 days.
Koh Tao itself is really only suitable for those interested in Diving or backpackers, as there is not much else to do on the Island.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2006

Everyone in Thailand was so nice, except for the management of this resort - wow they were just rude! The dive operation is what we went there for though and it was well run with good equipment and nice competent people. The restaurant is terrible and even though it was included we couldn't eat there. The accomodations were okay, we stayed in a bungalow with an outdoor bathroom. It was small but clean and in good shape. They have a huge diesel genertator for the resort that runs 23/7 (down for 1 hour a day) and it's pretty noisy. Close to Sairee Village which is much cooler and more fun than Mae Haed. After we saw Thipwimarn up the road we were crushed we didn't stay there but ate at their restaurant (best we had in Thailand). Stay somewhere else but use their dive operation.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2006

Okay - if you're after the whole luxury hotel experience - give this place a miss. In fact, if that's what you're after, give Koh Tao a miss and head for Koh Samui.

If however, the location is more important than the accomodadtion - this is the place for you. The beaches are stunning and quiet during the day (most people are out diving), the island has still retianed the charm it had 8 years ago and avoided the sanitation of Samui and the people are as helpful and charming as you'd expect. The resort itself is in an excellent location on a quiet part of the beach, the huts are clean and have all you really need. The whole point of coming to Koh Tao is that you spend your time outside! With regards to the cost, next door at Koh Tao Cabana is cheaper and really nice but there's not that much in it. We had the Deluxe Pirate Cottage on the beach which was brilliant and cost less than a Travel Inn in the UK.

My only real problem was the music in the restaurant. Unless you have a passion for Chicago and Foreigner this will get on your nerves.

Yes it is a little more expensive than the likes of Samui but then it's more remote so it's going to be.

Finally, never listen to the opinions of anyone who complains about the quality of the internet connectiont! Priorities??!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante (Spain)
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2006

Dirty beach and really no fishes. Too many mosquitos, is impossible to stay outside after sunset. Bad restaurant, pool usefull just for Dive Courses.

Only the vie center is good, the price is to high for the quality of the resort.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2006

This was one of the worst resorts I have ever stayed in, in my life. I have traveled all over the world, and rarely have I seen such deplorable service, and such a non-chalant attitude on the part of the staff. I think this attitude seems to pervade Ko Tao, but the Coral Grand was the worst I have experienced. A request for a towel in the room (which were not provided), took several hours. The equipment for the internet was several years old, and the mouses and keyboards hardly functioned, at all. The rooms were bordering on shabby. Though we were told they would hold a room for us, on the phone, when we arrived, we had to fight to get a room, which they seemed unwilling to give us. The service at the restaurant was the same. It took forever to get someone's attention. This kind of thing is rare in Thailand, so it stands out. We paid around 4,000 bt./night, so you would expect more. It felt as though the staff just did not care. The rooms were OK, but not at all what one would expect for that kind of money.
Strong Points:
The only decent part of the hotel was the dive operation. They were courteous, pleasant, and knew what they were doing.
Weak Points:
As stated above. Very poor value for the money

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort

Address: 15/4 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Coral Grand Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.