We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ying Yang

Ying Yang
Sur, Ko Tao, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 124 Restaurants in Ko Tao
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Soest, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Exellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The best Thai food we had in our 3 week Holiday in the South of Thailand. Food comes sizzling hot on your plate! Good taste!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice food let down by poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I'll start by saying the food is among the best the island has to offer, we especially liked the chicken massaman curry which was tasty with mouthwatering tender chicken breast that you could cut with a spoon. However, our waiter needs some training! We were seated straight away, but had to wait a good ten minutes before he even came to take our order (not even a drinks order)! I don't mind waiting a little while especially when its busy but this was something else. When he was finally on his way to take our order, a rude, obnoxious individual waltzed in to the restaurant and proceeded to give our waiter his food order. Fine we thought, not the waiters fault, but instead of then carrying on to our table he turned around and went back to the kitchen! Another 5 minutes passed (after taking yet another tables order) before he finally bothered to get round to us. If we weren't so hungry we would have walked out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants we've been to in Southeast Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited on 3 nights and there is no one meal I can recommend in particular here as it is all so delicious and you notice the quality of the food compared to neighbouring restaurants. You can understand why this place is jam packed every single night and they have to find space for more tables.
You get vegetables that look fresh and some good quality meat, the portions are great and you get it for as cheap as you would at any of the other cheaper eats but it’s just much better.
The staff are all really friendly and this is easily one of the best places we have been for food in all of South-east Asia.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Amazing curries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Amazing food here! True authentic Thai Maslaman and green curry (which set my mouth on fire!). Would highly recommend this place, as it is cheap, and the food is top notch.

Visited June 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ying Yang also viewed

Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Ying Yang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ying Yang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.