We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stunning Location with Top Level Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ViewPoint Restaurant

ViewPoint Restaurant
Chalok Baan Kao | ViewPoint Resort, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
+66 77 456 444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 115 Restaurants in Ko Tao
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Beautiful ocean-side restaurant with unbeatable panoramic views across Chalok Bay to Buddha Rock. Call for taxi service.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Stunning Location with Top Level Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Where to begin? The food is not just amazingly cooked but is imaginative and would not be out of place in a 5 Star in New York. The price is however much less than that would cost you.
To give you an idea I had Seared Scallops with Poached Duck Egg on a Mint Risotto, Lime Leaf Infused Rack of Lamb followed by Creme Brulee. All three remain in my top 10 ever meals.
The drinks are equally imaginative Thai Fusions of classics.
The setting is amazing - truly luxurious with a million dollar view.
Offering a taxi service there is an added touch.
Worth travelling to Koh Tao for this alone!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    9
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best food on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Food and presentation that you can't find in most major cities, let alone Koh Tao. The head chef, Shawn, has created a menu that would have any international foodie drooling. Highly recommended for anyone looking for an amazing meal in a gorgeous setting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great high-class food for a highly reasonable price. If your looking for food of the highest quality this is it.

We went at 4pm and although it was the other side from sunset the twilight was immense and dining on the jetty in a beautiful bay surrounded by rocks which the main building is built in.


I had the Calamari was incredibly soft and perfectly cooked. The Lamb was perfectly cooked as was the roast potatoes which was amazing. My wife had the escargot and the pork and was equally as happy!

Allie and Sean thank you so much!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We've had the best breakfast here every day, we stayed at the resort. The restaurant has a beautifull view with very friendly staff. There is wifi and it is a good start before you go diving.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem, highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a real foodies restaurant, the chef definitely knows his onions! We ate a red snapper in a ginger and mushroom sauce and a monster prawn koh pad thai, and some duck fat chips for badness... The ingredients were so perfectly balanced that we both ordered desserts which were equally good. We didn't eat here till our last night which was a real pity because we would have definitely returned. It's quite hard to find (particularly as there are no maps on any website we could find) but we managed with a bit of help from locals. Chapeau Chef!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ViewPoint Restaurant also viewed

Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to ViewPoint Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ViewPoint Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.