We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable and so very convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodtime Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Goodtime Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Goodtime Beach Hotel
Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 57 Ko Tao B&B and Inns
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and so very convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in an ocean view private double room. The room was spacious and well appointed with a wonderful view of the ocean. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. We were diving with GTA which made our stay so convenient. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki180, Manager at Goodtime Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review and thank you for being great guests, it was a pleasure to have you here!
The location and view is great and its even better for taking courses and diving with us, straight from your bed to breakfast to the water - easy. Goodtimes :)
Hope to see you back here again soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    10
    8
    1
See reviews for
3
17
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The location was good but the front desk girl was not able to be on the place she was. Since we arrived there she treat us really bad and the service was not expected. Be careful cause we put all the towels on the bed and when we did the check out she said one towel was missed and she charged us 500 bath for it... she didn't want give our passaport back. If you have another option to stay I avoid to stay in this hotel. We stayed there for 4 days and the staffs didn't care about the costumers. The toilet was dirty and the shower was broken.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timsahb, Owner at Goodtime Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you again for staying in our hotel and thank you for giving me the opportunity to reply to an unjustified review from you that was clearly borne out of your frustration with communication across languages, not the hotel as such.

You may not have been aware but myself (Western Owner) was close by both when you checked in and when you checked out of the hotel so I was aware of your behavior from the start. When you arrived you were very rude and aggressive about a booking discrepancy of other customers and started threatening our receptionist by taking photos of and calling her names. She handled herself quite professionally in defense of your unjustified tirade.

At check in it is very clear when staying in the dorm rooms that the towels, sheets etc we give you; are required to be given back at the end of your stay, just like every hostel in the world. And like every hostel in the world, you will be charged accordingly if you lose something entrusted into your care. After your case, we have re-looked at the way we check people in and out and made it even clearer for you to bring the towels and sheets back to reception on checkout.

You were very aggressive and extremely rude (again) to our receptionist at check out when this problem occurred, I was watching from across the path and thought I would have to intervene, however I wanted to let our receptionist handle the problem. You were threatening legal action, Interpol and all sorts of action based around you lacking the personal responsibility to look after and return a $12 towel.

It became very clear to us when your two friends had to come back and apologies for your behavior and expressed that they really enjoyed their stay with us.

We pride ourselves on our customer service; please look at the reviews on Goodtime Adventures for a realistic assessment of how we operate. While the hotel operation is still in its infancy with us, it’s the same people working with the same attitude and we are often praised for helping out customers over and above what’s expected - such as assisting with legal issues or lost luggage.

The toilets are cleaned every day, however as you were staying in a dorm room, they can become dirtier through use after time, however I remind you the bathrooms are also internal (8 bed dorm with internal bathroom, AC right on the beach) and all it takes is one person to mess it up. If we are not told then our cleaners are not aware there is a problem.

If you are going to travel around the world, you need to be able to follow the rules and accept some personal responsibility - not become rude and aggressive towards local people - exemplified by your friends coming back to apologize for your behavior.

Regards,
Tim
General Manager / Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Arrived during high season with no accomodation and Sairee beach was fully booked out. The wonderful staff were able to sort me out for my stay and put an extra bed in the dorm to stay with friends! The place was perfectly clean and it's in a great location in the middle of everything you could want. I'd recommend to book in advance and stay in an 8 bed dorm. Enjoy!! I'd do anything to return!

Room Tip: 8 Bed dorm was perfect! There are private sea view rooms that are more expensive also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki180, Manager at Goodtime Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thanks Marianne for your lovely review! Of course we wouldn't see you without a bed to sleep when your friends in the room were more than happy to have an extra bed put in for you, good job the rooms are so big...
Your definitely right about booking accommodation on Koh Tao now, before and after the full moon periods there are no spare beds available in the Sairee area and many people are disappointed when they arrive. So you need to book with us again Mairanne? When are you back? :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Good time is a nice place to stay. The rooms are a good size (dorm rooms with 8 bed) and it has facilities you would want eg wifi. The bathrooms weren't very clean and the shower had no power at all. In one room, the shower was cold and you could get no heat. All in all a pretty standard hostel and good for backpackers. A great way to meet other like minded travellers but could be that bit cleaner.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki180, Manager at Goodtime Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for the review, I'm glad you had a good stay and appreciate your comments.
The 3 hostel rooms here at Goodtimes are a new addition, and with that we had some learning experiences. High season meant not a spare bed in the building, our A/C dorms were proving popular! We soon realized that with extra bodies in each room and bathroom facilities 'en-suite', cleaning staff found it difficult to keep on top off, and so we have since taken on a extra member of cleaning staff to look after the dorms. Sorry for the uncleanliness during your stay but know for your next visit we will be Spic 'n Span :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed 1 night because fully booked during following days. The view is magnificent, the rooms aren't fancy enough for the price asked: 2800 bath. Goodtime café where you get breakfast is very nice, great pad thai!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timsahb, Owner at Goodtime Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on Koh Tao and for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your 1 night stay with us.

Unfortunately Thailand is not as budget friendly as it once was and was and small islands like Koh Tao have seen massive increases in land and lease costs over the years. We feel the price under $100 USD for a spacious room with TV, AC, hot water, mini fridge, bean bags and the open balcony directly above the beach, on the best part of Sairee beach is more than fair and actually a little undervalued in comparason with other locations on the beach or islands in Thailand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in the beach front view room for 10 nights and would come back and stay here again in a heart beat. The staff are friendly and care about your experience while staying in their hotel. The rooms are very spacious and clean. They also have the best pancake stand in all of asia right outside their door steps. :-)
If you are looking for a place to feel right at home being surrounded by great people, I would recommend this to be the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki180, Manager at Goodtime Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Wow what a great review, Thank you!
I will definitely pass on your comments to all the staff and its so great to hear that we are doing things right. Our aim is in the name and we want all guests to have a Goodtime and feel at home with us :)
The pancake man opposite is amazing and recommend all visiting to try one of his many varieties, but directly outside my office daily they are a temptation I can not resist way to often.
Thanks again and I hope someday you will be back to stay again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We (a family of four, kids 9 and 6 years old) stayed at the Good Time Beach hotel for a week in July 2013.

After spending quite a bit of time researching accomodations on Sairee beach, we settled on Good Times ... and are very glad we did.

We had one of the private rooms, across from the dorms and with a great view of the beach. The room was spacious, very clean and had a large balcony.

Good Times is located on the nicest (and cleanest) stretch of the beach, within easy walking distance to dozens of restaurants and shops.

We also found the staff at Good Times very helpful and pleasant.

The one issue is that the the whole area is quite noisy at night and the bars around Good Times tend to have the music going until at least midnight. It didn't bother us, but if you are a very light sleeper or looking for complete solitude ... you might want to look elsewhere than Sairee Beach.

We would highly recommend it and stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicki180, Manager at Goodtime Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and we're very glad to hear you had a great time on your stay with us.
The location is superb for all there is to do in Sairee Beach and the most popular area for holiday makers visiting the island. July and August is a very busy period and the bars can be a little busier so granted a little louder, i'm glad this was not a problem for you.
Hope you had a pleasant journey home and we will see you all when you come back to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Goodtime Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodtime Beach Hotel

Address: Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goodtime Beach Hotel is centrally located on Sairee Beach, close to bars, restaurants and shopping areas. The hotel offers deluxe beachfront doubles, triples with a private balcony, AC and TV included. There are also roadside triples and quads with AC and TV, with all rooms on the second story. The hotel is in location with Goodtime Adventures, the beach cafe and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Goodtime Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodtime Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.