We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh pasta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farango Pizzeria

Farango Pizzeria
30/3 Moo 1 Hat Sairee, Ko Tao, Thailand
077456205
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 124 Restaurants in Ko Tao
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fresh pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I feel like this place gets a bad rap and I'm not sure why. The service is average but what can you expect from a western restaurant in Thailand. The food is really good though. The pasta is fresh and the sauces are completely homemade. The prices are pretty much the same as every other italian restaurant on the island. Good salads. Give it a freakin try!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    73
    32
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Amazing food nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We ate there 2 nights in a row and still wanted to try more. Especially can recommend the pasta dish that is baked in the put. Forgot the name but it has lots of cheese and some sort of italian sausage. The antipasti platter is also excellent and not too expensive.

Service can be a bit slow with misunderstandings due to language, but overall we loved it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A miss!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was a real let down after so many good places in Koh Tao. I was drawn to it as it had what looked like a serious pizza oven and you can see the chef make the pizzas. It all started well enough with a nice bruschetta. For the main course we had a pizza and Greek salad to share. The pizza was fairly bland and the base somewhat tough. The salad was anything but Greek (though it did have feta cheese). Both dishes really were tasteless. With so many other places on offer I can't imagine this place will do very well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Italian Restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you want a good pizza then dine here. Having toured Italy and eaten many pizzas there so I think I know what a good one is. You will not be disappointed

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A bit on the pricey side for the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

After two weeks of thai food we (the kids) wanted a change. This was a good option but more expensive than other restaurant, in fact our most expensive meal in Koh Tao.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farango Pizzeria also viewed

Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Farango Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farango Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.