We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damn good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gallery Restaurant

The Gallery Restaurant
10/29 Moo 1 Sairee Village, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
+66 77 456 547
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 115 Restaurants in Ko Tao
4.5 of 5 stars 572 Reviews
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Gourmet Thai restaurant with a view through The Photo Gallery. Beautiful, chic, cosy and personal. We serve a relaxed yet full menu at lunch from 12pm until 3pm. We open again at 5pm until 10pm for dinner. Authentic Thai food with true Thai flavour using only the freshest ingredients and the finest cuts of meat. We also have a fine selection of vegetarian dishes and an extensive wine and designer cocktail list. We offer you fine dining in a creative atmosphere providing the highest standards for a discerning clientele.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Damn good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

On a recommendation from the staff at The Place my wife and I decided to walk over and grab some food. The restaurant is inviting and service is on point. The food was everything promised on Tripadvisor. Its a tick more expensive than other spots in Koh Tao but the ambiance is worth it. I have VOWED to return for the wok fried pork belly!!!

The Gallery is a must in Koh Tao. It will not disappoint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for the review. We will be sure to have a plate of crispy pork ready for you. Really pleased that you enjoyed it so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    83
    23
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Koh Tao, Thailand
1 review
“great food, great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Its a great night everytime. Who doesnt want great food and service (even in thailand) at very reasonable prices.
i always bring dive students, friends and family to see chris and the guys, as their warmth and passion for food always make you feel welcome .

A constantly updated list of specials is always a good sign, but if they have the slow roasted massamum(peanut curry) make sure you try it!

Food will set you back approx 150 - 350 baht for a thai, 'fine dining' experience

If you make the trip you won't be disappointed
see you next time and thanks again chris.
paul

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thanks for the kind words, it's always a pleasure, come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ban Ko Tao, Chumphon, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

There are some really good restaurants on Koh Tao which I frequent and have my favorites, but at The Gallery, I simply had my best meal I have had in years. It was the the experience that Chris and Pu (the owners) have put together that made this such a pleasant evening for my girlfriend and I.

Let them recommend you the starters and main course as I really am not an expert in Thai food other than the standard fare you get in your average Thai restaurants scattered all over.

Its an absolute treat and once sufficient you can check out the photo gallery right next door which Chris has accumulated over the years.

Well done guys, this is something Koh Tao has lacked for years, a good upmarket Thai restaurant

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thanks Will for the terrific review, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food & Great customer service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Great food & great customer service. Loved my vegeterian fried rice & partner loved his penang curry. The gallery next door is also worth a look - amazing pictures of Koh Tao.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Glad you enjoyed it guys, thanks for the review. We are continuously working towards improving our selection of vegetarian and vegan meals. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Trip advisor works!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Not surprised the gallery is no 1 in Koh Tao in fact the most enjoyable meal in Thailand including Bangkok. Excellent , interesting combinations ,excellent wine and the best desserts!
To add to this a very special photo gallery linked to the restaurant-same owners.
Miss this place and you will be the poorer for it!

Gill

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and thanks for all your help. Was great to meet you both. Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gallery Restaurant also viewed

Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gallery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.