We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best thai food on island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gallery Restaurant

The Gallery Restaurant
10/29 Moo 1 Sairee Village, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
+66 77 456 547
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 124 Restaurants in Ko Tao
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gourmet Thai restaurant with a view through The Photo Gallery. Beautiful, chic, cosy and personal. We serve a relaxed yet full menu at lunch from 12pm until 4pm and we remain open all day until 10pm for dinner. Authentic Thai food with true Thai flavour using only the freshest ingredients and the finest cuts of meat. We also have a fine selection of vegetarian dishes and an extensive wine and designer cocktail list. We offer you a fine dining experience in a creative atmosphere providing the highest standards for a discerning clientele.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best thai food on island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

fantasic atmophere, up market in style, taste and service but not in price.lovely food, people and owners there all the time getting to know people.. fantastic definitely reccommend

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Such a lovely review, thanks so much for coming and we all hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    103
    30
    12
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our best restaurant-experince on Koh Thao”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a wonderful evening on The Gallery with nice thai food and wine! (which is almost impossible in Thailand..) The Naga Blend from Siam Winery was so good as Chris (the owner) told us. Well besides from the wine, the atmosphere was relaxing and romantic, and the food was a masterpiece. Chris told us the chef does what she does best and even he doesn't know all her secrets. You could taste real food made with love and passion. Just the way we love it! We had one starter to share, and then to main courses with fish each. Todays special is highly recommended. The prices was not bad either. Be aware that if you're many people in the company we believe its necessary with a reservation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for the review and all the good advice. We do always have a selection of specials that aren't always of the daily boards so please feel free to ask for advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Definitly a good adress on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good service, owner very kind and of good advice.
Environement not to noisy (which is a must on the island)
Excellent food.
Worth the price...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for your review, we hope to see you here again soon. As we are situated just outside the busiest area of Koh Tao's Sairee Beach, we do enjoy a great location as well as a bit more tranquility than some other areas, glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Thai food I had on my trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent quality of food and great service. Ask Chris (owner) for recommendations. Thai wine was good too.

Totally worth to go there, but book in advance the place is small.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your experience at The Gallery, and thanks for passing on the good advice, book in advance as we are only a small restaurant. Or come for lunch when it's usually fairly quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Probably the best thai-restaurant on Koh Tao.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent service, great food (where the chef goes the extra mile for you). Everything is supervised by Chris (the english patron) who really knowd how take care of the guests.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imagemarine, Owner at The Gallery Restaurant, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thanks for the feedback, very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gallery Restaurant also viewed

Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gallery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.