We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even bother!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Resort Koh Tao

Save Saved
You added Queen Resort Koh Tao to your Saves list
Queen Resort Koh Tao
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queen Resort Koh Tao
3, Moo 2, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 51 Ko Tao B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Don't even bother!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Me and my girlfriend started on our island hopping by staying here, as we are doing the whole backpacking experience we don't expect a lot with the accomodation on our budget. I think to expect it to be clean is a reasonable request! The room appears to of not been cleaned ever with layers of dirt and dust on the dilapidated furnishings, the bed. Sheets were covered in stains and hairs where it would seem the cleaner/maid had simply remade the bed from the previous occupants without changing them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you go to Koh Tao and looking for a cheap place to stay with a good location choose this resort. Just 10 minutes walk from the pier (it is quite important on Koh Tao where you are staying as for the taxi they charge you 100 baths for 1 km ! ). It is simple but clean, right on the beach and waves will wake you up in the morning. Owners cousin is renting scooters right next door for 150 baths per day so another good thing on that.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veghel, Nederland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Best price-quality in Koh Tao. I stayed here for three nights. One night in the family room, two nights in a two person bungalow. This bungalow i've got for 500B a night, on booking.com it was 800B, so if there are enough rooms free just go directly to the company.
The houses are all on the cliffs between the two main beaches. Its perfect for visiting the southern and northern areas of Ko Tao (all the restaurants, stores etc.).
I saw other bungalows in other resorts wich seposed to be better with prices up to 2,500B. You got exactly the same thing! Maybe there are walking some ants in the corner, but you are sitting in the middle of the bush! I cant understand why people always complain when they choose the cheapest accommodation. Believe me, I've seen a lot worse on Ko Tao for thousands of bahts more.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Booked this accommodation as there wasn't much left due to full moon party being on in Koh Phangan.
Surroundings could seriously do with an upgrade & there is no structured pathway to our bungalow, this wasn't ideal after a few beers!!

Overall nice place, clean enough (few bugs around & because room was made solely of wood there were plenty termites too) Also the open shower (no door/curtain or shower tray!) is very random and is located in the middle of the bathroom floor which obviously leaves the whole room soaking.
We were directly on the beach which can't be complained about.

However from walking around there are nicer places for the same or cheaper so probably wouldn't stay again unless we had to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This was the cheapest we paid for accommodation in Thailand over 6 weeks. You get what you pay for as in no AC but there were a number of fans in the room, no room cleaning or fresh towels over 4 days, we noticed ants in the bathroom at times etc. we did have a lovely sea view though and it's on the end of the beach closest to pier so away from the loud parties and they have a number of really cute dogs on the property. Be wary of sockets in the room, due to rain storm one night all electricity went in resort and blew fuses in my new $200 GHD and my boyfriends laptop charger neither of which work now.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The bungalow was spacious and had a good ocean view; I quite liked the balcony, and you got wind there at night, which helped to cool things down considerably. The fridge in the bungalow was also a plus. Not the greatest beach, very rocky and close to the pier. The rest of the resort looks rather rundown and random. I did find it a bit overpriced considering what you get.

Room Tip: Choose aircon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in a five bedroom villa for 5 nights. The villa was super cheap as we didn't have aircon but we each had a fan next to our beds so it was fine. We also had a huge balcony all to ourselves with a great view looking onto Sairee Beach. Perfect for a group as we spent some evenings drinking beer on the balcony before heading down the hill to the bars. The actual room was reasonably clean but there were quite a few bugs, understandable due to it being located in a bush. The lady who ran the resort was absolutely lovely and helped us out with anything we needed! It's a great cheap place to stay and you definitely get what you pay for. Would go back there again for sure, Koh Tao is an amazing place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Queen Resort Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Resort Koh Tao

Address: 3, Moo 2, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Queen Resort Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Resort Koh Tao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.