We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good chili con carne but otherwise norhing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant

Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant
14 Moo 2, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
0899884902
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 110 restaurants in Ko Tao
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Hamburgers, British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Live sports shown on 2 screens & a HD projector, it has huge screen & amazing picture quality. Recently opened in Central Mae Haad on Koh Tao, Reef Bar and Restaurant is a great place to meet friends, dine & socialize. Opening from 2pm - 11pm We have an 8ft pool table free for customers, 3 networks of free wifi, numerous board games & travel books.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good chili con carne but otherwise norhing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Went here to seek really good western food which is sometimes hard to find around. I ordered a burger that had a pretty ok chicken steak and mayo but overall it was a disappointment with its dry bun and tasteless veggies. My boyfriend ordered a jacket potato with chili con carne and it was decent, i'd go with some of the chili con carne-options if it came to eating there again.

Staff was almost rude, maybe just not talking english very well but anyhow they didn't smile or say hi or anything when we got there.

I'm not gonna say it's a bad place, but it's not the greatest. A bit more convincing western food that i'm used to around here but don't expect anything special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    59
    17
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Ate here twice throughout our stay in koh tao. Both were pleasant times with the sport being shown (even though we watched the same football match both times) and the Cosey feel reef has to it. My one objection is that on both occasions the waitresses did not even crack a smile and for me, this is very important. Apart from the staff being rather hostile, the food is pretty tasty and if you like sport it's the place for you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Food for a Small Island - Burger is BOMB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great meal! My boyfriend and I went here twice for dinner while we were on Koh Tao. It is located just up the street from the ferry. It's a small restaurant with wood tables, soccer games on a projection screen, and fans. Very chill atmosphere.

For dinner the first night, we shared Nachos with chili con carne, bbq chicken wings, and a tex-mex burger. WOW. Everything was delicious! The chili con carne is pretty great, can have it over chips (nachos), or rice, or even fries. And the burger..... OMG.... so bomb! The meat is juicy and the bun is flavorful.

The second night, we shared chili con carne over fries, potato skins, and chicken fajitas. This meal was AMAZING! Again, you can never go wrong with the chili con carne. And the fajitas were awesome! Great flavor. It comes with 3 tortillas, but with the amount of chicken they give you, we had to order 3 more :).

We DEFINITELY RECOMMEND this place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
“Excellent bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Excellent place to hang out and meet people! My favorite place to chill during our stay on the island. The staff is very friendly even though we were switching tables all the time. Good atmosphere, cool music and a free pool table. Also ate there plenty of times as we just did not want to leave the place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great bar ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

When I was in Tao I spent a lot off time in reef bar !! Great imported ciders such as Katie's lots off sport on and a great pool table! It's great place relax with friends!!

The menu good and I would recommend the bangers and mash and also the chilli !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.