We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montalay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Montalay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Montalay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
tarifa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Montalay is a wonderful hotel in everyway. The staff are so lovely & funny, brilliant service. The food is delicious including the amazing breakfast buffet. My room was comfortable with everything you need. The towels etc are changed everyday. I stayed for 18days & wish I'd stayed longer as I moved to a hotel for the same price on Koh Phangan which was shockingly bad, I then really realised what I was missing! When the snorkeling is good it really is the best. I will definitely go back one day. Oh and I had a really good oil massage too!u

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    142
    56
    15
    11
See reviews for
54
166
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in December 2013 and were a little bit nervous after reading previous reviews regarding the service. Thank goodness this was not the case, all the staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful, both while we were there and prior to staying via email. The hotel offers a free pick up service from the port and the return trip is a 100B per person.

The rooms were spotless and comfortable. There was complimentary shampoo, shower gel and daily bottles of water supplied. There is also a fridge in the room.

There was a good choice of food on the breakfast buffet. The resort is in a remote location, so you are restricted to the resort for most of your meals. This was not a problem for us as the food here was some of the best that we had in Thailand, especially the green curry snapper and the pad-thai. We thought the food was good value for money too.

This resort is all about chilling out and water sports, the restaurant closes at 9pm but there is a small beach bar.

Tanote Bay is stunning and the snorkelling here is amazing, you see a wide variety of tropical fish. Snorkelling equipment can be hired from the diving shop next to the resort very cheaply. The beach is not powder sand but slightly shingled. The only downside was that there was a little bit of rubbish on the beach, the couple of resorts on the bay could easily clean this on a daily basis.

Take plenty of insect repellent as there are loads around this resort.

I would come back to this resort and Tanote Bay, it was one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

A few notes :
Negative -
There is no phone to contact reception in the rooms ..strange
The Wi if was terrible , kept dropping out ( every min )
Most of the male staff were very nice but the woman staff were very grumpy and gave a bad vibe.
Restaurant was bit more expensive then the other ones on the beach.
In general it's a money sucking place with very little atmosphere .
Positive -
Rooms were as advertised
Location is good ( to the left is better thou )

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel has a great view, tanote bay is stunning. To the left of the beach there is a place you can get cheap massages and to the right Poseidon villas has a laid back bar. The hotel rooms were fine, clean and comfortable. The service wasn't great the staff looked quite miserable most times and proved to be really unhelpful on a number of occasions. Its true the road to get to the hotel is pretty rough which I didn't mind but it did cost 600 baht one way taxis charge this because the road is quite bad. It's quite far away from other places but if you want seclusion its fine. Unfortunately being on the west coast it was windy every morning so conditions were not good for snorkeling. Do not eat in the restaurant unless you really have to as food is below average, my pasta so salty I couldn't eat it. I had a fine stay but I wouldn't choose it again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days dec13. On arrival they had a free transfer from the boat to the hotel. Which was a welcome surprise. As it's 25 minutes with a lot of it off road driving.
Upon arrival the location was stunning, the check in staff were indifferent, almost to the point of rude. Following check in we went to our room, which was spotless and clean. The bathroom seemed to be recently graded and was nice.
Then to the restaurant. You are limited to where you can eat as of the lcoation.
Dinner is served between 7-9
Breakfast buffet 7:30-10:30

But the hotels menu has a great selection & the quality of the food was brilliant, the prices are a little
More than the rest of the island. But the service is poor. They cannot get the orders right. If you order 2 drinks and starters and mains. One will get their drink, then the other their starter, then the other starter while the other mains arrive, finally a drink & in the meantime they will send over someone's else's main course. This happened most
nights. Staff could not get it right even if you Pointed it out on the menu. Staff would hover beside your table Watching you eat until your fork hit the plate to take it. Not a smile to be had from them.
The dive school attached was keenly priced and the staff were excellent.
The pool was clean and had an amazing view. But the hotel has only a handful of chairs for the beach. So get down early to get one
If the staff were more welcoming and friendly, I would go back. But there is so many more places on the island that might provide a better service. The rooms have no a/c. But a roof fan does the job well.
Overall this hotel has all the right ingredients, stunning location, good menu & food, free wifi/sat tv, nice pool, clean modern rooms, but just the service let it down

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was the worst place where we had been in out 3 weeks in Thailand!
It is not good at all for families because it is too much up and down.we booke a bungalow and we got a room.the room was not bad indeed but that was the only good thing.The restaurant serves very bad food and the waiter is unpatient! I asked chicken with cashew nuts with no mushroom and he forgot.After my complaint he got upset!!the sea was so choppy so I asked the lady at the reception if it was better in the other side of the island.She said no but when we moved we realized she lied!the road to go there is ver very bad,the taxi from the hotel leaves only few times a day.Anyway after an argument at the reception we decided to check out.be careful when you pay the bill,they tried to cheat us making us pay also other people's orders!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sornkanok, General Manager at Montalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We're sorry to know that you had a very bad experience staying at Montalay. There was storm a few day in last 2 weeks which cause us big wave and heavy rain as you may observed. However, this effect the whole island - not only our area. Usually, our bay (Tanote bay) is one of the most beautiful diving spot in koh tao. It is possible that the day you move to another side, might be the day that storm went away.

Hotel provide taxi services 4 times/day, however it can be requested on demand base on its availability. For those mistakes about food and bill, we're sincerely sorry and apologize for your inconvenient. We'll try our best to improve service quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Everything about the place is pretty good for what you pay for. It was nice being on the other side of the island. The beach is nice and the rooms are clean, with high ceilings and a nice balcony. Its just such a shame that the staff there do not reflect the hotel. There was one guy working in the restaurant called "Jet" who is from the Philippines who was lovely and always smiling, and was the one exception. The rest looked completely put out, grumpy and looked very unhappy to be working there. Especially one older guy. I'm sorry but I work in customer service as well and it's just not OK to be like this. Whatever there problem is it really lets the hotel down, which is such a shame. You would think that it wouldn't matter so much what the staff are like when you're away on holiday, however I was travelling alone and I spent time in 3 hotels on my trip and it really does effect the way you feel. They were very unwelcoming and just seemed like you were kind of annoying them. I'm speaking about the people at front desk and in the restaurant. Not sure about the rest. So...to sum things up, I wouldn't return on the above basis.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sornkanok, General Manager at Montalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're so sorry to hear that our staff gave you an inappropriate service. We'll try our best to improve our service quality and hopefully we may welcome you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montalay Beach Resort

Address: 53 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montalay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montalay Beach Resort is a small to medium size hotel, locate in the eastern part of Koh Tao (Turtle Island) called "Ao Tanote". It is a beautiful secluded bay and is a great place for snorkeling and diving. Ideal for families with children or couples to chill and relax. All rooms, cottages and suites are close to the beach and nestled amongst the trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Montalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montalay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.