We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but isolated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montalay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Montalay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Montalay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful but isolated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This resort features very modern rooms with an attention to detail. The grounds are beautifully manicured, but it a far (and bumpy!) drive from the main town.

Pros:
-beautiful room
-modern bathroom: rainfall shower, American toilet, etc.
-stunning view
-great snorkeling north of here (nang yua)

Cons:
-no AC, so we didn't sleep well
-staff weren't that friendly
-food was relatively expensive and there's nowhere nearby to eat
-beach is rocky and has intense waves constantly crashing. Beautiful, but not fit for swimming
-breakfast buffet was not refreshed enough, so the eggs were cold (ew!)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    142
    56
    15
    11
See reviews for
54
166
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The room was lovely. It had a luxurious feel to it. Although we had a fan room, with the doors open (mosquito nets cover the doors), it was breezy and cool. Large comfortable bed, great bathroom and shower and a sea view from a very large balcony. Our only complaint was the wi-fi - it was almost non-existent in our room. We paid 1500 baht per night through booking.com

They did not offer a transfer service early morning for the 6am ferry, so we had to book a night back at the pier.

The food in the restaurant was very expensive compared to the rest of the island. A buffet breakfast was 200 baht per person. I would not recommend Posiedon Restaurant at the other end of the beach - terrible food. Diamond Resort was the best of a bad bunch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

In general a Nice hotel with very child friendly staff. We travelled with 3 small kids and it World out very well also with the baby pool. Beach is not good for children - its wavy and deep. Unfortunately One guy at the reception desk, managed to upset us several times because of his lack of Communication skills and for being rude no matter what you afsked him. We spoke to plenty of guests who all had bad Experience with him!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the main hotel complex.

+ points
Pier pick up was efficient (amid the chaos and taxi touts)
Very well maintained hotel entrance/grounds.
Room is very spacious and clean with decent furnishing (inc kettle, huge plasma tv and fridge) plus a large modern bathroom
Bed was very comfortable. Daily maid service with clean towels.
Adjustable Air con and fan was very efficient and quiet too
Very nice infinity pool.
Restaurant foods was good quality and tasty (pricey compared to restaurants in main resorts like Sairee. Breakfast is good (choice of noodles, rice, omelette, pancake, cereal, yogurt, eggs, frankfurters, various fresh fruits) except the coffee which was dire!
Cool beach front bar which open in the evening.
Located in a quietish bay with good snorkelling just off the beach


- points
Communication with the restaurant staffs was difficult (if the hotel service English speaking guests, I expect the staffs to speak English).
Chairs are provided by the pool and beach front, but no sun lounges.
Transfer to / from hotel is on a very rugged road sitting on the back of an uncomfortable pick up.
No safe in the room.
All the hotel rooms have a sea view balcony, but sadly the views are blocked by huge trees.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay despite the minor issues reported above.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Thought this would be well out of our budget but got a really nice bungalow for 600baht. Tea and coffee in room. All really clean and professional. Free transfer from the pier. The resort is located in a nice quietish bay on the east of the island, the snorkelling and swimming is really good. Beach is fairly nice. Food is okay but expensive but you can walk up the road to a lovely local woman cooking up authentic Thai food at a fraction of the price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Free transfer from pier on the back of a ute (terrifying - hold on for your life!!) but after that the hotel did not fail to please. Rooms were gorgeous and looked brand new, restaurant food was delicious and reasonably priced, staff were so helpful. Location is right on a quiet little beach so we spent several days sitting by the pool, dashing down to the beach for a swim and downing ice coffee and beers from reception that they keep bringing down and just charge to your room. So convenient! If you get bored of the hotel restaurant there are 4 or 5 others along the beach, all excellent and cheap. There's also a darling little cocktail bar that opens at night just at the steps to the beach where you can sit on the sand and watch the stars. All up our 5 days were not enough! Also we recommend the whole day snorkel tour. Heaps of fun.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had fairly high expectations from the Montalay Resort before we arrived. Unfortunately despite requesting a quiet room they stuck us in the slightly odd an uncharismatic apartment block opposite the laundry/maid congregation area so we were woken by chattering at 7 a.m. After complaining about this they moved us to one of the bungalows which was much better and far quieter (great service here).

We ate only once at the restaurant which proved to be very average and overpriced so ventured out to the restaurant and bar at the southern end of the beach. We loved the little bar there and the owner was fantastic, Poseidon restaurant was reasonable but service sporadic and bizarre to say the least. Service at the Montalay was generally sporadic with reception not really understanding the concept of phoning to make a restaurant reservation for us elsewhere.

This part of the island is so remote you need to hire a motorbike to get anywhere which we unfortunately did at Lederhosenland Bikes. If you are going to hire a bike swerve this company as they unfortunately ripped me off with 'a repair bill for damage' which was a virtually unnoticeable scratch on the front mud guard (plus same for two other people at the time of returning my bike).

I also used the dive school next door (Calypso) who were absolutely brilliant and professional and avoided the Montalay dive school. There are some great restaurant on the island, namely Eagle View near Shark Bay which was fantastic and Barracuda and The Gallery in Sairee. Overall I probably would not stay here again as slightly too remote and Koh Tao has been unfortunately the sea has been overfished (you see more sharks on ice for the tourists than in the water) and land over developed for us.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the apartments and definetly not near the laundry rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Montalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montalay Beach Resort

Address: 53 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montalay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montalay Beach Resort is a small to medium size hotel, locate in the eastern part of Koh Tao (Turtle Island) called "Ao Tanote". It is a beautiful secluded bay and is a great place for snorkeling and diving. Ideal for families with children or couples to chill and relax. All rooms, cottages and suites are close to the beach and nestled amongst the trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Montalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montalay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.