We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for break!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montalay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Montalay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Montalay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good for break!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I was there 2 nights for a short break. The way to get to the resort it was really amazing road with exciting experience. But when you get to the resort so cool....Basic all facilities were there for you. There are room as building and private villa. The room condition was great fan or AC on request dealing with the price. Staffs were friendly. Snorkeling was just 5 steps walk from beach to the ocean and you could see that is amazing fishes underwater. It is similar to Maldives whereas you can see the fishes underwater but only sand was coarse. Try to walk up early you can see good view sunrise . Food was nice try steam fish with lemon sauce. There was chill out bar in the night as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    125
    47
    13
    11
See reviews for
46
142
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights. It is located in Tanote Bay which was quite a trip to get there but they have shuttles to pick you up and drop you off (for 100 Baht) at the harbour. The bay is shared by 5 hotels and it was very peaceful and quiet.

The rooms were pretty basic, we've had better for less money. Still, it served its purpose and we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Also the prices for foods and drinks are a little higher than on the mainland. We ate in the Hotel restaurant the first night and it was fantastic! One of the best meals I've had in my 4 week trip to Thailand and worth every penny. The other nights we tried the restaurants from the other hotels which were a lot cheaper but not as good. We had breakfast included and it was yummy and very big portions.

The reason why we chose this hotel is because people said that the snorkeling was great. They were right. We've been snorkeling in Australia and Egypt before. The corals weren't as colorful but the fishes were and there were plenty of them. Also: We saw a big stingray (which scared the crap out of us) and a huge turtle which playfully swam around us for at long time. You might want to get there a little earlier before it gets too crowded and scares the turtles and stingrays away. So for us it was a very good trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My Husband and I stayed 5 nights in this Resort because we booked it through agoda in advance.
First off all, in our Jungle cottage was a permanent stench of sewage water 24 hours a day noticeable. We told the reception 3! times, nothing happend. They offerd us to upgrade to an a/c room in the new hotel building near the road. But we didn't come half around the world to stay at a beautifull and quiet beach, to end up in concrete palace, with windows facing away from the beach towards the dirt road in front. Plus we did not plan on spending all in a sudden 3 times as much as we planed on something we don't even want. So we stayed where we were. All together we have to say that in our opinion, and we were not the only ones, the big hotel buildings and the futuristic looking dive school in the resort did not quite fit in with the rest of the bays natural look. The prices in the resorts own resaurant are another thing which we did not like. At least twice as expensive compared to other resaurants in the bay, but unfortunatly not even as good. We had one breakfast and one dinner there, and the rest of the time we went somewhere else (Poseidon, Family Resort, Diamond). Last but not least, the dive boat of the Resort is parked right in front of the beach, and the engines are on most of the time out of some reason. We did not even bother going to the reception again to complain, because the were already looking at us strange. So we deatl with the permanent irritating background accustic as we tried to relax on the beach, which was really annoying. Bottom line, the bay is beautiful and there is lots to see in the water around and the tropical garden in the resort is very nice, thats why we gave 2 points. But next time we would definitely stay somewhere else, since there are apparently enough other options in Tanote Bay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sornkanok, Manager at Montalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we're so sorry to heard that your experience was not yet satisfied as it should be, however it is important to note that we couldn't found any record of your stay as Agoda's guest. According to our database, we don't have any 4-5 nights reservation from Agoda happened in April 2012 (during ur stay). But we would be more than willing to clarify every comments:

Cottage Room - Since we can't find your record so this is quite difficult for us to improve in specific room but we plan to have big maintenance schedule in May 2012 which should cover all your concern.

Restaurant - we sincerely accept that our price is higher than the other restaurants on the bay but we offer the better food quality and the better ingredients. As well, our price is not much different from the other quality restaurant on the island.

Thank you for your compliment about our garden and the beauty of the beach. Anyway, please allow us to serve you as our guests once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

Really nice beach. Not so much people.
Very good restoran!
Good diving instrukters, for the same price like at sari beach, but not so many people in dive group.

Not well clean rooms, but it really difficult to keap white flore. Bathroom is very good!
Free wifi.

Very difficult to get sari beach where is situated all restorans, bars and shops. The taxi cost 150BHT per person one way.

So I would recommend this hotel ho whont to stay in quiet place. If you need to have fun go to sari beach.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

After a very hardcore backpacking trip to Burma, all we wanted to do is chill out and lay back in slightly more comfortable accommodations. So we chose Montalay resort based on Trip Advisor ratings and I can definitely say we were not sorry. We only booked two nights and we thought it might be too quiet and we were then planning to go to Sairee beach for a bit more action. But after spending the first night there, we decided that it was the only place to be for us and we booked the rest of our stay there.
We were a bit put off by the 'resort' label, as we were fearing the plagues of mass tourism. But far from it, Montalay has quite a lot of character, but is also modern and full of all the necessary conveniences.
Before I go on to ammenities and accomodation, as special mention mut be made for the staff. Everyone was very helpful, friendly and always going out of their way to make your stay as nice as possible.
We stayed in the main building, a very nice room, quite spacious, with a balcony and a good sized bathroom. It had a tv, fan, though there was central aircon, we never used it. The bed was huge and there was also plenty of storage space. We had tea and coffee facilities as well as a mini fridge.
The restaurant was fantastic, incredible food, you could really tell the label 'fine dining' is well deserved. We pretty much worked through the whole menu during our stay and there wasn't anything I didn't like, both thai and european. The pad-thai was as good as the street food in Bangkok, albeit 3 times more expensive. We initially felt it was on the pricey side, but after comparing with the other restaurants in Tanote Bay and the main town, we realised that probably the prices on the insland are higher than on the mainland.
The beach in Tanote bay is not brilliant, it has to be said, the sand is quite coarse, but the snorkling is indeed amazing. It had rained the day before we got there, so the water was not the clearest, but it did get better in the next few days.
To be noted that Tanote Bay, where the hotel is situated, is on the east side of the island, quite remote. It takes 20 mins on a very bumpy road. You can rent a scooter or get a cab from the hotel to get into town, but we never really felt the need to leave. There are no shops in the bay, but you can purchase water and soft drinks for the hotel. Anything else, you should bring with you from the main town. Evening entertainment is quite sparse, there are a few other restaurants in the bay, but no clubs (thankfully) or bars.
As other travellers mentioned, there was a bit of construction still going on, mostly landscaping though, so not very noisy. It didn't really bother us.
You can rent snorkling equipment from the scuba centre in the hotel and also get lessons for PADI certification. You can also book a boat trip around the island in the hotel. We did a bit of comparison and the prices were all the same, so no point going to book a trip in town, the boats and the fares are all the same. Would recommend to get the day trip instead of the half day one, as it includes a stop to Ko Yuan Nguyen, which is amazing, absolutely picture perfect cystal clear waters and great snorkling.
The only minus that annoyed us a bit was that when we left, we had to pay for the cab (100B each) instead of it being complementary from the hotel, as it was when we arrived.
All in all, if you are looking for a chilled couple of days, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninh binh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stunning place, really good service, nice staff.

Didn't bother us, but currently building work there as not completely finished (ie, don't book there if that puts you off as there is noise)

Rooms were very clean and spacious, comfy. The finishings weren't 100% perfect, but again that didn't bother us. air con only from 6pm-6am (again no problem for us but others it may bother)

Unfortunately we had rain/pure cloud the whole time we were there.... but if it hadn't of been we would have taken use of the private beach and pool (gorgeous). Instead we made use of relaxing in the room, going out on the bike.

My boyfriend is fine riding a scooter so we got about easily, but it is out the way and a difficult bumpy track with uphills and down hills. So, if you don't want too much seclusion, then don't book there if you aren't confident on a bike. You can get a taxi service from the hotel but they only go at certain times and they do charge (other resorts have free taxi's)

If you get breakfast included you're in luck, really good.

Had a christmas party on xmas eve and were told it was free food for guests. but, it wasn't free...... we had to buy a t-shirt to attend that cose 250 Baht each. It was well worth it (buffet amazing) but we were a bit confused as to why they advertised and told us it was free!!

great place if you're not fussed about the little downfalls. best for couples who are happy riding scooters in my opinion, or family's who want to relax on the beach pool.

Definitely worth it and would love the budget to stay in that room again!! (stayed in a superior room with sea view, though trees in the way!!)

Enjoy :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Located across the island of Koh Tao, on the beach of Tanote Bay Montalay beach is a nice secluded resort. The beach is really nice and the pool which over looks the beach is great. Due to the fact that you are secluded on this side of the island it is expensive; well for backpackers. Restuarant menu was very small and expensive at least $6 a meal at the bare minimum. Now dont get me wrong the food is good. Our 1000 Baht bungalow was nice comfy bed, bathroom,fan and flatscreen. However, we seemed to be sharing our temerorary residence with one rarer gecko. The tokay gecko is the biggest gecko in thailand and he played residence onto of our bathroom mirror and beside the air con. Now due to the fact that the have an odd mating call, ablitity to bite and not let go and ugly appearance, he had me a little intimiated and often left a little uncomfortable to go into the bathroom. But that was just our experience with the gecko.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Montalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montalay Beach Resort

Address: 53 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montalay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montalay Beach Resort is a small to medium size hotel, locate in the eastern part of Koh Tao (Turtle Island) called "Ao Tanote". It is a beautiful secluded bay and is a great place for snorkeling and diving. Ideal for families with children or couples to chill and relax. All rooms, cottages and suites are close to the beach and nestled amongst the trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montalay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.