We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for lazy people…but worth the effort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort to your Saves list
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   26/20 Moo 3, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not for lazy people…but worth the effort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We loved this place and the million stairs to and from the pool or beach… but we enjoy a walk! It’s a great private location with a great team working there. We liked the food and breakfast was just perfect. We normally stay in more rustic places in Thailand but we discovered this resort to be so comfortable and with such great views. The normal Thai huts that we book are full of insects and the wood normally has a bad smell but this place is new, modern and fresh. The sunbeds on balconies are just perfect. The sunsets here are like nowhere in the world. This time of the year the resort was very quiet which was perfect for us. We used the shuttle from hotel to go to the pier and just walked from there to Sairee where the action is. We did not enjoy it that much so we preferred to stay on this part of the island better.
Speak to reception for suggestions on trips and to find out what the best beaches in Koh Tao are. They are always happy to help.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Lechat,

Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle Koh Tao.
What a great review! Thank you very much for taking the time to recommend us to other travelers. We are thrilled to see how much you have enjoyed your stay here.
We are looking forward in welcoming again soon.

Thank you
Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    56
    21
    15
    13
See reviews for
26
133
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Elstree, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Sensational location, Spectacular scenery, Beautifully designed bungalows, Magnificent pool, Lovely reasonably priced food.
I liked the pool which was big and well maintained. The staff were friendly. You definitely need a bike or quad to travel around easily. The resort is very private with its own little beach which is cleaned every morning. A pretty decent array of breakfast choices. The one guy at reception is very helpful. Over the first few days, we went around looking at other resorts and in the end, found the privacy and beauty of Pinnacle a plus.
Must see Sai Nuan beach close by! Chalok is 15 min from hotel and has awesome beach bars...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Andrew,
Thank you for choosing Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort for your stay on Koh Tao.
We are thrilled to see you have enjoyed the resort so much and had such a wonderful stay here. Our private location is indeed a plus or a minus depending on each guest's expectations and preference for holidays. We are happy that you discovered the benefits of it.
Thank you again for your kind words and we do hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The view from our terrace was great but that was the main positive point. Rooms also were clean and breakfast was ok. The main problem was that to access the beach or the pool you had to use very long and very steep stairs. Also to get access to the closest villages you either had to walk for 20 mins (not great at night) or to take a cab. We thought it was dangerous to get to the hotel by motorbike as the road was very steep and we decided not to rent one. In addition to this, the staff was not helpful in advising on on trips / transportations / car rentals. Last but not least the resort was way to quite at night with nothing to do. We had dinner one night at the restaurant and it was only us. All the other nights we preferred to go somewhere else

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Matteo,
Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort.
Thank you for your comments and we are happy to see that you were satisfied with the essential services of our hotel:clean room and breakfast and of course the amazing view. In terms of location, there is no secret we are situated on a steep hill and this is how we get our amazing sea views. For this reason there is also a bit of a walk to go down to the beach. Many of our guests choose us because it is a quiet, relaxing place and the reason you were alone in the restaurant for dinner was because October and November are considered low season months in Koh Tao and do not attract that many tourists. Many of our guests hire ATVs to cruise the island as that is a safer way as most of the roads on the island are challenging steep like that.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Pinnacle for 3 nights.
Location it's a bit difficult to reach, actually we suggest to rent a 125 scooter otherwise it could be a problem for you.
Rooms are full optional with a beautiful terrace and really clean.
If you wanna eat in restaurant, change your mind... It is not a good idea! Food is not the best and restaurant closes too early! The swimming pool is good with solarium.
We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Barbara,
Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and our swimming pool. We are sorry to hear that the food was not to your liking. We offer a selection of the most popular international dishes together with a wide choice of Thai meals. The restaurant closes at 22:00pm like everywhere on the island. Only beach bars are open later than that in Koh Tao. We are working on our menu and trying to update it constantly so hopefully next time you come you will review our food in a positive way.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you
Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This place was wonderful. We stayed in this idyllic setting in a private bungalow which was basically the height of luxury. We went snorkelling in the quiet little beaches that are very nearby (you can hire kayaks as well) and the pool was great. Breakfast buffet was good and the meal we had at their restaurant was high quality and not too pricey. And we highly recommend the short walk into Chalok Bay. Great service from the staff.

Only slight negatives - be prepared for a bit of sweaty hill walking around the resort (or just phone reception for a golf cart); the journey there from the pier is very hilly so it's quite a bumpy (but fun!) ride; the cocktail waiters didn't seem to know how to make a Bloody Mary (but this just provided a lot of amusement).

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Joseph,
Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort and for your great comments.
It is great to see you have enjoyed your holiday here and rest assured that our bartender knows now how to make a delicious Bloody Mary.
We are looking forward in welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

To start, it this resort has stunning views and is in a very quiet, remote area. It is about a 10 minute drive to the main port/town of Ko Tao, costing about 400 baht to get here, 300 at a push! If you are looking for a lively experience, you will have to head into town. When we were there, (July 2013) the bar/restaurant was closed by 11, 12.
The food in the restaurant was of an excellent standard but obviously a bit more expensive than restaurants in the main town. The resort offers free shuttles to the town a few times a day. The staff were very friendly. At check in we were greeted with juice and our luggage was brought to our rooms.DVDs can be rented for free from reception also. There is a shop on the same grounds as the resort they also do a very reasonable launderette service.
The complex is on a steep hill and can be very tiring climbing to and from the pool or beach for example. However you could ring reception if you wanted, and a guy in a little golf cart would collect you and drive you where ever you needed to go in the complex! The rooms are of a high quality with huge showers! The pool area is paradise, free towels provided.

We decided to do scuba diving for one day. We priced the the scuba club at the resort, but was a little more expensive that scuba schools in town. We headed into town and had a great day out scuba diving. We booked the day before. We went with Scuba Planet. They were friendly and felt very safe through out. We did get massages on the resort site which were very good.
Overall the pinnavle is a complex of very high quality with very friendly staff!

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Meirtneach,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great and informative review on our resort.
It is great to hear that you had a superb stay with us. Thank you for your comments on the food and all the services that we provide.
We are looking forward in welcoming you again in the near future.

Thank you
Best regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I came over to Kph Tao right after partying hard during the full moon party in Koh Phangan. We had a very warm welcome by the staffs of this hotel. They are very friendly and always helpful. The room was beautiful and clean. It was very relaxing with a good view from this hotel. Considering this hotel is at the top of the hill, the hotel provides shuttles services which makes life easier for people to travel. The sea is beautiful and snorkeling was great. My friends and I enjoyed the stay here. Definitely I would recommend this place for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels-Resorts P, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sudhasen,
Thank you for your stay at Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort.
Like many of our guests you made the right choice after the Full Moon party. There is no better place on Koh Tao to rest and relax after partying. The location and atmosphere here are perfect for that.
Thank you for the great review and please do come again.

Best Regards,
Joanna
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort

Address: 26/20 Moo 3, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort provides an island escape for the true leisure traveler and dive aficionado. Spend your days exploring the beautiful world underwater either snorkeling, or diving with our state-of-the-art dive school located within the Resort premises. Watch a spectacular sundown from the lounge bed on your room balcony, each of which provides unblocked panoramic view of the Gulf of Thailand. Our resort is located on the hidden-away June Jeau Beach and features Restaurant, Bar, BBQ Terrace and Pool, allowing you to experience true relaxation under the world famous Thai hospitality. Should you wish to explore the nightlife of Koh Tao, we offer a free drop-off service to the pier every evening. We also provide a golf cart shuttle service within the resort. All our rooms are fully equipped with mini bar, LCD flat screen television, refrigerator and air conditioning. We also offer room service and tours. Guests will find that this service-oriented resort with superb facilities and amenities provides excellent value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinnacle Koh Tao Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.