We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get on the Veggie Burger” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hippo Bar & Grill

Hippo Bar & Grill
Sairee Village, Ko Tao 84380, Thailand
+66 085226 2648
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 115 Restaurants in Ko Tao
Cuisines: Asian, Steakhouse, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Hippo is a friendly bar and grill, popular with local ex-pats and tourists. Open for 2 years now it's own by Thai and UK partners. we specialise in steaks and burgers but have many dishes from salads to Thai curries. good music, pool table and outdoor dining. great milkshakes and mojitos too.
Ko Tao, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Get on the Veggie Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Nice atmosphere and pool table. I return for the veg. burger on a regular basis. Very delicious. Great salads as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    64
    22
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Decent solid western fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The food was great - good steaks and the like. Decent mojitos and prices but my only downside was that the staff were a bit to keen to get rid of us it felt! This was despite it being early in the evening...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but nice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We paid 800Baht for 2 meals, by far the most expensive place we ate, food was up to scratch but was just like 'pub grub' from home, even expensive for western food in my eyes. :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good beef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had happy hour offer steak and wine. Food was excellent. Also Hippo shakes are good value for money. Raspberry shake was little bit too sweet for our taste but still pretty good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Love the spicy seafood dishes. They do takeaways, which is handy if you have a morning dive and want an early night. Really good value and very good food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippo Bar & Grill also viewed

Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Hippo Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippo Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.