We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bello Bistro

Porto Bello Bistro
Sairee Village, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand
+66(0)77 457029
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 115 Restaurants in Ko Tao
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Nice place in heart of koh tao,food was really good and service was exelent,really worth visit and have night out with good food.i had pasta and i was really pleased for the taste.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    75
    30
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great tagliatelle made from scratch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

During our stay on Koh Tao we ate at Porto Bello twice. Having spent a good deal of time travelling in Italy, we were very impressed with the quality and taste of Porto Bello's homemade pasta (tagliatelle and goat cheese ravioli). Both the pasta and the sauces coming with it were tasty, rich and flavorful. The garlic bread and pizza margherita were outstanding as well, especially taking into account the usual quality of Italian food in Thailand. We would recommend all these dishes with no reservations. The prices we found to be reasonable as well.
However, and this is why we deducted one star from our rating, we were not at all impressed by their Tiramisu and also found that, especially considering the high level of the kitchen, Porto Bello only offered one red wine from Italy. That wine was great with the meals mentioned above, but we would have wished to find more of a selection to choose from on the drink menu. A word on the Tiramisu: Appearance and texture were both okay, yet what was supposed to be mascarpone cream tasted like cream cheese.
Service was excellent and we can absolutely recommend their homemade pasta, garlic bread, and pizza.
We encourage Porto Bello to rework their Tiramisu recipe and to offer two or three red wines from Italy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expensive and average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This place looks very nice, both from the outside and the inside, probably the best thing about it to be honest. The service wasn't great and the food was just average. Not bad, but not great either. Quite expensive for average food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Excellent italian restaurant, we had a pizza and a pasta both very good
Service was very good as well and fare prices

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Really nice restaurant always busy with a good atmosphere. Pizza, pasta, calzone all good. The salmon is delicious and the house red is nice.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Bello Bistro also viewed

Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Porto Bello Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bello Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.