We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Koh Tao” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barracuda Restaurant & Bar

Barracuda Restaurant & Bar
9/9 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
+66 80 146 3267
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 124 Restaurants in Ko Tao
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the centre of Sairee Beach, Barracuda is a laid back and stylish dining alternative. Specialising in a large selection of seafood and Thai style fusion dishes. Within our extensive menu you are bound to find something to suit all tastes. After training as a Chef at, English's Seafood Restaurant and Oyster Bar in Brighton, straight from school in 1998, Ed moved to Koh Tao in February 2007, where he has since been working as a chef at various locations around the island. Ed had developed his menus using feedback he has received from his customers since he opened, Barracuda, in July 2010. With his latest menus, Ed has started to introduce the "Thai Fusion" range of dishes to suit all tastes, these are proving to be extremely popular with the locals and tourists alike.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Koh Tao”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The food is amazing.
It's the best restaurant I did during all my trip in Thailand. The menu is divine and it's very hard to choose as everything sounds so delicious.... and it is!
Products are very fresh and combined with herbs and spices in such a great way.
The wine is very good.

It's also one of the most expensive restaurant in Koh Tao but in terms of food there is no comparaison. And come on, it's still nothing compared to the same quality in Europe or in the US (it would be at least a 60€ bill per person).

Be sure to book a table as it's very small and everyone wants a table!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    181
    57
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We tried fish cakes and tuna sashimi for starters and both were delicious. For mains we had tuna with couscous and barracuda with roast potatoes, very tasty. I recommend this restaurant, but note that isn't cheap compared to other Koh Tao restaurants. However, you pay for quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good food but hot temperature”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is a nice and small restaurant, speciality sea food.
Food: good
Price: in line with the quality of food and location style.
Service: good

Problem is that inside it gets really hot even with the air fans you can suffer the heat.

Anyway, absolutely Is a place to be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We dined here with a large group of friends and the whole experience was fantastic. The staff were attentive and quick. I ordered the tuna sashimi to start with and it was delicious. The dressing was really flavoursome. For a main I had the pan fired barracuda and again the quality was the best on the island. The fish was cooked perfectly and the flavours were amazing. After this I was stuffed, the servicing are very generous indeed. If you go to Ko Tao you need to eat here at least once.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

There are no shortage of places to eat in around Sairee Beach, with the quality of food on offer ranging from the exceptionally good to the exceptionally bad - as the reviews of other places we visited during our week in Koh Tao amply demonstrate.

But so impressed were we with our first experience of the Barracuda Restaurant that we made a point of booking a table for our last night on the island, and the experience certainly didn't disappoint second time round.

The restaurant is fitted out more as a bistro than the open 'diner' lay-outs of many of the other nearby eateries, which - taken with the professionalism and attentiveness of the mainly local staff - all contribute to a great atmosphere from the moment you arrive.

While there are probably only a dozen or more tables - so you'd be advised to book in advance for that reason and the clear popularity of the establishment - maintaining the exceptional quality of food we saw across a varied menu must still be a challenge. If so, it is one which the Barracuda seems to take in its stride. Portions are generous and the seafood dishes in particular are cooked and presented beautifully and as the name would suggest seem to be something of a speciality of the house.

Whether fried barracuda, goat's cheese bruschetta, salt and pepper squid or crispy duck, every dish was spot on, at prices which were a steal.

The restaurant also has a good (and again reasonably-priced) wine list - on both evenings we had a lovely chilled Pinot Noir, which complemented our chosen dishes excellently. We didn't ourselves try the cocktail list, but it too looked a cut above the standard menu found elsewhere.

The Barracuda seems to have a growing reputation for quality amongst those familiar with Koh To a - on the basis of our experience it seems to be one which is well-deserved.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barracuda Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Barracuda Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barracuda Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.