We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Special... luxurious tropical resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Save Saved
You added Aminjirah Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aminjirah Resort
16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 82480, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Bonus Nights
Ranked #18 of 46 hotels in Ko Tao
manila
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Something Special... luxurious tropical resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Ended up staying in Aminjirah quite by chance, and was lucky enough to get a booking at the last minute, having stayed in Koh Tao was familiar with the location but had never stayed there.
The only single downside was in trying to get transport from the pier as the local taxi drivers seemed a little confused as there are several resorts with quite similar names it transpires, although this can be avoided entirely if unlike us you actually arrange pick-up with the resort...
The room we got was large and very comfortable for us and a child with plenty of room nice big tv with cable, all in all very luxurious...
We had a pool by our room, but the real treat is the big infinity pool, which has an absolutely killer view, (as it seems has been picked up on by a few other reviewers).
Ko tao is a very special island and has a real nature feel about it, staying at Aminjirah really enhanced that aspect lovely tropical gardens and some of the most outrageous frog chorus we have ever heard in the evening, we even had some kind of flying frog on our room window one night, this really feels like a tropical resort!
From the hotel it is a short walk to the nicest part of the Sairee Beach, although it can prove hard to drag yourself away from lounging around the clifftop pool. handily there is a shuttle service provided to Sairee as well at several convenient times during the day when you feel too lazy to walk. For me this location could not be better.
We hired a motorbike from the rental place directly outside Aminjirah resort, and can report that it is very good, excellent brand new bike, which is good to have when exploring the steep hills of koh tao.
Apparently the resort is often full so we were lucky to get in there it seems, an amazing base for staying in ko tao. would love to stay again some day!
As a tip if you want to visit Nangyuan it seems you can get there for around 150 baht per person from the longtail taxis... this can be negotiated down, with difficulty, they will try to insist you need them for the journey back which is nonsense, we got back for 300 baht for 3 persons.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    85
    32
    17
    12
See reviews for
48
231
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Splashed out a bit to stay in a beautiful suite for 2 nights in beginning of september and it was worth every dime. View cannot be compared to anywhere we have stayed in Asia and the suite was amazing with lots of space and a lot of attention to detail. Service was great with free shuttle a couple of times a day and free transfer on departure. Restaurant was excellent if possible a little pricey, but worth it for the view alone. There is no question at all, that we will be back next time we have a chance to visit Koh Tao !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stary Krym, Ukraine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a wonderful time here, and I think we are coming back again in a few months! That's how much we love this place. My boyfriend and I went here for a short getaway, like maybe 3 days just to unwind and to make up for lost time, since we were busy in the past few months. We forgot about everything when we were here -- it was so relaxing and peaceful, it was more like a spiritual journey for us. The natural background setting made it perfect for romantic dinners, for breakfast in bed, afternoon tea and swimming and everything else in between.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Aminjirah was an absolute delight! We stayed earlier in the year but just now took the time write a review. Basically we moved from another resort on the island due to a less than satisfactory experience! And what a difference.

PROS

- Stunning view
- Stunning pool
- Stunning suite (sunset dream)
- Stunning staff (service - but not bad looking)
- Stunning food

CONS

- A moped is good if you can't make do with the free shuttle or don't want to pay for taxis
- Frogs (it had been raining and they got fairly loud at night - but that's probably the whole island for you)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hi everyone! I just wanted to give my two cents on this lovely resort in koh tao. Stayed there for 5 days in a royal ocean view with breakfast included and immensely. The pools were absolutely amazing and when the "view" pool was a bit busy at times or the sun too strong in the afternoon, we had a dip in the smaller pool in the middle of the resort.

The restaurant is low key but food is very good and we enjoyed the selection available in the morning (4 choices) and they also allowed us to order equivalent cost a la carte from the menu.

What it all boils down to is a beautiful small resort with amazing rooms, amazing views and friendly staff at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Felt obliged to sign up for tripadvisor to post a review of this fantastic property I happened to stumble upon while diving in Koh Tao. Went there for a couple of cocktails with friends as I already had basic accommodation through a dive center. The property was so fantastic and the view so sublime that I decided to stay on the island a few more nights and luckily they had a vacant room.

The view really is phenomenal and the staff couldn't do enough for you in a non-luxury way. It's not stuffy or 5 star - just friendly and warm.

Will be back for next diving trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and it is incredible. We had a large room with balcony and a perfect view of the sunset over the ocean. The pool and restaurant on site is fantastic and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 82480, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. Aminjirah features just 17 suites and villas with 2 pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. Aminjirah is but 5 minutes from Sairee Village and it's action and offers a free daily shuttle transfers for it's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aminjirah Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.