We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit the sweet spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Save Saved
You added Aminjirah Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aminjirah Resort
16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 82480, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Bonus Nights
Ranked #18 of 46 hotels in Ko Tao
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hit the sweet spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Aminjirah was an absolute delight! We stayed earlier in the year but just now took the time write a review. Basically we moved from another resort on the island due to a less than satisfactory experience! And what a difference.

PROS

- Stunning view
- Stunning pool
- Stunning suite (sunset dream)
- Stunning staff (service - but not bad looking)
- Stunning food

CONS

- A moped is good if you can't make do with the free shuttle or don't want to pay for taxis
- Frogs (it had been raining and they got fairly loud at night - but that's probably the whole island for you)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    85
    32
    17
    12
See reviews for
48
231
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hi everyone! I just wanted to give my two cents on this lovely resort in koh tao. Stayed there for 5 days in a royal ocean view with breakfast included and immensely. The pools were absolutely amazing and when the "view" pool was a bit busy at times or the sun too strong in the afternoon, we had a dip in the smaller pool in the middle of the resort.

The restaurant is low key but food is very good and we enjoyed the selection available in the morning (4 choices) and they also allowed us to order equivalent cost a la carte from the menu.

What it all boils down to is a beautiful small resort with amazing rooms, amazing views and friendly staff at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Felt obliged to sign up for tripadvisor to post a review of this fantastic property I happened to stumble upon while diving in Koh Tao. Went there for a couple of cocktails with friends as I already had basic accommodation through a dive center. The property was so fantastic and the view so sublime that I decided to stay on the island a few more nights and luckily they had a vacant room.

The view really is phenomenal and the staff couldn't do enough for you in a non-luxury way. It's not stuffy or 5 star - just friendly and warm.

Will be back for next diving trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and it is incredible. We had a large room with balcony and a perfect view of the sunset over the ocean. The pool and restaurant on site is fantastic and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I stay with my fiance int his resort for 5 days and really enjoy it.! Good service and good food in silent and romantic location. Staff very nice but not all so
much english. Room was also very nice and of course the view perfect

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed in aminjirah earlier in the year and it was simply an experience we want to forget. We came here on our delayed honeymoon and were expecting a far more satisfying experience. We arrived at the port of koh Tao and were met by a representative of the hotel. He informed us that he only had room in the car for 4 passengers so my wife and I had to sit in the baking sun while he took the rest to the resort-you must be aware of how many guests you are to pick up so account for that and arrange two cars!! Terrible start. We eventually arrived and were escorted to our room. We had a stunning view and were so taken aback by it that the appearance of the room only hit us soon after. It was extremely basic for the money we paid and we soon discovered we were not alone. My wife has quite a distinct fear of bugs-
which I admit isn't conducive to a holiday in Thailand-but we spent a week in a luxury resort in koh samui and had no indoor
encounters! We stumbled upon dead cockroaches and ants in our room and requested a room transfer. No equal-standard rooms were available so we requested our money back. We got our money back but with a struggle. The hotel is a long walk from the town centre and any taxi is at least 300 baht if you're lucky. I cannot comment on the food as we did not stay long enough. The infinity pool is lovely and very romantic at sunset but this is sadly spoilt by the intrusion of non-residents and no rules to prevent them taking all of the beds around
the pool. This place has potential but changes are necessary and the owners attitude must change. I wish to conclude my review by praising the attitude of the manager.... He was friendly, as helpful as he could be and endeavoured to rectify our situation but was limited by the owners attitude. I would never consider this hotel unless the manager took absolute control.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my boyfriend, it was out of the main town which was what we wanted. The hotel was nice enough although when we arrived we were put in a bugdet room for a couple of days as we had changed our plans at the last minute and this was the only one available. We were then moved to a slightly larger room, which was better but I felt for what we were paying it was not what I had expected plus the bathroom had a straw roof which was slightly uplifted and open at the edges, being in the jungle this was not great with all the insects so I asked to move again. We were then moved to a much better room which over looked the sea, we were much happier here. The owner was very helpful and friendly. This was a nice place to stay with a lovely view and pool, the rooms were clean too which is important.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 82480, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. Aminjirah features just 17 suites and villas with 2 pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. Aminjirah is but 5 minutes from Sairee Village and it's action and offers a free daily shuttle transfers for it's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aminjirah Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.