We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise over the water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aminjirah Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aminjirah Resort to your Saves list
Aminjirah Resort
16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 82480, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AWESOME PROMOTIONS
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise over the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

My friends and I went for a short trip to koh tao over our long weekend holiday in Bangkok. Getting out of the office was great and everybody thoroughly enjoyed the island as a whole. We did a few dives, both in the water and the bars, but the highlight of the trip was our stay at Amanjirah, which was an awesome experience. The friendliest service, large rooms and two small cool pools to hang out at. The resort oozes ambiance and laidbackness and feels more like a private residence where guests can choose to partake and interact or to stay private and keep to themselves. Our party of six just loved it and can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    141
    54
    24
    13
See reviews for
58
350
27
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed for 2nights in the sunset fantasy deluxe room
it was gorgeous

we got picked up in sairee and taken to the resort which is a little up in the hills with an AMAZING view from one of the pools, we then had our bags taken to our rooms and greeted with green tea

the room was huuuge with a gorgeous bed and large bathoom with a private dip pool in our outdoor bathroom which could fit more than 2 people in! it was beautifully decorated with robes and slippers provided, there was also a HUGE flatscreen tv and dvd player in the room with loads of channels to keep everyone entertained
our room was cleaned everyday and bedding and towels changed when we were at the pool
it had a small balcony at our front door with large comfy chairs and a table which we ate at in the evenings as they can bring your meals to your room

the food was good, the thai green curry was amazing

you can borrow a little net book laptop as well for free
there were 2 pools if a good size and loungers to relax on

we did have to keep our curtains closed on the side where the pool was as even though we were at the top you could still see into the room from the pool but this didnt bother us keeping them closed

thank you it was a lovely short stay to refresh ourselves it was lovely

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Amanjirah in May in the Sunset Penthouse. The room is quite large and truly stunning. The decor and design of the room was also done beautifully. We found the staff to be very nice and helpful. A couple of the staff did not speak English but the ladies at the reception and the server at the restaurant spoke it very well, so we never had any issues.

The pools areas were nice and relaxing the back pool has an amazing view! It was very nice to sunbathe there. Our favorite part of Amanjirah though was definitely the tree top terrace where food and drinks are served. The atmosphere is so chill and relaxed with hammoks, good music and triangle pillows to lounge on. It was very romantic having dinner as the sun began to set.

Our only complaint was that the bed was very hard and it didn't make for the best sleep. I'm sure with time though that Amanjirah will improve on this. Other than that this was truly a beautiful place to stay and probably the best accomodation on Koh Tao.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ile de france
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

This hotel has the most wonderful view on the koh tao sea from the second pool (smallest one). The sunset is not to be missed as it is very romantic and photogenic.
The room is decorated with taste, the only comment is that the pool view room's bathroom doesn't have a sealed roof which means that mosquitoes and geckos can get in anytime. During the night, going to the bathroom was like an expedition to us.
The restaurant is very charming, the Pad Thai is one of the best i've ever tasted in thailand.
The staff are polite and helpful. The pick-up from the pier service is really good too in a luxurious 4X4.
There's no access to the beach from the hotel since it's located on the hillside of koh tao. More transfers from the hotel to saree beach would be really appreciated as there were only two transfers back to the hotel, 11:15am and 17:00 which are not sufficient.
Other than that, we enjoyed our stay in this charming hotel with a beautiful view. The garden view and main pool are great too.
The free wifi is really a plus, we enjoyed this service very much during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Right from the get go Amanjirah excelled at making my stay the most rewarding and comfortable. Lovely smiles, great service - a real family feeling.

My room was immaculately designed with many neat little touches and the pools were a joy.

Wouldn't hesitate for a second go be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We do our best every day to improve. Our resort is very small as we always planned to keep it like a small family retreat with a range of rooms to cater for different budgets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

I've been to Koh Tao a bunch of times, always staying in different places. This has been my all time favourite though. The view is amazing, the pool is nice, the food os great and you will never experience a more beautiful sunset. The staff could be better at speaking English, but they're nice and welcoming.

I would stay at Amanjirah Resort any day!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanjirah, Owner at Aminjirah Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
You're very kind. It was a pleasure meeting you and I hope you and your family will be well in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Amanjirah is such a cool place. We were picked up at the pear and after a short ride , we saw Amanjirah. Just looking made a lot of promisses . The inchecking was fast and the service was in top all our stay. My room was clean and so nice. I really liked the style of decorating. Amanjirah is built on the cliffs up high and the wiew is astonishing. Every where you look around its grean and there is a lot of flowers. They have two pools and you can just enjoy yourself and relaxe. If you want to go to the small town, you can just ask for the car to take you. I have been coming to Koh Tao for ten years now, and this place " Amanjirah " is excellent, maybe the best resort i have stayed on. And i forgot to mention the food , the chef is really good.
If you want to visit Koh Tao, you have to choose Amanjirah for your stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aminjirah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminjirah Resort

Address: 16/4 Moo 2 Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 82480, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aminjirah is nestled on a dramatic cliff side, overlooking Sairee Beach and Koh Nang Yuan. Aminjirah features just 17 suites and villas with 2 pools including a 16 metre dramatic sunset infinity edge pool. Aminjirah is but 5 minutes from Sairee Village and it's action and offers a free daily shuttle transfers for it's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Aminjirah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanjirah Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aminjirah Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.