We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanote Villa Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tanote Villa Hill to your Saves list
Tanote Villa Hill
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   23/3 Moo 3, Tanote Bay | 23/3 หมู่ 3, อ่าวโตนด, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 57 Ko Tao B&B and Inns
1 review
“Hi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I am make resrvertion three night but I stay one night.because so far form the town.so far to the beach.and when we want to go to the city taxi driver charg 400baht. Taxi driver very very rude.resort nice restaurant is food was very good and fantasit.staff is very helpful and kidlling.and one boy very specialboy because he can help manything.then he can do very good cocktail the man is very special.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    38
    21
    18
    12
See reviews for
35
54
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed here longer than expected, because I loved the hotel, it's location, it's service and the staff.
The rooms are beautifull. The hotel is build on a mountain and the view is amazing. You can see the sea and you look over a beautifull garden with lots of flowers, trees and butterflies.
It wil take you not more than 10 minutes to walk down to the beach to relax, te have lunch or dinner or to do some very nice snorkling.
Rent a boat to snorkle around the island and you will meet another world that will take your breathe away. There were so many fishes! Having dinner on the beach is very romantic, you can have some fresh fish bbq.

The villa's are spacious and very clean. I loved the bathroom. You have free airco and there is also free internet. Because of the power failure internet is now and than out of the air. That's why the bookings don't always reach the hotel. You can make a big deal of it and go out of your mind, but get real: this is Thailand and there are power failures!The staff will do everything to solve it.They also solved it with me. During my long travel through Thailand and Laos i never met a staff that was so friendly and helpfull! They are learning English and like it when you try to teach them English.

Breakfast is good and fresh! The cook is great, try the traditional Thai food: delicious!
Two times a day there is a free drive service to the town. You can do some shopping, book your excursions, get some money, etc.

For me this hotel and location was a little bit of paradise. Tanote bay is defenitely the most beautiful part of Koh Tao.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

After reading some bad reviews before we were a bit worried! But after arriving at the hotel we were surprised, a wonderful view to the bay, the restaurant is very nice with outstanding Thai food. The rooms are big and clean with good airconditioning, but we missed a wardrobe for our clothes.
They did not change the towels every day but when you asked for it it was no problem at all.
It is Thailand different habits, they do their best to help with everything, it is a family run hotel with people who are not experienced in hospitality but are doing their best. It has charm!

The restaurant is very good with fresh prepared food for a reasonable price. Sometimes there were a bit of misunderstanding but that's no problem at all, you are on a holiday so why worrie!
It's a wonderful place to relax and very secluded with great views over the bay! Thanks for all!

Room Tip: The pool rooms are very good and near the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My family and I spent one week at Villa Hill. Despite the fantastic view we had a very unsatisfactory stay. Firstly we were put in to the wrong room. When I approached the manager to complain he was very un helpful and responded by saying" what do you want me to do? we're full i'll move you in a few days." This guy left the hotel three days later after agreeing to discount or stay. This made things particularly awkward whilst trying to explain to the new manager when checking out. The service in general is slow and unattentive. However the views and pool area are very pleasant. Breakfast is poor although in general the food wasn't bad.
Without doubt the worst experience was the hotels taxi driver. He initally tried to charge us 1000 Baht (£20) round trip to Sairee beach for each day we stayed there. His manner was agressive and rude to all the guests. Sairee beach is just 6km's away.! Some of the roads/tracks are very poor, therefore a rise in fare is understanable. However, this was a total rip off. On the last day when we decided to move to the other siide of the island we were told he would take us to our accomodation free of charge. Despite being with a young family and 8 large suitcases bags he decided to abruptly stop in a Sairee beach square and kick us and our luggage out of the vehicle several km's from our destination. Much to the disgust of fellow passengers and on lookers.
Breakfast is poor

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and wouldn't recommend it to others. While the hotel is in a lovely secluded setting and has beautiful views, a nice pool and restaurant, the service was appalling and the rooms below standard.

The first night we had to spend in a different (much nicer) hotel as they had mucked up the bookings and didn't have a room for us. We had requested a pool room but weren't given the room we booked.

Our room wasn't cleaned at all in the time we were there. We had to ask several times to get the toilet paper restocked and no clean towels or additional toiletries were provided. This hotel seemed more like a self serviced apartment than a hotel.

The staff were very inexperienced and often didn't respond to requests or failed to keep promises - we nearly missed our diving trip because they told us they would organise a taxi for early in the morning and when we got up there was no taxi and no staff around at all.

The room was adequate but the bathroom was disappointing. The shower was barely more than a trickle, the windows were covered only by thin wooden slats (no glass) which meant bugs could get into the bathroom. Our bed squeaked every time we moved the first night but they did fix that on request. No duvet was provided and the sheet and blanket provided were smaller than the bed!

Breakfast was meant to start at 7am every day but nobody would be there until 7.30am. The free taxi service always left late.

On a positive note the hotel did offer free WiFi, the air conditioning was effective, and the pool/restaurant area was lovely.

Be aware if you stay here that it is a bumpy 20min journey by 4 wheel drive (sitting on the back of a truck) to the main pier/beach. The hotel operates free twice daily trips but if you want to go back and forth at any other time it will cost you 400THB for a taxi.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The hotel is a perfect place to stay if you are not looking for nightlife and feel happy in a quiet area.
The bungalows are biult on boulders surrounded by beautiful tropical garden with lots of flowers and butterflies. Be prepared to walk up and down the hill to the beach and back (5-7 min) - the walk is along a shady wooden boarded path.
The rooms are spacious, with a large terrace. The beds are comfortable. The only negative comment is about the A/C - turning on and off during the night by itself.
The restaurant serves standard American breakfast, and very good Thai dinners, especially fresh seafood BBQ with selection of chef's sauces.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

The beach is nice, but offers very little shade. Good snorkling right off the shore.
Unfortunately there is no decent massage within easy reach - the one on the beach is the worst experience during many trips to Thailand!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auroville, india
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

If you are not so much into the restaurant, shops and night scene, and look for a family spot, hop on the back of a pick up and there you are on your way to the East Coast to Tanote Beach.

Tanote is a perfect setting for families. There are diving facilities - the house reef offers a nice range of fish and corrals plus a few cave treats and of course there is swimming and snorkeling for all ages. Nice beach restaurants.

Beware of the razor edge corals. and beer bottles broken pieces...

We stayed at Tanote Villa that is not on the beach itself, you need to walk up and down the very steep hill through the jungle. The rooms are were equipped and offer verandas. The pool is just great and the sight from the long chairs is a beauty.

Only it will take you some patience to get your order straight as the staff is far from being experienced and the service rather poor. We found out that ordering ahead by writing down all items and coming to the restaurant only once it was ready was a perfect solution. Our daughter occasionally enjoyed "Room service".

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanote Villa Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanote Villa Hill

Address: 23/3 Moo 3, Tanote Bay | 23/3 หมู่ 3, อ่าวโตนด, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanote Villa Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanote Villa Hill nestles itself amongst the coconut and fruit trees on the east side of Koa Tao Island overlooking the vast ocean of the Gulf of Thailand. Tanote Villa Hill Resort has a magical ambience where perfect balance is made by nature. The resort is situated on the hillside of Tanote Bay on an estate of 12 Rai, which includes private luxury villas, bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Tanote Villa Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanote Villa Hill Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanote Villa Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.