We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlawn Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woodlawn Villas to your Saves list
Woodlawn Villas
11/50 Moo 3, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Air-Con Villa Pool 1,950B
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed in the garden suite for one night and in the big twilight villa for two nights. Both were excellent. Clean, roomy, well equipped, furnished and decorated.

The owners and the staff are very friendly and helpful. They took care of every detail (pick up at the ferry, general recommendations, mobile phone, torch, menus for ordering food, DVD collection, etc..) so we could relax and enjoy our stay, while feeling truly at home.

Beaches, shops and restaurants are within walking distance and make the villas a great starting point for exploring koh Tao. Make sure to ask the owner for recommendations and directions. He had some great suggestions for us.

We will definitely stay there again.




  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review!

It is fantastic to hear such lovely feedback from our guests.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of the local beaches and shops and found ourselves and staff attentive during your stay.

We are very pleased that you found your stay relaxing at Woodlawn Villas and enjoyed the island.

We very much look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

We wish you all the best.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    36
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
156
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I absolutely loved my stay at Woodlawn. Luke and Michelle took me in on a last minute booking, and were so incredibly accommodating! The villas and suites are very nice, grounds are very well kept, and Luke and Michelle are very friendly people. I will be definitely recommending this place to anyone I know that stays in koh Tao, and will be staying here again when I return!! Thanks once again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review!

It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in February.

We look forward to welcoming to Woodlawn Villas again in the future.

We wish you all the best.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend in July 2012. From beginning to end it was absolutely fabulous. We could not have asked for better hosts than Luke and Michelle. The Garden suite was beautiful, some people describe it as a 'home from home' but it's even better than that. A few minutes walk from the supermarket, close to beaches, restaurants and bars. We hired a scooter and it was easy to zip around from place to place. Luke welcomed us warmly on the first day and provided us with recommendations for things to do, places to eat and beaches to visit. His wealth of local knowledge was a godsend, we followed his advice and thoroughly enjoyed the results. I would highly recommend woodlawn to anyone visiting Koh Tao.It's on the quieter side of the island, perfect for us as we didn't want to beright in the middle of the party scene. I only wish it wasn't so very far away, otherwise we'd be visiting annually! Thanks again to Luke and Michelle & sorry for the delay in writing the review.

Room Tip: Garden Suite was a wonderful size with a comfy & spacious bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review!

It is such a pleasure to know our guests have enjoyed what we have created at Woodlawn Villas.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the convenience of the nearby supermarket, restaurants and beaches and found our local knowledge useful during your stay.

We hope to accommodate you again in the future and look forward to your return.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed 4 days in the big villa, which was great for our familiy. We enyoyed everything. Even the kids said that was the best accomodation out of 4 different we had during our trip and the other three were really good. With the new pool comming its gonna be even better. Keep up the good work Luke. Thanks and we will be back :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review!

We are so pleased to hear Woodlawn Villas was "perfect" for you and your family to spend your holiday.

It is an absolute pleasure being able to provide our guests with an opportunity to create wonderful memories on this beautiful island.

We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalyan, Turkey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The whole concept of Woodlawn Villas for us was just heaven........ We were so fortunate enough to stay in the luxurious Twilight Villa for a whole week, just the two of us rattling around in a palace made for 8 people, surrounded by the sounds of nature and the amazing peace that ensured a great deep nights sleep.
Luke is the most accommodating, respectful, unobtrusive and genuinely welcoming friendly owner of this great place, he informed us of everything that we needed to know and any questions or concerns that we had were effortlessly answered, he never once made us feel anything but at home.
While we were there the finishing parts of the swimming pool were being made and we were never disturbed by any noise, Luke made sure of that, it was also nice for us that he showed us around on our last night to see the progress and his vision for when it was finished - We just feel envious knowing that in a month or two it will be ready and we won't be there, but definitely next year.
We loved the fact that the Villas are just a tiny sand track off the main road which means you don't get disturbed by any flitting curious passers by or traffic. The villas are also so very close to a massive supermarket within walking distance, a grocer and many other facilities- also there are menus in the villa for home delivery - can you believe??!!!.
All the information in the villa & the thoughfulness in offering a mobile phone for use and so many other carefully thought out things (DVD Player and great movies) made this scratch up a notch in the ratings to 6 stars...... but we would have definitely given this a 5 star anyway.......... (we even watched a couple of films while we were there which we certainly wouldn't have done otherwise)
The team that work there are wonderful, polite, very hard working and friendly.......... we just feel ashamed as we forgot to leave a tip in the rush to leave....... Luke - can we somehow transfer a tip to you to give to your lovely team??
We recommend this place 100% and if you have read anything bad from another review then I can only imagine that it was their problem and not the problem of Woodlawn Villas.
We will definitely be back and we recommend this place massively
Becky & Emrah - Turkey

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review!

We take great pride in creating a comfortable environment throughout our little resort, so our guests feel right at home from the moment they arrive.

We show our staff the reviews people write in and Zor and his team were very grateful that their efforts had been recognised by you both.

The pool is nearly finished so not long now until our first dip :-)

We very much look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

We wish you both all the best :-)

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed in the Garden Villa with my girlfriend for 14 nights. The Garden Villa can best be described as good value for money with many nice amenities I would never think of myself. For instance, providing the Villa with a mobile phone helped me and my girlfriend numerous times. We took a diving certificate and sometimes these trips were subject to changes which could be sorted out through the mobile phone instead of having to show up at the divecenter (which was a 30 min. walk). We also called our divecenter to ask for which beach that was best suitable for snorkeling on the particular day. We also received a torch. The torch also helped us many times when we walked home after 7 PM. As a European I would naively expect the streets to be lit at night. However, this is not the case for a large part of the roads on Koh Tao. Walking at night is therefore connected to substantial risk without a torch. Great service that the owners provided us with this. However, the thing that really stood out was the level of service on all areas. We wanted to give a tip to the roomservice which on one day washed our dishes when we left early and didn't had time for it. So we put the tip on the bed. But when we came back the money was moved to our night table. We then talked to Luke and he said that the personnel was not allowed to take money unless it was given to them personally. To me such principles demonstrate extraordinary integrity.

Overall, we were always met with a big smile and felt very welcomed. The Villa were very clean and is placed with a nice view to a cluster of beautiful palm trees. I'm definitely coming back and also recommending it to friends and family. It is really nice to have found a place where it is so evident that everyone is working extremely hard to make your stay something great to remember! Eventually, the 24/7 availability of the owners is just way more than you could expect with any accommodation in this price range.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review!

It is was a pleasure to accommodate you at Woodlawn Villas and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is great to know you enjoyed the convenience of the mobile phone and torches we provide.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Woodlawn Villas in the future.

We wish you all the best.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

There are many nice things about Woodlawn Villas and it is a good value for a very basic affordable place to stay. It was clean and quiet and the A/C worked okay to cool the bedroom. There were lots of fun DVD's to watch and many restaurant deliver food for free right to your room. Luke is kind, fun loving, and responsive to requests. Once the pool is complete, it will likely add to the comfort of being there in the heat, away from the ocean.

However... there is a long walk up the dirt road to get there and the walk through the little town was NOT pedestrian friendly to get to the beach and restaurants. Overall the quality and comfort of the bed and furnishing was 2-3 out of 5 star quality... not remotely near as nice as home for us. We had no hot water while we were there. Luke did make a sincere effort to get the hot water working right away while we were there, but it never really got hot for some reason. We only stayed a few days and so it likely was successfully fixed shortly after we left.

If I was to visit Koh Tao again, I would choose one of the many many places that look over the ocean there, as the beauty of the coast there is absolutely astounding. I would choose a place with a bit more hot (or warm) water and a little stronger A/C. I would choose a place that is more comfortable in terms of furnishings and bed. I would likely HAVE to pay a bit (or a lot) more though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas is a welcoming family run resort comprising of six beautiful villas, suites and swimming pool set amongst two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. We offer 3 bedroom villas, one bedroom suites and one bedroom villas making us the perfect destination for couples, friends & families visiting Koh Tao island in Thailand. All accommodation includes air conditioned bedrooms, en suite bathrooms, daily housekeeping, separate living room & kitchenette, Flat screen Cable TV, free wifi, drinking water, toiletries & in room tea & coffee facilities, safe box and private balconies overlooking the gardens/swimming pool. We are just a minutes walk to a well stocked supermarket, 2 minutes walk to a variety of restaurants (seafood BBQ, thai food, tapas) dive shops, yoga classes, spas, pharmacies and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. For guests convenience we provide a free mobile phone to call for a taxi, motorbike hire, snorkelling trips & order food delivery for in room service. We provide a selection of menus to order from different restaurants, breakfast/lunch/dinner. All guests are provided with a complete information pack upon arrival highlighting the best things to do, where to eat and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you to Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Woodlawn Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlawn Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.