We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlawn Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodlawn Villas
Save
You added Woodlawn Villas to your Saves list
11/50 Moo 3, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK EARLY AND SAVE 15%
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
5.0 of 5 stars 258 Reviews
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Paradise stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was looking for a paradise island among all the Thai islands for a 5 day trip in April-May 2012 - definitely with a good hotel.
And I chose Koh Tao because of Woodlawn Villas. Koh Tao and Woodlawn combined for me into just a terrific holiday!
I found the hotel on tripadvisor, immediately checked the web-site and after reading the introduction page became absolutely sure that this is the best place for me to stay.

What I loved:
- Absolutely friendly owners - Luke and Michelle, who welcomed we with warmth, gave me a brief tour over the island map, were guiding me with my every question and step, giving useful tips and ideas of activities, places to go, eat and buy food . Luke and Michelle managed to create home-like atmosphere: always laughing, nice staff in the hotel, doggies playing in the morning among the palm trees

- Private location in the middle of coconut plantation with jungles sounds in the night, no cars, no crowds of people around

- My spacious Garden Villa with a comfortable bed, aircon and fan for my choice, simply equipped kitchenette with menus of nearby restaurants which offered food delivery – like a room service:)

- Freedom beach which is within 20-30 minutes walking distance from the villas – small, quiet, a bit wild and incredibly beautiful

- John Sumwan viewpoint within 30-40 minutes walking distance: you have to climb up the path around the huge stones through the jungles, but on the top you are awarded with spectacular scenery over the southern part of Koh Tao

- Cheap laundry place, small fruit stores and home restaurants nearby

For those who are planning to spend lots of time in Sairee village, the hotel location may seem a bit distant – better to rent a motorbike as taxi will cost 300 THB one way. But for those who are seeking for a great time in a green welcoming place – this is the best place to stay on Koh Tao!!!
Next time I am planning my trip to Thailand, I will definitely come back to Woodlawn villas...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for the fantastic review!

It was lovely to meet you and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Woodlawn Villas and the island of Koh Tao itself.

We do hope to see you out here again in the future!

Take care,

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    33
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
142
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I can't praise the amazing help given to us by Luke enough! You can look on Trip Advisor to see all the brilliant comments about the accommodation(all of whch were true) but what really stood out about Woodlawn was the help and kindness showed by Luke and Michelle. We had to change our bookings a number of times due to our son being very ill, but nothing was too much trouble for them. You also get great advice about things to do on Koh Tao from Luke when you arrive. For those travelling to this lovely island who want to have the advantage of feeling isolated and away from the crowds, but at the same time being a few minutes walk away from beaches and other attractions, you must consider Woodlawn. Great value for what you get! Thanks, thanks, thanks Luke and Michelle! We got back safe and sound and Daniel is 100% better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review!

It was lovely to meet the 3 of you and we had thrilled to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Woodlawn Villas.

We really enjoy passing on our local knowledge and like to assist our guests as much as we possibly can.

We are very pleased to hear Daniel is 100% better, what a relief!

We do hope you visit us again in the future!

Take care & we wish you all the best.

Warmest Regards

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Woodlawn Villas. The welcome from Luke was fantastic, and provided lots of useful information and local knowledge to make our stay better. The villa was very spacious and comfortable and every little thing had been thought of, from a well equipped kitchen, to umbrellas and torches. Although not on the beach, it was within walking distance of the best beaches on the south coast, and lots of great places to eat/shops nearby. Any questions or difficulties were dealt with very quickly and efficiently from both Luke and Michelle. Pre visit communication was also excellent.

Also need to mention Roland, the snorkel guide who was recommended by Luke. Very reasonable rates, and as people who have snorkelled frequently around the world, it was the best snorkel trip we've done, not just because of the location, but the whole experience with Roland, who took us out for hours, and suggested good places to snorkel, and went at our pace, rather than clock watching and asking us to move on.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review!

It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and we are so happy you had such a great time at Woodlawn Villas and on your snorkelling trip with Roland.

We hope to see you both here again in the future!

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our decision to travel to Koh Tao was determined by a need to kill time and its convenience for my travel plans. My partner and I undertook a scuba course and I booked this place based on tripadvisor reviews. When we arrived it was amazing, really well furnished and spacious. The perfect retreat after a tiresome day of diving. Luke was welcoming and gave us a rundown of the island as well as a mobile which was handy to order room service and taxis etc. The only problem we encountered was that on our departure, which was at 6.30am due to an early morning dive, I was required to phone the taxi I had organised the night before to confirm pick up. Unfortunately, our phone had run out of credit and we weren't able to call the taxi or anyone to meet us at reception so we were forced to walk to town. This wasn't ideal but I suppose wasn't anyone's fault, but it definitely tarnished the otherwise perfect experience.
Also, the cleaner who tends to the room should be tipped, he does an amazing job.

Room Tip: Upstairs suites are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review!

It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so pleased that you had a great time at Woodlawn Villas.

In regards to your departure, this situation would have been avoided if you had let us arrange your taxi departure for you.

Our guests normally allow us to provide this service for them to ensure a smooth departure process, however you assured us you did not need our assistance.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I don't know where to begin, but wow!! This was one of the most lovely places I have ever stayed. This is certainly the best place to stay on Koh Tao, maybe even the entire east coast of Thailand. To give a little background on my trip, I had been travelling around Northern Thailand and Laos for 4 weeks with my girlfriend before heading to the South for the full-moon party. We both recently graduated college, and we basically took the 'backpackers' route to get a cultural experience of what Thailand has to offer. Although the full moon party was fun, Koh Phangan was a huge disappointment for us. The beaches aren't nice, it's overcrowded with tourists (for the party), and it didn't seem authentic. So to end our vacation, we decided to spend 3 nights in Koh Tao, to end our trip authentically, but in luxury.

We ended up staying in the Twilight Villa, which is the big one, and it is just incredible. It was almost too nice for a couple like us, but if you have a family, or are travelling in a group of 4-6 people, this would be absolutely perfect. Luke is just phenomenal, and tells you everything to do on the island. They give you a cell phone to order food in for dinner/breakfast (which is a fantastic idea), and there aren't any delivery charges. At nighttime, the DVD selection actually had movies I enjoy or had been wanting to watch. If you're young like us, and want to check out the official full moon after party, the Castle is walking distance. Although we weren't a huge fan of a party, it's the best place to socialize and meet other backpackers our age.

In terms of location, Woodlawn is the PERFECT place on the island. There are plenty of places to eat or drink coffee or get a massage, and you're also walking distance from the best beaches on the island. I rented a motor-bike one day to check out the 'main' beach, where most of the resorts are, and I honestly feel sorry for people stuck on that side of the island. Chaluk bay and freedom beach were my favorite beaches on the island. They are very nice for relaxing/sunbathing, and they are just beautiful. Freedom beach is authentic, secluded, and has an amazing coral reef you can just swim to (there were snorkels in the villa for us to use). But if you really want a legit snorkel trip, hit up Rolan on the cell phone. Seriously, best snorkel trip of my life. Not only is Rolan one of the most legit people I have ever met, he takes you to all the good spots on the island for a LONG day of snorkeling. Beyond the coral and fish, we saw sharks and sea-turtles larger than myself!!

The three nights we spent at the twilight villa were the highlight of our vacation in Thailand. Luke and Michelle really have something special going on there. It was the nicest, and cleanest place we stayed all month. It's extremely luxurious, but at the same time, you have the opportunity to have an authentic Thai-island experience, that you just won't get at a resort. Whether you're backpackers like us, or a couple, or a family, Woodlawn is the only place to stay in Koh Tao. You will regret not staying here!!!

Much Love <3

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review!

It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Woodlawn Villas.

Take care & we hope to see you both here again in the future :-)

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Everything you need for an island stay. Quiet location with immaculate villas yet 10 minutes from great selection of bars, restaurants and beaches. Luke, Michelle and Elaine couldnt be more helpful and I urge anyone to take up their suggestion to go snorkelling with the very entertaining Rolan!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review!

It was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you at Woodlawn Villas.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the snorkelling trip with Rolan :-)

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Woodlawn is not the typical "hotel" in Thailand and that's what make it a great choice. Set in the middle of very quiet place, a few hundred meters from the main drag, it feels more like a French homestay (gite) rather than like anything else (I'm French...): the villas are big (ours had one bedroom, one big living room with nice coaches and TV, and a nice balcony), with plenty of space. Villas are all furnished so It's possible to cook and to feel at home.
When we were there, the owners were not in Thailand but a charming British friend of them took great care of us, providing us with phone, good tips and a great sense of welcome.
It's indeed a great value (if I remember correctly 30 Euros or so) and so peacefull and homy that we had trouble leaving it!
I would definitely recommend it for people wanting peace and privacy. If it's party that you are looking after, or a nice beach location, it's certainly not a good option as it's inland and a 15 to 20 minutes walk to the beach. However, we DEFINTELY recommend going to woodlawn should you go to Koh Tao:
- the beach hotels we have seen are whether pricey or far away from everything or on disappointing beaches
- Woodlawn is close to everything, from shops to restaurants and also from various great beaches and snorkelling spots
- You don't have to rent a bike to explore the area (and please, don't rent a bike, it's amazing how western tourists can be stupid and reckless in thaildand on motor bikes). It's absolutely possible to walk on Koh Tao (well, in the south part of it where Woodlawn is located) and when in Woodlawn, everything is max 30 minutes away by walking.

All in all, it's a great place to stay, you should go!!!

Just a piece of advice: be carefull when carrying your bags on the outside stairway, you might twist your ankle pretty badly!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodlawnVillas, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review!

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodation at Woodlawn Villas & we do look forward to your return in the future.

Take care & all the best.

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas is a welcoming family run resort comprising of six beautiful villas, suites and swimming pool set amongst two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. We offer 3 bedroom villas, one bedroom suites and one bedroom villas making us the perfect destination for couples, friends & families visiting Koh Tao island in Thailand. All accommodation includes air conditioned bedrooms, en suite bathrooms, daily housekeeping, separate living room & kitchenette, Flat screen Cable TV, free wifi, drinking water, toiletries & in room tea & coffee facilities, safe box and private balconies overlooking the gardens/swimming pool. We are just a minutes walk to a well stocked supermarket, 2 minutes walk to a variety of restaurants (seafood BBQ, thai food, tapas) dive shops, yoga classes, spas, pharmacies and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. For guests convenience we provide a free mobile phone to call for a taxi, motorbike hire, snorkelling trips & order food delivery for in room service. We provide a selection of menus to order from different restaurants, breakfast/lunch/dinner. All guests are provided with a complete information pack upon arrival highlighting the best things to do, where to eat and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you to Koh Tao. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlawn Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.