We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlawn Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodlawn Villas
Save
You added Woodlawn Villas to your Saves list
11/50 Moo 3, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK EARLY AND SAVE 15%
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
5.0 of 5 stars 258 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We booked a seven night stay and it turned out to be the highlight of our first holiday together. The setting is so beautiful and tranquil. And yet we were so close to the beach and to numerous restaurants, sweet cafes and supermarket. The villa had everything we needed and more, it was like being at home, it all felt so right and comfortable. When we arrived the staff were so welcoming and we really felt special. There is no doubt we will incorporate a return here in the future.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review!

It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Woodlawn Villas.

We do hope you visit us again in the future :-)

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    33
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
142
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My wife and I got a free upgrade to the 'Twilight Villa' as their garden suites were booked during our stay (5 nights) The villa is big, intended for couples or a family so we had plenty of space. We enjoyed the location being 'away' from the busy part of Mae Head & Sairee, though still close by - this was really the primary reason we chose Woodlawn. We had absolute peace and quiet for 4 of the 5 nights - not sure what was going on our final night, but a continuous thumping noise persisted until about 4am - I assumed it was music echoing from down the road or perhaps behind the property. The villa is clean (cleaned everyday) and is equipped with kitchen appliances, tv/dvd etc. and wi fi so you still have the comforts of home. Outside of this (and perhaps the bed being a bit too firm), we were really pleased with Woodlawn and would recommend staying here if you are going to Ko Tao.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review.

We are so pleased to hear you had a great time at Woodlawn Villas & do hope you visit us again in the future.

It is a shame that you found the mattress was a bit firm during your stay. The mattresses are extremely high quality orthopedic mattresses and have never caused guests discomfort before.

However we appreciate guests have different preferences and requirements, which we are more than happy to accommodate during their stay.

Please note if you were to visit us again we can easily supply an additional soft mattress topper to make you more comfortable :-)

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Woodlawn Villas is an incredibly relaxing environment. This was my first holiday with girlfriend Sam and the accomodation made it all the more special. Although it is the ultimate for peace and tranquility, it is in a great location for exploring the island. A special thank you to Luke & Michelle who were superb hosts and their long term island experience means they can offer great advice and tips on getting the most out of the island. I will most certainly be returning next year.
Simon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review!

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their holiday at Woodlawn Villas and we are always more than happy to share our local knowledge.

It was an absolute pleasure to have you as guests and we do hope you visit us again in the future :-)

Take care & all the best

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you have the chance to stay on this beautiful Island, do not think twice about booking Woodlawn Villas. From arranging a pier pick-up to providing cell phones, torches, order out menus, and a lot of advice the owners and staff did not overlook a single detail. Even when the power went out all over the Island due to a storm, the hotel's power remained on (probably a generator). Elaine, who is managing the villas while the owners are away, is absolutely lovely. By far, this accommodation is the best value for your money on the Island. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and pictures!

We are so happy to hear you had a great holiday at Woodlawn Villas and enjoyed the services & facilities we provide.

We do hope you visit us again in the future and we will pass on your kind words to Elaine, she will be pleased :-)

Take care & all the best.

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Beautiful villa with Luke and Michelle making us feel at home from the start. Recommended a fantastic snorkelling trip and was also very handy having the mobile phone provided to ring taxis to get around the island. The villa itself was immaculate, spacious and ideal for what we needed. You won't get the personal touches anywhere else on the island! Thanks for making it such a memorable trip, Sam and Jess!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review!

We are so pleased to hear you had a great time snorkelling & that you found the complimentary mobile phone useful during your stay.

It was lovely to meet you both & we do hope you visit us again.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This place was exactly what we was looking for. Quiet, secluded, relaxed, but minutes from everywhere. We were especially happy with how 'boutique' the place was - 3 individual villas and a 3 bed house, all in lovely Thai style. My partner is a 'dog person' and made friends with the gorgeous canine residents. A perfect spot if you want to chill, without the resort feel. I'd very happily go there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review!

It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so pleased that you had a lovely holiday at Woodlawn Villas.

It would be great to see you both here again in the future :-)

Take care & we wish you all the best.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

The place was awesome. We found it on trip advisor as it was ranked #1 on the island. Friendly owners, beautiful rooms, very relaxing.

Pros:
-they give you a cellphone on your arrival for contacting them or ordering meals from a restaurant across town (Zanzibar.) How many hotels / resorts you know that do that?
-beautiful large rooms that a very very clean
-the owners (Luke & Michelle) are up front about setting expectations in their welcome email i.e. it's a small family run business, not a lot of extras. They don't oversell like other places we have seen in Thailand. Which leaves you pleasantly surprised.
-well placed next to one of the 2 supermarkets on the island, 10mins from beach.
-nice and quiet.

Cons
-aircon only room, not in adjoining lounge. NOTE: the bedroom with ensuite bathroom is big anyway, and the adjoining lounge and kitchen is a bonus. I was just too lazy to go back into the room for aircon. Also they do state this in the welcome email so it wasn't a problem.

Thank you very much Luke and Michelle for making our time on Koh Tao so enjoyable. We wish we could have stayed longer with you, but you were fully booked! The next place you sent us was fine as well. Also thank you for advising me on Alvaro diving to get my open water ticket. Stoked! Thanks again. Well be back again next year (hopefully)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Woodlawn Villas, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review!

It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are really pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Woodlawn Villas.

We are happy to hear you had a great time diving & enjoyed the mobile phone and restaurant menus provided.

We do look forward to your return and wish you both all the best.

Warmest Regards,

Woodlawn Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlawn Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn Villas

Address: 11/50 Moo 3, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlawn Villas is a welcoming family run resort comprising of six beautiful villas, suites and swimming pool set amongst two acres of coconut palms, tropical gardens and manicured lawns. We offer 3 bedroom villas, one bedroom suites and one bedroom villas making us the perfect destination for couples, friends & families visiting Koh Tao island in Thailand. All accommodation includes air conditioned bedrooms, en suite bathrooms, daily housekeeping, separate living room & kitchenette, Flat screen Cable TV, free wifi, drinking water, toiletries & in room tea & coffee facilities, safe box and private balconies overlooking the gardens/swimming pool. We are just a minutes walk to a well stocked supermarket, 2 minutes walk to a variety of restaurants (seafood BBQ, thai food, tapas) dive shops, yoga classes, spas, pharmacies and 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach. For guests convenience we provide a free mobile phone to call for a taxi, motorbike hire, snorkelling trips & order food delivery for in room service. We provide a selection of menus to order from different restaurants, breakfast/lunch/dinner. All guests are provided with a complete information pack upon arrival highlighting the best things to do, where to eat and places to visit whilst on the island. The atmosphere at Woodlawn Villas is friendly, fun and relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you to Koh Tao. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlawn Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.