We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, dissapointing facilities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Tao Royal Resort

Save Saved
You added Koh Tao Royal Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Koh Tao Royal Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24/3 Moo 2, Ko Tao, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 46 hotels in Ko Tao
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, dissapointing facilities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The location of this resort is perfect - 200m from the peer, away from noise and yet so close to sairee and everything else. But what is made out of it is really dissapointing. Although the bungallows look charming from outside, inside they are almost disgusting. We refused two bungallows and took only the third because the toilet seats were gray to brown - something I don't see in public toilets lately. In the third the bathroom + toilet had open ceiling so it was the same space with the rest of your bungallow (and bed), but well... We stayed 4 days there was no cleaning. Bungallows too hot, and the airco is additional ~15euro/day. There was no hot water, when we complained the second day they offered 15% discount... All together - good potential having the location in mind, cheap, but still not worth your days in a place like Ko Tao.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after leaving the more popular and loud Sairee beach.

The fan bungalow was comfortable and clean, but pretty basic. The room did have a fridge -- rare for the area.

The staff was friendly and the resort does have a restaurant on the beach. There is wifi in the restaurant but not in the rooms.

This was the best deal we could find on the island in short notice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Quaint little bungalows....we went with the more basic one which was adequate for people ok with backpacker style accommodation. Location is great as its walkable, even with luggage, from ferry, and beach is right there with some great snorkelling near rocks. Wifi quick and included. Would however agree with what others have said about value for money/price, as really there are a lot of similar beach bungalows for much smaller costs with equivalent facilities. That being said, they have flush toilets and showers so perhaps on a small island like koh tao you need to pay more for this...
No place to eat here, though restaurants 2 minutes away

Room Tip: Bungalows don't have much sound proofing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

we struggled to get accommodation in koh tao over new year but we managed to secure an ocean view deluxe bungalow at this resort at a fairly reasonable price. the accommodation was a great size and had some quirky extras including an outdoor bath (although had seen better days), hammock on the balcony and huge bathroom. down side of our bungalow was it was at the top of a steep hill and was very dark, not much natural light could get in due to shutters on the windows. the resort itself was nice although beach area was not as nice as neighbouring siree beach. i preferred mae haad for restaurants, shops etc. but siree beach has the best nightlife. it is a taxi ride or it is walk-able but not advisable at night as very dark. koh tao is a beautiful island so we were really glad to have got somewhere so nice to stay, such last minute.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The bungalows are ok not to bad , we had one of the more basic ones and to be honest we didn't have any complaints apart from the price ! It's simply to much for what you are getting . The staff were friendly enough but the whole place is lacking something, not sure exactly what but there isn't much going on in the evening . We tend to walk into town and find somewhere also to eat. It's very close to the docks and we made the mistake of paying for a taxi to get there but it was dark and first thing in the morning. It really is just a few minutes walk from the boat. Well if you can find somewhere else to stay you probably will get more for your money but it's not a terrible place if that's all there is.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montbeliard, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Such good memories at the Royal resort !!

The place is really cheap, we arrived in koh tao with our bags and had to find a hotel. we saw many of them but this one was the best.
good value for the price, the rooms have a nice balcony, it is clean, and the girl at the reception was really friendly.
The resort is on the beach, and not far from sairee but far enough to be quiet.
We loved it.

Anne

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed at Koh Tao Royal Resort for five nights and had a great time there! We arrived very early as we took the night boat from Suratthani but even at 7am, the staff were friendly and offered us free coffee while we waited to check-in and was told our room would be available at 11am :)
We were satisfied with cleanliness of the room. I am very particular about bathrooms, and had no problem with the one in our room except that the light was maybe a little too dim. Electricity and water are valuable on the island, so having fresh water in the shower is great and so what if you have to switch the air conditioning off while the water heater is on! :)
The rooms are set up in the hill and they all have hammocks strung on the verandahs! It's a short stroll to the reception, restaurant and little bar which are on a pretty stretch of beach with clear blue/green waters. Even though the beach is a 5 minute walk to the pier, it is still peaceful and quiet and there are some decent snorkelling areas to the left of the hotel beach..
Food at the restaurant was pretty good and reasonably priced and we ended up eating there very often..
Location wise, it's on Mae Haad, which is quieter than Sairee beach, but you can still walk towards the party areas or rent a bike to get around the Island..
Service wise, the staff were very friendly and helpful.. we set up massages, rented motorbikes and booked tickets for night boat back all through them.. they were also very accommodating in allowing us to keep safe our luggage on the day we arrived and on the day we left.
Special thanks to Muey and Anorak for everything! and to Kamil for keeping us company after we checked out at 10am till 9pm while we waited for the night boat!
Overall, we had an awesome time and would recommend this place to anyone :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koh Tao Royal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Royal Resort

Address: 24/3 Moo 2, Ko Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Royal Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come as our guest , Leave as our friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Koh Tao Royal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Tao Royal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.