We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's so good we don't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Save
You added The Place Luxury Boutique Villas to your Saves list
15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's so good we don't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We decided to stay for 5 nights at The Place for our honeymoon after reading rave reviews on TripAdvisor. This is one of the best decisions we've made!!

We were warmly welcomed by Bex, Franzi and Mr. Bear at the pier. Upon reaching the villa, we were instantly blown away by the ocean view from our patio where we spend many afternoons sun-tanning in peace and privacy. The villa is beautifully furnished. Really love the "outdoor" feel of the bathroom. Kitchen is very well equipped with everything you need to prepare a late night snack or a quick breakfast. In short, you can literally not step out of your villa at all as there's a complimentary food basket given to you upon arrival and delivery is available from selected eateries in Sairee Village.

The villas were built such that we have total privacy to ourselves. The staff is not obtrusive at all. In fact, you don't see them much but they are always contactable on their mobile phones and there when you need them. Everyone at The Place are so friendly and you are always greeted with a smile, even as they zoom past you on their motorbikes.

Would like to thank the following people:

Franzi - Thank you for taking good care of us throughout our stay. You attended meticulously to our needs and gave us great and honest advice on where to go, things to do and good restaurants to eat at.

Guy & Bex - Thank you for helping us with the arrangement of ferry tickets and personally checking us out at 5.30AM...now that's excellent service and dedication!!

Mr. Bear - Thank you for driving us to our snorkelling spots and dropping us off at the ferry terminal in the wee morning.

We really felt so at home at The Place. There's nothing for us to pick on. Everything is so well thought out right down to the smallest detail. We are now working out the possibilities of going back again in the near future!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
475
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at The Place in December 2013 as part of our honeymoon. An extremely positive experience in every sense of the word. Gorgeous accommodation, beautifully furnished with all the necessary amenities. Literally everything has been thought of and unless you're really really demanding, it would be hard to find real fault with anything. Privacy is excellent and the view is breathtaking.

Just two points to note for potential travellers:
Koh Tao is a hub for sea activities (snorkelling/diving etc). It's not very commercialised. If you enjoy a small town excursion and sea activities, that's fine. If you're looking for more crafts/shopping etc, Samui might be a better option.

The Place is located on a hill. It's not very taxing but you might have to budget for taxis to and fro if you're not fond of walking/climbing or have conditions which preclude the exercise.

All in all, a fantastic holiday. We wish we were still there :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

As long as you are prepared that you are set away from the beach up a steep hill - and that there maybe some "giant" gecko guests in your villa - then this is paradise.
We stayed for a week on our honeymoon and loved every second. The villas are run on an ethos of privacy and simplicity and it is exactly what is required to retreat from the hustle and bustle and relax.
The attention to detail make the stay what it is such as a morning text telling you what the weather will be for the day.
We would love to return if we ever have the chance - perhaps without a broken wrist next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at The Place for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. The accommodation is beautifully designed. We watched stunning sunsets from our private pool and woke up to an amazing ocean view each morning. Bex and Franzi were so friendly and attentive, giving us privacy when we wanted it but being there quickly when we needed something. Thanks guys!!
The villas are a 10 minute walk to Sairee where you will find restaurants, shops, massages etc. There is a hill to get back to the villas but we enjoyed the exercise, plus a dip in the pool was a great reward after the uphill walk! If you don't want to walk Mr Bear and his taxi is only a phone call away! We would definitely recommend staying at The Place and we hope to return some day.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This place has to be seen to be believed! The idyllic sea backdrop of the Gulf of Thailand is fused with classic Thai architecture. But don;t be fooled - these are not normal wooden bungalows; all mod-cons are included with kitchen (even with a Smeg sink!) lounging sofa, widescreen LED TV, Computer Business Station, Ipod dock and lots of other things that are so many I have probably forgotten!
Then the Bathroom is stunning - a fusion of Balinese outdoor style showering but without the creepy crawlies thanks to the innovative glass ceiling.
The pool is perfect size for a few couples to lounge around in.
The owners are lovely and attentive from the first moment of booking.
Everything seems to have been anticipated and you can even have a Western (English) Seafood Chef come up to cook a private personal dinner for you in the kitchen!
This was the absolute best place that I have every stayed in.

Room Tip: I saw two others and they were all of the very highest standard of ours - this is a boutique place s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I echo what most reviewers here say. We stayed at the beginning of October 2013 for three nights and wish we were still there. The rooms are very nice with every detail being thought of. It is set up so you have complete privacy and can be as self sufficient as you want. They have a mini bar, and basic food and cooking supplies. They had some nice wine there which was reasonably priced. This was a treat because you can't get decent wine in Thailand easily. You are given a cell phone and delivery food menus so you really never have to leave if you don't want to. We hired a chef to come and cook in our room one night and it was a nice treat. He made a massive platter of seafood and set up a romantic dinner on our patio overlooking the ocean. Pretty spectacular. They have a relationship with a local taxi driver with pre-negotiated rates. These guys were extremely responsive. We got stuck in a rain storm at the other side of the island and when I called he was there with an air conditioned truck in about five minutes to pick us up. It is expensive compared to other options but if you want convenience, it is nice to have. The walk to town only takes about 10 minutes but there is a very steep climb on the way back that can seem steeper in the hot sun. If you are in Koh Tao for a romantic escape instead of a drunken dive trip, and have a bit to spend, I highly recommend The Place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Luxury villas owned and operated by a team focussed on customer satisfaction.

Ideal for honeymooners, I think we were the oldest couple there when we stayed and for us perhaps we would have preferred a town location but the peace and quiet, the view and the villa can't be faulted.

Everything you could think of was provided for you, it demonstrated how they owners really thought about the client experience and how to enhance it.

The kind of place that doesn't need any words, just look at the photographs!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Place Luxury Boutique Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.