We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably good food, reasonable prices, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of cafe del sol

cafe del sol
9/9 moo 2 meehaat pier | Meehaat Pier, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
006677456578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 115 Restaurants in Ko Tao
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: cafe del sol is the first french restaurant since 1999 in koh tao. Pizzas, steaks and grilled fish specialities, Cafe del sol is well recognized for its excellent food. It's a hot spot for gourmet lovers from around the globe, Cafe del sol is an earthly paradise of pleasure and taste. The french/italian chef puts his 20 years of experience at your service at reasonable prices.
Semporna, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Reliably good food, reasonable prices, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Average prices across the board, a few items seem to be especially good value. Food is consistent, tasty, and portion sizes are fair. Service can be a bit slow but food comes out pretty quickly, and staff are always friendly. Open, airy place with plenty of seating and a relaxed atmosphere. Pizza is lovely.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    113
    44
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had brunch here. Lots of options to choose. German breakfast, French breakfast were good. I liked that they sell just egg. Good poached egg.

The waiter was even rude, but later he became better.

In fact, I went there by myself before just to have coffee. There was no greeting, the waiter made me wait long, the coffee was not tasty and overpriced. But, it is tourist place. So, I would have been happy only if the coffee taste was good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

After a long time travelling, felt in need of some European food. Had a great pizza, complete with proper Parma ham. Excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“not top notch, but ok!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Went to this Italian restaurant as I had a list of good places to choose from tripadvisor and this was the 1st of the bunch that we came to - not top notch but ok. The rose wine was horrible and my 4 cheese pasta tasted of very strong cheeses, but my husband said his spaghetti Bolognese was ok. Not much atmosphere there on the night we went - in, eat, and out again!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Delicious meal here of king prawns in garlic. It was beyond what we'd budgeted but well worth it. Service was good, menu was extensive, cocktails were awesome. Great atmosphere and easy to find.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cafe del sol also viewed

Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to cafe del sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage cafe del sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.