We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Good Dream Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Good Dream Hostel to your Saves list
Good Dream Hostel
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   15 / 19 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Ko Tao, Thailand (Formerly Khun Ying House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 54 Ko Tao B&B and Inns
Targu Mures, Romania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at Khun Ying House for a few days and loved the relaxed atmosphere and the friendly people at the desk, everyone was very laid back and nice and most of all, helpful. The room we had was very big, quite clean and we really liked the area as well. It is very close to some restaurants and around 3 minutes away from the beach, walking of course. I would definately recommend the place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air con, it´s very important because the fan just isn´t enough..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
9
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torre Boldone
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Small guesthouse in strategical position for Sairee town.
Located 100 m from the two small streets where Sairee village nightlife is 'on', but really quiet.
Rooms are spacious enough but bit dark due to fact only window is the entrance door.
We were lucky as we get room A21 which is the only one with a real window, facing the street...very quiet and lighter than the others. Rooms are basic but cleaness is above thai average (I would say even above some EU countries...). Towels are changed everyday.
Not possible to make room dark in night as no shutters but some thin curtains, so prepare to an early wake-up if you like sleep in dark.
Aircon doesn't work without key which you're asked to not leave in room.
Bed is comfortable and wi-fi is in room is fast enough (and free).
5 minutes walk from Sairee beach.
Let me clarify one point: I've seen Koh Tao being in 2013 Top 10 travellers choices as best islands. Yes, that's awsome tropical place - but do not expect 'heaven'. Sairee beach is beautiful at nights with all bars making happy hours/parties or just for chill.
Sairee beach water is muddy and green during the day, with all taxi boats parked or going/returning from trips. Sairee is not like phi-phi island or boracay beaches. Are you a diver? Thus Sairee is your place as hundreds of school are here. If you look for heaven beaches, you need to look for small ones in Koh Tao (there are some!)...or simply go to other island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Good dreams hostel was a perfect stay for all solo backpackers and small groups, comfy and clean, meet so many lovely people, was only meant to stay 5nights and ended up staying 12,
Comfy beds, amazing wifi, great location, easy to get to, clean and spacious, can't say a single bad thing about Good Dreams! Recommended to all!!

Room Tip: Don't book through agoda, defo prebook though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed at Good Dream Hostel for five nights and really enjoyed it. It isn't in the main part of Sairee Beach town so it is quiet, but only a 5 minute walk to the 7/11 and a 10 minute walk to the middle of the beach. The beds were wide, stable and had good quality matresses and pillows, and the bedding was clean. Each bunk has its own light and electrical socket, with small shelves in the wall for you to store things. Our dorm (R) had an ant problem, but the manager was aware of it and tried to fix it. It's very quiet and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qinhuangdao, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

then it is the right guest house for you.
I stood here in January 2013th At the basement are 2 bars and rally very noisy. Both of them close after 2 am Anyway many times i had not water or electricity in my room. Internet connection is absolutely slow. Also had many of ants in my room. Should you want stay longer, check the electric meter properly. Probably the landlord will said the electricity meter is defect. Do not believe him. The owner would cheating you with your deposit. Be aware.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Checked in here after being thrown out of Backpackers and could not have been happier! Spotlessly clean, great private facilities, fast wifi, excellent AC, comfy wide beds that are built into the wall, wall socket and cubby hole to each bed and if you need anything, there is an extremely friendly manager. All for the same price as Backpackers...would now never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

What I love about this hostel is attention to detail. It's not luxurious...good value though! But although we were 8 in a room I felt it was private. There is a lamp near the bed with a shelf to store your stuff, lockers, hooks per bed, on suite showers and toilets that are cleaned regularly and awesome people!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Good Dream Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Dream Hostel

Address: 15 / 19 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Ko Tao, Thailand (Formerly Khun Ying House)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Dream Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Good Dream Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Dream Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.