We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Visit It Again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Maehaad beach | near Sairee Plaza, Ko Tao, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 68 Specialty lodging in Ko Tao
Mykonos Town, Greece
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Never Visit It Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

First of all we didn't had electric power most of the day. We are not living 20 years past.
They were making constructions all day long and we couldnt rest and sleep.
The managers are not reliable and at the arrival they told us differend things.

The rooms were full of dirt and dust. The shower pressure was not enough. There was not room service and the rooms were full of bugs and dust.

The beds are very old and ideal for sleeping.

The sink was briken and the bathroom full of yellow stains and smell. No One was cleaning the room during our stay. We had to clean,wash and desinfect the bathroom on our own.

I will not suggest this hotel and avoid it. There are many better places to stay.

The only positive is the view but dont get fool of that. Beware.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    0
    1
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Koh Tao
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I rented a scooter from DD Hut for 200B for 24 hrs. I brought it back next morning.The guy which rent me a scooter looked over the bike and found 1 very small scratche on the bottom of scooter. I cannot be for certain if it was there or not when I rented the scooter as it was so small and from bottom I wouldn't have registered it on my bike inspection. First time he wanted for us 1500B but in the end the price was 500B (but i think the repair should be around 250B) He had my passport so there was nothing that I could do but pay him the 500B he was asking. When I was looking some review for this company I found we are not first who had this problem. So don ´t do same mistake like we did and dont rent a scooter from them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at DD Hut for some days during our tour through Southeast Asia. The bungalows are a convenient 3 min. walk away from the main beach of Koh Tao situated on a small hill, most of them futuring sea view and a veranda with hammock. We stayed in a room for 400 THB and since we initially planned to stay longer, we got a great and truely flexible rate from the owner.

While our stay there altogether was definitely enjoyable some things just left a nasty taste. As an instance, when we asked whether we could eat at the bar overlooking the sea because the music in the restaurant was too loud, we were told this wasn't a problem but we had to pay a deposit for the plates since we had to serve food and drinks our own...?!

Unfortunately, the staff refused to pay back our key deposit at check out since we lost the receipt and they claimed that we didn't pay the deposit - nothing to prove from our side until now, but everybody else better keep the receipt.

We give a four star rating since we've been pretty happy in the beginning and they try hard to satisfy their guests. Never the less, those things simply shouldn't happen and to avert the suspicion one might profit from eventually lost receipts a duplicate kept by the hotel as usual in other places would probably make sense.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011 via mobile

Varying style of rooms from budget to almost extravagant.
Clean and airy.
Only negative - when we took 3 rooms for the following day and paid deposit the price structure had changed when we got there. To be fair it worked out almost the same but there were about 20 mins of confusion until it was sorted.
Restaurant on site had closed for 2 months as it's the low season but with it being only a 10 min walk to Mae haad and 5 to north sairee this isn't a problem
Laundry we had done their smelt amazing

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Pros :
Good value for A/C bungalow close to water
Great food at resuaurnt
very chilled out atmosphere
Off the main tourist area so much more quiet but only 10 min walk to pier

Cons :
Bathroom a little average but ok by Thai standards

Conclusion :
After 2 weeks and 5 hotels in Koh Tao this was the most relaxing.
Good food,nice little community feel and friendly staff make staying here fun.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wuerzburg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed in this little bungalow resort for one week. The rooms, restaurant and food was realy nice, not talking about the view at the sunset. Especially the personnel was very nice, this is why I felt like writing a review for this place. If u wana enjoy ur stay on Ko Tao: go to DD Hut.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant

Address: Maehaad beach | near Sairee Plaza, Ko Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 68 Specialty lodging in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.