We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but keep your receipts and don't ask for extras” 4 of 5 stars
Review of D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant to your Saves list
D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Maehaad beach | near Sairee Plaza, Ko Tao, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Ko Tao
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Ok, but keep your receipts and don't ask for extras”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at DD Hut for some days during our tour through Southeast Asia. The bungalows are a convenient 3 min. walk away from the main beach of Koh Tao situated on a small hill, most of them futuring sea view and a veranda with hammock. We stayed in a room for 400 THB and since we initially planned to stay longer, we got a great and truely flexible rate from the owner.

While our stay there altogether was definitely enjoyable some things just left a nasty taste. As an instance, when we asked whether we could eat at the bar overlooking the sea because the music in the restaurant was too loud, we were told this wasn't a problem but we had to pay a deposit for the plates since we had to serve food and drinks our own...?!

Unfortunately, the staff refused to pay back our key deposit at check out since we lost the receipt and they claimed that we didn't pay the deposit - nothing to prove from our side until now, but everybody else better keep the receipt.

We give a four star rating since we've been pretty happy in the beginning and they try hard to satisfy their guests. Never the less, those things simply shouldn't happen and to avert the suspicion one might profit from eventually lost receipts a duplicate kept by the hotel as usual in other places would probably make sense.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    3
    4
    8
See reviews for
1
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011 via mobile

Varying style of rooms from budget to almost extravagant.
Clean and airy.
Only negative - when we took 3 rooms for the following day and paid deposit the price structure had changed when we got there. To be fair it worked out almost the same but there were about 20 mins of confusion until it was sorted.
Restaurant on site had closed for 2 months as it's the low season but with it being only a 10 min walk to Mae haad and 5 to north sairee this isn't a problem
Laundry we had done their smelt amazing

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Pros :
Good value for A/C bungalow close to water
Great food at resuaurnt
very chilled out atmosphere
Off the main tourist area so much more quiet but only 10 min walk to pier

Cons :
Bathroom a little average but ok by Thai standards

Conclusion :
After 2 weeks and 5 hotels in Koh Tao this was the most relaxing.
Good food,nice little community feel and friendly staff make staying here fun.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wuerzburg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed in this little bungalow resort for one week. The rooms, restaurant and food was realy nice, not talking about the view at the sunset. Especially the personnel was very nice, this is why I felt like writing a review for this place. If u wana enjoy ur stay on Ko Tao: go to DD Hut.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant

Address: Maehaad beach | near Sairee Plaza, Ko Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.