We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cigale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Cigale to your Saves list
La Cigale
19/11 Mu 1 | Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 54 Ko Tao B&B and Inns
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently stayed at La Cigale for a couple of nights and it was so lovely.The apartments are far from the noisy of the main Sairee Beach center. The beach is just a few minutes.It's a perfect relaxation, you can hear only the sounds of birds.Apartments are very unique with wonderful natural colours.I would definitely like to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
67
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stay in la cigale for 2 days and it was great! if you want some relax time off the resorts, ull love it!
The bathroom is pretty cool!
There's a 1 - 2 minute Climb from the road, but if u have minimal physical fitness ull be okay to walk it. But we are hikers so it doesnt matters
But thats what makes the beauty of it, it gets you more isolated!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here in the summer of 2012 and promised I'd write a review as we were leaving as I was so impressed.

Really got a good feeling about the place. Unfortunately, my gf and I had to leave a day early and Andre had no issues and was very accommodating. Like many have said he was a great help and provided some great advice about the island. He even offered to give me a free motorbike lesson although wouldn't rent us one in case something happened. Very refreshing as most places would just take your money and say nothing!

Pros - Incredible views, lovely houses, removed from the chaos of the centre without being too far away, great host, reasonable price and quite close to the beach (the quiet side too)

Cons - be prepared and happy to take a tuk-tuk home. Easier than walking but we didn't really consider this - road back is quite dark and dangerous (costs about €2 so not really an issue).
The downside of the beautiful setting is that there can be a few insects (not inside - houses are very well maintained and protected) which my gf was conscious of. Didn't bother me but something to watch out for.


All in all a really positive experience and I would recommend to friends and family travelling to the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

everything is perfect and i write this while i still stay at the hotel right now. To my friends,perhaps too many ants and while it rains , the water drops as well from the open kitch and bathroom. But the service is great. i left tips for them to clean the room but this is the only hotel in thailand has not taken it. The view and the design is great and i will stay here again when i come here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audenge, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent! Des bungalows tout confort, d'une propreté irréprochable avec terrasses et vue panoramique sur Sairee.
Accueil chaleureux d'Andrew, toujours disponible
Excellente literie, AC, frigidaire, terrasse et salle de bain type mandi balinais
A recommander
Wow!! thie friendly place has marvellous bungalows and cottages constructed on the hills set back sairee beach. Bathrooms and toilets open air like balinese style. A retreat with marvellos view for the sunset on the beach
bungalows with all comfort and amenities overlooking the beach
Andrew the owner is a charming owner very hepfull and friendly
I will come back again with my family

Room Tip: Les logements se trouvent à 200m du ko tao cabana; prendre la ruelle qui monte en face du golden cap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This place is beautiful. Set high up in the hills (but surprisingly close to the beach), the views are wonderful. Our room had a balcony overlooking the trees/beach. Could have spent the whole 3 days we stayed lying in the hammock!

What really sets it apart though, is the customer service. Andre, who runs La Cigale, just goes above and beyond. He greeted us personally on arrival with someone else who took our bags. He explained everything to us, gave us a mobile phone to use on the island, snorkels/masks and a helpful guide book. We were shattered on our first night after a long journey so made use of the takeaway menus in the room - we chose our food and rang Andre who called the takeaway and sorted out delivery etc. Couldnt have asked for more. There was also a DVD player and selection of DVDs in the room.

The place is well located, close to the action but quiet and relaxing. It really is the best of both worlds. Between myself and my partner, we have been to Thailand 3/4 times and we agreed that La Cigale is the best place we have stayed. It has that personal touch and is also excellent value. Will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying with my mother in the twin villa. It was perfect. One giant kitchen area, which was perfect for my mother and I to cook breakfast and chill out all morning in the sun. It also has a pull out couch and a huge deck and bathroom. One giant bedroom in another villa just across (3 feet away) with another washroom and a stunning outdoor shower. It's very unique.
Its set perfectly just up the hill. Short walk from all the action if you want to watch some fire dancing and have some beers; but, quiet and tranquil right in amongst nature if you want to listen to birds and lay in the hammock. The owners treated us so very kind. They treated us like family.
Thanks again Andre!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cigale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cigale

Address: 19/11 Mu 1 | Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2010 La Cigale sports just four cool cribs, cradled amongst large granite rocks in a tropical acreage with excellent views over nearby Sairee beach. Spacious and down-to-earth, the suites are designed with open lounge areas, natural feature bathrooms and hardwood verandas. Villas are fully furnished including kitchen with dining setting, bedrooms complete with air conditioning, open air en-suite, cable TV/DVD and internet access. Relax in privacy and comfort just 250 metres from Sairee beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Cigale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cigale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.