We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jamahkiri Restaurant

Jamahkiri Restaurant
21/2 moo3, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand
077456400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 115 Restaurants in Ko Tao
Price range: $11 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Jamahkiri Restaurant,the only gastronomic restaurant on Koh Tao that served western, fusion and Thai food.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Solid food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I wasn't that impressed with the restaurant's menu. I felt like it had one to many non-Asian items on the menu. The food is good but it is not great. If you are sick of eating Thai food, then this will be a welcomed change. For myself, I came to Thailand to eat Thai food. I can eat pizzas and burgers at home.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Impeccable Sevice, Delicious Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We ended up splurging on the hotel (before we did the dive bungalow package). And we're happy we did. The hotel had great service all around, but we remember the manager and staff at the restaurant the most. The manager was so cheery and upbeat as well as helpful. The meal was absolutely delicious. We started with a free dish, served in what looked like a wooden Mortor and pestle. It had some cold veggies, a hard boiled egg and some citrus. Mix it together and bam, it tested like an amazing ceviche! Yum! Then we ordered crab cakes (best I've ever had) spring rolls, I had the dilled salmon and Chris had the Pad Thai. Both amazing dishes. We ended up getting half of everything to go for lunch the next day. Beautiful views, beautifully decorated, wonderful staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yummy food but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Most of the food was yummy but was a little bit expensive. But since the hotel is so out of the way we didnt mind paying. The Jamahkiri cocktail is yummy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, NM
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great views. Ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The restaurant has a magnificent location, situated high on a hillside overlooking a bay. The food was OK, A bit pricy for the quality. The service was good and attentive. I hate to say it, but the place is cutting corners. The tea was canned Lipton with artificial flavors. How hard is it to make tea in Thailand? Other things were pre-packaged and not good quality. Worth it to go have a spa day and lunch but other than that, there are other restaurants with equally nice views and better food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruxelles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The restaurant ils really grenat abd thé service really Nice...try thé western fois and thé thaï food ,everything ils delicious !!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamahkiri Restaurant also viewed

Songkhla, Songkhla Province
Rayong, Rayong Province
 
Surat Thani, Surat Thani Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Jamahkiri Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamahkiri Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.