We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more, disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Tao Regal Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Koh Tao Regal Resort to your Saves list
Koh Tao Regal Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   7/1 M2, Mae Haad, Ko Tao, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 54 Ko Tao B&B and Inns
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Expected more, disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel almost 2 months in advance. When we arrived they did not have our room, they gave it to someone else. We agreed to stay in another room for one night until they got our room free and ready for us. Well would be cleaner to sleep on the beach. Bed sheets were not changed bodily fluids were everywhere, there were also other stains. After calling the reception our bed sheets and pillows were replaced. Next day we had to remind them that we would like to move to the room we have booked and payed for. Our room had breakfast included but they forgot to give us coupons so we had to pay for our first breakfast, only after going back to the reception we were given coupons and they also reimbursed us for the amount we payed. They were not happy. WiFi slow and almost unable to connect to it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    34
    22
    16
See reviews for
16
46
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel through Agoda it looked lovely, on arrival it was like driving into a building site, receptionist very rude, I asked to see the "Superior room" that I had booked as all I could hear from the reception was drilling and banging, when we were shown the room the bed had been laid on/slept in and towels were scattered across bed and the view looked like a building site/rubbish tip. I said I didn't want to stay in this room and wanted to move to another hotel but was informed by rude staff member that this was not possible until they spoke to Agoda! We agreed to pay for an upgraded room for one night and wanted to move the next day but still to this day I never received a refund! Also pool is dominated by diving schools all day. Not recommended!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for two nights which definately wasnt enough! The pools were a perfect break from the beach and we found the staff to be polite and helpful too. Only thing we didnt enjoy about the Regal resort was it seemed to be unfinished. All and all though great stay, very clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spend a week in the Regal Resort. Had one of the cheapest rooms of the resort at the back of the building. Although there still was some constructionwork going on, it didn´t bother us at all. The room itself was great, clean, nice bed and big shower. The overall atmosphere was poor. The restaurantstaff was unfriendly, made you wait for a long time or just didn´t understand you. There is not a lot going on in the evening so you have to go to Sairee beach or the Pier to have a good time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Okay this hotel has a good location between sairee beach and the maehead pier, and is five minutes to both. THe pools are nice, and the rooms are modern with all the conveniences you would expect of a modern hotel. Sadly a couple of things let this hotel down the service is rather hands off, and they dont exactly welcome you you feel production lined. The lack of local info is dissapointing i found they could have helped arranged trips which i did myself but they didnt offer - a mistkae in my opinio. A good location and nice to sleep (despite the building works going on) but the service left me dissapointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked for two nights into this hotel on 1 and 2 Janaury 2014. It was really a disappointment. Despite its superb location right on the beach the only other positive point is the swimming pool. The hotel in general is run down,not very clean and the interior is tatty and in contrast with Thai custom the staff are in general not friendly, slow to assist you and there is no customer friendly atmosphere. Although the price for the room for peak season was reasonable we will not stay here again. The restaurant service is poor and slow too and the food compared to other restaurants not on the same standard. The lady at the bar was the only smart staff member. Not recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeju, South Korea
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights with our 7 yr old son. One of the big reasons for boomking the Regal was the pool as our son can while away may hours just splashing and playing. The 3 pools at Regal give it a great feeling and atmosphere and our ground floor poolside room was perfect for quick access. I must say that with some rather cloudy weather at this time of year the pool was on the cold side. This meant our son didn't spend as much as as usual in it as you really had to be active. I on the other hand got some great laps in as the middle pool must be around 18m so not too bad for some proper swimming.

Our room was good. We only had a King size bed which was actually big enough for all 3 of us if we had wanted, but our son is a great traveller and was happy to sleep onthe floor on a Therma rest mattress. The hotel provided extra bedding at no charge so we effectively got 3 of us in for the price of 2 adults. The room was spacious enough and tghe bathroom was a good size. I think the water must have been solar heated as it was often only just warm inthe morning but hot in the evening, which was fine we just adapted.

The hotel is right on the beach so easy access but there is a small defensive sea wall which acts as a path. It is also good fun when the tide is up to dodge (or not) the waves as they break on it.

Location was great for us. 5 min walk along the beach into Mae Haad where the ferry comes in, good range of restaurants (Zest is great for breakfast and lunch) with local and western available. When we wanted to go over to Sairee it was a nice 15-30 min stroll along a good path which was a nice way to start and finish the evening. Saireee has loads of options for food etc with some parts more noisy than others. Despite being there for Christmas we had no noise problems at the Regal.

We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on that, too many good alternatives in the villages. Room was cleaned every day with fresh towels and two 500ml bottles of water free (fridge in room). Staff were good when we kept forgetting our key card and were happy to look after luggage on last day while we waited for the ferry.

There was nothign about our stay that annoyed or gave cause for concern. If we did go back to Koh Tao I wouldn't have aproblem staying there again

Room Tip: Ground floor pool side are good to be able to watch kids from your terrace seats
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Tao Regal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Regal Resort

Address: 7/1 M2, Mae Haad, Ko Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Regal Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Koh Tao Regal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Regal Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Tao Regal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.