We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Tao Regal Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Koh Tao Regal Resort to your Saves list
Koh Tao Regal Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   7/1 M2, Mae Haad, Ko Tao, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 57 Ko Tao B&B and Inns
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Best pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed for two nights and wish we could of had more time on Koh Tao. A great place to be. The Resort had maybe the best pool in Thailand. For a three star resort, it delivered and exceed those expectations. You won't get higher star luxury but do get a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    43
    39
    24
    19
See reviews for
18
53
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

At their internet home page Regal Resort claims to be a luxury resort. That statement couldn't possibly be more misleading:

Our beachfront bungalow was facing a construction site, where the hotell staff also had their break room. We asked for another room, but the hotel was fully booked.

In our bungalow there were further absolutely no bathroom amenities, no telephone, night tables beside the bed, or safety box. There was a huge gap between the sliding doors into the room, which made it easy for the mosquitoes and their friends to visit our room. The hotel had not provided the rooms with mosquito net to prevent mosquito bites.

The restaurant and bar area was a huge joke! The food was really boring and easy-made. The bar was rarely open, and it was never an option to spend time at the swimming pool area, as it was not provided with towels, etc. The hotel staff barely spoke English and was not especially service-minded to our requests.

Will never live here again, nor recommend it to similar travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgas, Bulgaria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is a nice small hotel right on the beach, under the palms of Thailand. If you stay for long period there, they may make a good discount in the price- we were there for 21 nights and had 20% off the price.
I strongly reccommend this place, they have massages there as well, restaurant, bar, swimming pools, diving lessons and so on.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I been there with my friend and we passed a very good stay there.
They have a beautiful oceanwiev, the rooms are so comfortable, the pool is big and Clean!!! also they have a children's pool. Well this resort is perfec for everyone... Try to come!!!
The people is very nice.

Room Tip: Family rooms are very big and beautiful. Oceanview rooms are so calm and preatty. Bungalows are so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed on Koh Tao for 2 nights as part of a month long trip to Thailand. We stayed at the Regal resort and found it to be a very pleasant stay. Having got a good deal on price online, whilst in Koh Tao, we checked in and were very impressed by the rooms (we had opted for superior).

The bathroom was lovely, with a glass panel between it and the bedroom. The balcony was a pleasure to sit on and we had a beautiful view of both pool and sea. The bed was also very comfy!!

The pool was freezing but still enjoyable and the location was pretty good. We took a short boat taxi to the bars etc but could be walked although roads potentially dangerous.
There is a quiter area near the port with shops, bars and restaurants too.

I am shocked on my return that there has been such bad reviews about this place. Admittedly not the best hotel I've ever stayed in but for the money we paid I thought it was terrific value and really enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: go for superior/pool view - with a pool view you will also get sea view so no need to pay extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We only stayed for a night TBH we ended up here via Crystal Diving as they were ful and have an arrangement with the resort for their dive customers wanting a bit more luxury.

From the outside the rooms look nicer than they are a pretty pool tho n as I say balconies look nice from poolside however maybe we were unlucky we were meant to get a garden view room but all I could see was a staff block some washing on a line and a building site the place simply has zero gardens well certainly not as I write this in Jan 2012 n sandbags as walls around it and this is peak season

Room was clean AC was cool furnishings ok if a lil tired halls not v nice

Would not stay again especially not at 2250 THB a night

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Nice pools and pretty good location between Mae Haad and Sairee. The rooms doesn't offer anything special, which also is pretty much what you can say about the place as a whole.

Some paint and restoring/refurbishing wouldn't hurt either... at all.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Tao Regal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Regal Resort

Address: 7/1 M2, Mae Haad, Ko Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Regal Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Koh Tao Regal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Regal Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Tao Regal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.