We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but I didn't like it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pranee's Kitchen

Pranee's Kitchen
Mae Haad, Ko Tao, Thailand
077 456 478
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 115 Restaurants in Ko Tao
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
385 reviews 385 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Cheap but I didn't like it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We had been staying at the Ananda villa for 4 nights and our last day we decided to have breakfast at this place (which is right next to it). It wasn't the best experience. The sandwich I ordered was really small and personnel was sleeping and mistreating a cat. Food was cheap though (180 bath for two persons breakfast) but I wouldn't go here again. At night they show (old) movies on a screen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    51
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Staying at the Ananda Villa just opposite the restaurant meant that it was easy to step over for breakfast and have any meal there at any time of day. The menu was very varied catering to many nationalities: from Porridge for me as a Scot through hamburgers and Italian pasta to traditional Thai food. The Tom Yam Gai I found particularly flavoursome and my Thai wife expressed herself satisfied too. Three weeks without a stomach upset despite trying many of the dishes on the menu is quite a plaudit for the cleanliness of the restaurant. The staff were very friendly and happy to help with mostly good English. The free internet in the restaurant worked consistently and well (unlike some of the other restaurants on the island).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Thai food..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great restaurant.. As it is near to Crystal Dive Resort...
The Thai food there was very tasty and delicious...
Price are very reasonable as well..
Great people there also...
I was there for a week in June 2013.. and I went there almost everyday... :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Even the Thais love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I visited Pranee's kitchen recently while on a tour of thailand. We tried a few of the local restaurants in koh Tao until my wife (a Thai lady) insisted on going back to pranee's kitchen almost every day. The food is very traditional Thai and the prices are reasonable. Nice atmosphere too with an option to sit on the floor around the table (thai style) or sit at the more western tables. Staff are friendly and the food comes very quickly - even when they are busy. A terrific place to get a great Thai meal and pay a reasonable price for it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Overall, this was a very good experience. The food was great and came out very quickly. Everything was very reasonably priced as well. The location was excellent, it was a few feet from the beach. The menu was extensive, featuring breakfast items, thai, italian, and other western items.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pranee's Kitchen also viewed

Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Pranee's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pranee's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.