We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, just wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey Flower Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Monkey Flower Villa to your Saves list
Monkey Flower Villa
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   19/6 Moo 1, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast for two!
Ranked #3 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Ko Tao
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow, just wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spend 5 great nights in Koh Tao in the most incredible villa we ever stayed in. We had a group of 8 people and we rented the upper and low villa suite. The suite is very large, including the deck area on the 2nd floor, and we were very comfortable with 8 people. Needless to say, the pool is absolutely beautiful as you enjoy the view of the entire Sairee beach and jump off the roof into the pool. But the most incredible part of the villa, is the staff. Steve, the diver, is a great person. So accommodating and friendly. He took us all over the island and recommended places to see. He gave us advise on renting scooters, where to eat, the best places to snorkel, and even offered to get us coffee in the morning. Can't say enough about Steve, he really made our stay in Koh Tao absolutely unforgettable! We did have a little anxiety with the location at the start. The walk down/up to the beach is fairly steep and the villa is a bit secluded, but with a brand new Toyota Hulix and Steve being so friendly, transportation to and from anywhere on the island made the location a positive. Lincoln (owner) is a fascinating and energetic person who made us feel right at home. He and his staff couldn't do enough for us. Just an incredible friendly bunch of people. We looked at some places on the beach, and nothing came close to this villa. We enjoyed being a little secluded rather than on a noisy beach, and with the huge deck and beautiful pool, just lounging the day away is quite easy to do. We really felt like we were living the "rich and famous" lifestyle while we were there. This is a can't miss if you are staying in Koh Tao.

Room Tip: If you want the big private pool and the best view on the property, rent the Upper Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Wow, what a fantastic review, thank you so, so much! I hope that you will come back again soon!!!!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Woonsen, Steve, Mo & Lawin
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited june 2013. From the moment we got of the ferry Steve, the driver was there to greet us and even bought us ice tea! The drive up the hill is an adventure in the 4x4 (would not suggest walking down or back up) and there is no need to walk it as Steve will take you day and night wherever u need to go as they give you a mobile.we stayed in the top villa with infinity pool which was amazing.the view is just crazy at anytime of day, being our 1st trip to thailand i just fell in love with the place. Cleaners also were great, a married couple who came to check in everyday and happy to do anything for you. Love the main town which is less than 5 min drive. Lotus bar on the beach was my fav as dancing in the sea to some awesome tunes was great. I'd say the only down side of the villas is the lighting, seems a little silly but i really cant fault the place! I had to put my make up on in the cupboard as the lighting is very dim but we told Lincoln (the owner who also built the villa upper and lower and the seperate villa). Licoln was great to speak with and was really happy for the feedback. Very interesting guy to speak with.I felt we were spoiled in our days on koh tao due to the amazing service and i would love to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for writing this review! We know there is always room to improve, so there will be some new lighting in the "Upper" villa, and some other improvements very soon. Thank you for being our very special guests!
Lincoln & Family
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This place has two great positives:

1. Steve the care taker. He is awesome and amazing. Really polite and makes you feel comfortable.

2. Incredible view of sea from top of the mountain.
Lincoln is really helpful and a great host as well.
Rooms are great and clean.

Bathroom could be a little better managed. If you are a large group (two families) like ours- single bathroom for a two room villa is a challenge but not a great inconvenience.

Advice:
Please don't carry the beach towels (white) to the beach even if these are provided by host because you will end up paying for the soiled ones.
Also please ensure that if linen is soiled- you bring this to the attention of owners before use and not only housekeeping staff. Else there will be a charge for these when you check out.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Rahul & Family,
Thank you very much for the wonderful Tripadvisor review. We all really enjoyed your big and beautiful Family, and I enjoyed our interesting talks, and your wife's delicious cooking. I would like to say that I nearly never charge an extra charge to our guests, except in the case of genuine damage. In your case, it was the broken drum. I did not charge you for the linens and towels that were damaged, as you told me you did not do it, and I accept that 100%, completely.
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Family, & Staff
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

First, Lincoln (the owner) has been a great help before our arrival. He was very helpful, by email, to give us good advise to make our journey to the island from Koh Samui, and to organize our stay.
At the ferry port, Steve will be here to welcome you with his big smile ! He's such a lovely guy and will take you to the villa in his big trunk (with air con). He knows everything and every place on the island. And he's here to take care of you. So you can call him (with a private mobile given during your stay) at anytime and he will take you to the best places. And of course, he's coming to get you back to the villa. He can even go and get your breakfast delivered to you in the morning ! He will do anything, free of charge as it's included in the price. But please do not forget to give him a nice tip as he deserves it !
When we arrive at the villa, what a spectacular view we had ! The swimming pool, with its view on Koh Tao's bay/beach is the must of the villa.
Then the first bedroom by the pool with its "bed in the air". Very big lounge with a lot of music instrument you can play with. The bathroom is massive with a large shower and 2 sinks. The 2 bedrooms are very large too. You get 4 sun beds by the pool. Towels for shower + swimming pool included. Then in the basement, with private access, a shared kitchen with the lower villa, to get glasses, and cutlery.
On top of the villa, you have a terrace on the roof. And you can jump from here in the swimming pool ! Great !!!!

Thank you Lincoln and Steve ! We had a fantastic time in your villa and we will definitely come back (maybe to discover the new one in the trees).

Room Tip: The upper villa is the one to book ! What a fantastic vie on Koh Tao's bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Wow, what a great review, thank you!!! It really is our pleasure to help make your stay as wonderful as possible, and of course it is very nice to be recognized for what we do. We are very proud of our beautiful villas, and especially of our exceptional customer service. We are always working to improve, so hopefully your next visit will be even better! Thank you so, so much for sharing your great experience at Monkey Flower villas with so many Tripadvisor readers!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Woonsen, Steve, Kids, & Staff
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were very fortunate to stay at the Monkey Flower Villas, the views were stunning looking down the hillside onto the main beach. We stayed in all three villas and each one had its own great element to it. The upper villa pool was awesome and we had so much space. The Bougainvilla was cosy and secluded still with its own plunge pool and the Lower villa amazingly designed arund the bolders. But the best thing about the whole place was Steve the driver, nothing was too much bother, he has great knowledge of the island and he was always so thoughtful and kind, the kids loved him. Lucy has declared that she is coming back to live with you so watch out! Thank you so much to an absolutely great end to our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
You guys rock! Thank you for this excellent review, it is particularly good because you had the experience of each of the three villas, and have shared that with the Tripadvisor world... I will show Steve your review in the morning, I am sure he will be very proud... Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We did not want to leave as the villa was perfect, massive pool with views to die for day and night lying on the floating bed looking out at koh tao
Steve was amazing and got us everything we wanted and drove and collected us anywhere whatever time day or night
the villa had everything and more you could wish for you could even jump off roof into the pool will be planning a return this time we will stay for longer

Room Tip: villa with pool and ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very, very much for the excellent Tripadvisor review! It really gives us all a great deal of pleasure to know that your stay was a wonderful experience for you. We hope that you will be back again soon!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Woonsen, Max, Music, Steve, Loy, Mo, and Mom
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were totally blown away by this place, and by the people who make it happen. We stayed in Bougainvillea for the 1st two weeks, which is literally up a mountainside in the jungle. The sounds coming from the trees were mesmerising, included the cutest gecko calls. The villa was spot on in terms of all mod cons most people require (though personally we don't go on holiday to watch TV even though there are huge plasma screens in both bedrooms!). The owner Lincoln; one of the coolest people we've ever met had no problem with us moving the sound system outside by the infinity pool which is lit with colour changing lights in the water, and next to which is a waterfall tumbling down a huge rock into the pool. Swimming at midnight, floating in the water looking up at the stars through the vertiginous palm trees is a memory I won't forget. Because it's his private land which has been beautifully landscaped around massive boulders, palm trees and shrubs we only dream of attempting to grow in the UK (Lincoln - get some up-lights under those trees to complete the wow factor ;)), you feel completely isolated from the world around you. The bed was top quality comfort; deep sleep guaranteed, you've got the choice of air con or conventional fans; and the extras in the bathroom add a special touch of service to this characterful dwelling. You can borrow snorkels and beach towels too, so less to bring with you luggage-wise. We moved on for a few nights to the vast and cavernous lower villa which has been designed without a single straight line to be found, and - like Bougainvillea, has been built around the natural boulders which form part of the interior design too. The walk-in wardrobe is bigger than our own kitchen! You don't get a pool but you do get the views, and Lincoln let us go up to the masterpiece of an upper villa in between bookings to use the music studio and to jump off the roof into the deep infinity pool below, which overlooks the stunning bay of Sairee. Then there is Steve - Lincoln's driver.. this man is worth his weight in gold; a gift to any service related organisation. There is absolutely nothing that this very cool, modest, sweet-natured, hardworking and loyal man will not do for you. His ability to multi-task in looking after the needs of 3 sets of guests staying in the 3 residences simultaneously is truly humbling. He will take you anywhere, get you anything you want, will pick you up or drop you off any time night or day (you get a complimentary pre-paid mobile phone with his number programmed in while you're there), and he is staggeringly intuitive when it comes to understanding the personalities and demands of his guests. He got us spot on! He's also a demon driver of the tank of a jeep he transports you in; in navigating perilously steep roads and tracks around the island. You get noticed in it; it is a sight to behold! Both he and Lincoln are so busy all the time that they will appreciate any feedback on the places you visit around the island, so they can take that into consideration when recommending a particular location to other guests. They may not have visited those places in a while. Koh Tao may be less easy to reach than other islands, but the effort is more than worth it, and if you stay at Monkey Flower, you won't forget it. Thank you Lincoln, your wonderful family, your mum (what a lady!) and especially Steve who is the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It was a pleasure to have you and your husband (Darren) as our very special guests! I wish that we had more time together, and hope that you will be back soon!!!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln & Family
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monkey Flower Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Flower Villa

Address: 19/6 Moo 1, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monkey Flower Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Flower Villas feature extraordinary architecture and amenities. Built into the natural beauty and granite boulders of the hillside overlooking Sairee beach, the longest and most popular beach on Koh Tao, Monkey Flower Villas is only a few minutes walk to the sand, yet very private, and secure. Every villa has stunning sea and beach views. The "Upper" villa has a very large private infinity edge swimming pool and spa (take the bridge to the roof and jump into the pool, if you like!). The master bedrooms are huge, very romantic, safe, and comfortable, Most of the rooms boast 50" flat screen HDTVs with premium Western programing, air-con, free Wi-Fi internet access. The "Upper" villa features the "flying" bed, hardwood floors, and a huge sliding glass window overlooking the swimming pool and the bay below. There are several sound systems, and musical instruments available to use. All guests enjoy 24 hour a day courtesy car and driver service to anywhere they want to go on Koh Tao. Each villa is provided with a local mobile phone for easy access to all important numbers. Monkey Flower Villas has been recognized as providing an excellent customer experience and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monkey Flower Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Flower Villa Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey Flower Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.