We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Leaf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Leaf Resort to your Saves list
Palm Leaf Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   15/2 Moo 1 North Sairee Beach, Ko Tao, Thailand (Formerly Bow Thong Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 57 Ko Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milano
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This place was nice,the bungalow was new and clean,a bit expensive but it is just on the beach.the restaurant was not good at all!I got stomache afrer that!Sairee beach is beautiful,the sea is shallow and that's good for kids but there are too many boats,taxi and fisherman boats.I might not go back

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    79
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
29
87
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a great area to stay while on Ko Tao. Its cheap and very close to the three islands and just a ten minute beach walk to town and all the restaurants and bars. No pool in the resort. Breakfast was not up to standard. Rooms are comfy and nice with big balcony. Was charged 100b per person for a pickup from the boat as we did not book with them direct which was unfair. Apart from that a good stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed in a bungalow second back from the sea.
The size of the room is good and the bathroom was huge with a hot, powerful shower, much different to our time in koh phi phi.
The air con worked well and was quite.
There is a really nice outside area with a recumbent bench which can easily fit a couple.
The only negative of the room was that it attracts mosquitoes so be sure to bring strong repellent. We bought cheap stuff and got eaten alive.

Two free waters a day and breakfast included. Try the pancakes, really good quality meal.
The restaurant is good for snacks like the great spring rolls for 100.
Happy hour from 5-7 with cheap mojito and rum, but shuts at 8 so be prepared to buy beers at 7-11 or go 5-10 minutes along the beach to the several great bars on the front.

The snorkeling trip is well worth it for 750. No cheaper in town so buy from hotel and get 9-5 trip to four places including shark bay. Visibility is very poor in November though.

Easy to book boat trip back to Samui from here for around 700 per person with a taxi.

Best thing about hotel
Location. Five minutes from town
Free ferry Port pick up
Staff are amazing. Best We found in Thailand for service.
Beach is clean, clear sea. Warm and good for snorkeling.

Best hotel we stayed in Thailand and best island by far

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice and warm welcome, friendly staff, beautiful bungalows, beautiful and peaceful beach ... What else do you need? I read some other reviews about prices being too high; well yes, this was also our most expensive stay in Thailand, but that was for the quietness. Anywhere else on the island was party party 'till the early hours and what good is a cheap hotel if you can't sleep? Anyway, we will certainly come back when we visit Koh Tao next time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed at the Palm Beach recently when i cam to visit my family. my cabin could have barely been nearer the water and basically I echo William's comments save that I didn't swim that far. I was upgraded for the last night and I think I might go for the superior on my next trip but the standard was adequate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is your spot. Close enough to walk to the main restaurants and far enough to dampen the sounds.
I came here for four days and stayed for 30. It is not the cheapest place to stay and by all means not a fancy place. The rooms are clean and neat and spacious. By far the main reason I stayed here was location. The north end of Sairee Beach is the cleanest and if you like to swim like I do you'll swim out around the point north, where the water is clean and the fish and coral life is decent.
The staff is very friendly and the food at the restaurant is decent. The breakfast that comes with the room is not as good as others but again the location is amazing and
the sunsets are fantastic.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Wow !
We had a great time in kho tao. A family of five. Very much thenks to palm leaf.
We stayd at the deluxs garden bungalow wich thay rearange for family with kids. It was great.
The palm leaf bungalow was the best from all the ather pleaces we stayd in our holiday in thailand (ather island).
The beach is heven. End the palm leaf located right ther.
Not in the center of sairee but just 5-10 minuets walk.
The stuff was so nice and very helpful.including the guys at the restorant and citchen.
Dont think twice!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Leaf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Leaf Resort

Address: 15/2 Moo 1 North Sairee Beach, Ko Tao, Thailand (Formerly Bow Thong Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Leaf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find us at the north end strip of Sairee Beach. Palm Leaf offers the best view at the bay with its grey boulders and the colourful sea. Just a 5 min walking distance away from the village, it is still a very calm and private place to be. Moreover it is the only snorkeling side at Sairee beach.Set in a nice garden our lovingly furnished bungalows and rooms await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Palm Leaf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Thong Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Leaf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.